We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rijeka
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We overnighted here as part of our trip to Bol. We booked it because it had a better location for our road trip. The location was very convenient and the views were excellent. We arrived very late and our room was still available. The room was small, but well appointed. It overlooked the river delta towards downtown.

Breakfast was average for a European hotel but still good. After we ate we wandered around the city and within 5 minutes saw everything from ancient Roman ruins to a renaissance era church, and a plaza filled with locals eating their breakfasts and drinking their coffees.

There is limited (pretty much zero) on site parking. However, there is a large public lot across the river. The lot and path were well lit and we did not feel unsafe walking to the hotel after 10pm. Apparently if you arrive after hours and depart before the hours start the parking is free. If you miss the "opening" then you have to pay for the amount of time from opening until you leave.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FryFro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 157 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed overnight here on our trip to Malinska. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who gave us information about our room, breakfast and the area. Our room was modern, tidy and clean. Room price was average. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was medium sized with new amenities. We did not have the breakfast so can't elaborate on that, but our check-out was breezy. From what I saw and experienced I would recommend the hotel to others. It was in the center.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CroChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Four of us were traveling together--3 adults and a teenager. We booked two rooms--one was a little small, but adequate. The other was a one bedroom suite with a balcony--very nice. Perfect location for seeing the city without needing a car--convenient to downtown and the harbor. Very good breakfast each morning. A little noisy at night from groups of young people outside. Excellent service!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

top breakfast to start a good day, a bit outdated rooms and bit noisy on lower floors - road passing nearby. Very nice friendly staff. Great location in center also big parking minute walk away. Pricing ok.

Room Tip: high floor, river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DimitrijSamsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

It is really shame that Hotel on this location is not No.1 in Rijeka.
It's located in the center, two minutes walking away from Korzo (Main street in Rijeka).
Hotel is noisy and we needed to park our car 100 m away from hotel.
We were soo tired so we sleep very well first night. Second one was

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorenzo U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

As a part of our car trip, we booked a room for 2 nights at Hotel Continental, to break up the long distance between north and south Croatia. The hotel was OK, in a sense that the staff was friendly, the room was clean and we had good night rests. The location was good as well, close to the city center and good parking facilities nearby. Looking at a bigger perspective, I think these things are not enough to justify charging € 90 per night for a room in this hotel. First of all, the breakfast was quite mediocre: they didn't refill enough, which was quite annoying (I'm not sure if this was due to the fact that they didn't have enough pervyance or they weren't keeping an eye on refilling the food and drinks -- the hotel wasn't even close to being full booked). Second, the room was quite dark and seemed worn out. For charging this price for a room, I agree with prior reviews: I think they should offer more (and better) services and make the rooms brighter and more modern. The hotel has a lot of potential with this building and location!

Room Tip: Room 402 (on a corner) was quiet enough for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrinsErwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

As for the hotel it was clean, and the staff was very friendly. The city was nice with lots of restaurants and bars. We returned to the hotel around 2230 and the area in front of the hotel was filled with kids partying. This went on until 0430, needless to say we did not get any rest. I would say if you were looking for a party hotel, this place is perfect. Its right in the city center, and close to everything. But if you require a good nights rest, this place is not for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rijeka
1 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#1 of 4 in Rijeka
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neboder
Hotel Neboder
#4 of 4 in Rijeka
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonavia
Grand Hotel Bonavia
#2 of 4 in Rijeka
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
7 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#2 of 30 in Opatija
514 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#4 of 30 in Opatija
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Shetalishte Andrije Kachica Mioshica 1, Rijeka 51000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Rijeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rijeka
Price Range: $89 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Rijeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing