We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but very noisy”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rijeka
Prata di Pordenone, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Clean, but very noisy”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

As for the hotel it was clean, and the staff was very friendly. The city was nice with lots of restaurants and bars. We returned to the hotel around 2230 and the area in front of the hotel was filled with kids partying. This went on until 0430, needless to say we did not get any rest. I would say if you were looking for a party hotel, this place is perfect. Its right in the city center, and close to everything. But if you require a good nights rest, this place is not for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    70
    58
    14
    2
See reviews for
19
53
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip for 2 days, good service, fine breakfast, clean and nice room (guess I stayed in renovated one, not sure if all are like that), affordable price. Recommended for business trips and short stays.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gastroenolog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has very nice location close to the city center (Korzo) and the waterfront. It is a nice building as well. However, it needs more for a guest to feel good. Staff should be more friendly. The breakfast was really poor. Internet did not work on my room, although it was advertised so (even after my complaint at the reception). It is OK to stay for one night (eg business trip), but I wouldn't stay longer in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antuntun_zg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Receptionists a little indifferent, & do not speak much English. Rooms are old, but some renovation seems to have occurred. The 1 small lift is totally inadequate when a tour group arrives, so we walked upstairs when that happened. Breakfast is good value, but the hotel overall is a little expensive despite its good location near the waterfront of a large city.
Near the Rijeka waterfront, this old hotel has potential,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is located in center of town, close to touristic places.
room are small as in any hotel in center of town, one small elavator, so if a many people arrive at the same time, its a problem.
the receptionists are polite, but some of them dont speak english enough.
food is basic, but there are restaurants and bars near by.
as a hole, was not a bad experience, but also not wonderful, good enough for 2-3 days.
the rooms in front of the street, are quite noisy, so if you are a bad sleeper, ask for the other side room.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liebe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hotel Continental was built in 1888 in the centre of Rijeka, and is located in a classic architecture building next to the Delta by the Rijeka waterfront. That would seem to be the right set of ingredients for a classic hotel, but sadly the Continental falls short.

After suffering through the Tito-area Yugoslavia, the Continental was renovated in 2008. Indeed, the hotel rooms have very nice, modern bathrooms (though with tower bars inexplicably located above eye level) but it seems that the renovation only got halfway done.

The hallways and rooms themselves feel tired, as if still located behind the iron curtain. The hallway floors are tilted, not level, and there is a step down as you enter the room (or at least there was for our room). The dark furniture and curtains felt like s leftovers from 1970s Yugoslavia, too.

The breakfast is credible, but there are few tables so sharing of tables may be necessary, and the coffee quality was below part for Croatia. Service ... the staff at reception (which seems to be filled with piles of random papers and binders) were sometimes absent and other times less than attentive, focusing on their own conversations rather than any waiting customers.

If you do drive to the hotel, they do have a (single!) 30-minute parking spot available if you ask the reception, allowing you to unload luggage; after that, you'll need to park in the public parking lot in the nearby Delta.

Most people staying at the hotel appeared to be in Rijeka for work rather than pleasure, but that may say even more about Rijeka than about Hotel Continental. On the other hand, the price was less than EUR 100 for the night.

Still, with some additional work to complete the renovations and some staff training, the Continental has the potential to be a classic hotel. Unfortunately as of this writing (October 2012), it's not there yet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomh009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We have been visited this hotel once and got different impressions,
accommodated for 1 night,
The room was ok, in the bathroom didn't find hairdryer,
We payed about €90 for double room
Breakfast is included and was completely full and various.
Near the hotel we found a city-center parking for our car and the price is about 1€ for our starting from 7am

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annpir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rijeka
1.0 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#1 of 4 in Rijeka
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonavia
Grand Hotel Bonavia
#2 of 4 in Rijeka
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neboder
Hotel Neboder
#4 of 4 in Rijeka
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#4 of 31 in Opatija
175 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#5 of 31 in Opatija
251 reviews
6.7 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Shetalishte Andrije Kachica Mioshica 1, Rijeka 51000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Rijeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rijeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Rijeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing