We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, but not really a classic hotel”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rijeka
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hotel Continental was built in 1888 in the centre of Rijeka, and is located in a classic architecture building next to the Delta by the Rijeka waterfront. That would seem to be the right set of ingredients for a classic hotel, but sadly the Continental falls short.

After suffering through the Tito-area Yugoslavia, the Continental was renovated in 2008. Indeed, the hotel rooms have very nice, modern bathrooms (though with tower bars inexplicably located above eye level) but it seems that the renovation only got halfway done.

The hallways and rooms themselves feel tired, as if still located behind the iron curtain. The hallway floors are tilted, not level, and there is a step down as you enter the room (or at least there was for our room). The dark furniture and curtains felt like s leftovers from 1970s Yugoslavia, too.

The breakfast is credible, but there are few tables so sharing of tables may be necessary, and the coffee quality was below part for Croatia. Service ... the staff at reception (which seems to be filled with piles of random papers and binders) were sometimes absent and other times less than attentive, focusing on their own conversations rather than any waiting customers.

If you do drive to the hotel, they do have a (single!) 30-minute parking spot available if you ask the reception, allowing you to unload luggage; after that, you'll need to park in the public parking lot in the nearby Delta.

Most people staying at the hotel appeared to be in Rijeka for work rather than pleasure, but that may say even more about Rijeka than about Hotel Continental. On the other hand, the price was less than EUR 100 for the night.

Still, with some additional work to complete the renovations and some staff training, the Continental has the potential to be a classic hotel. Unfortunately as of this writing (October 2012), it's not there yet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomh009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Continental
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 154 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We have been visited this hotel once and got different impressions,
accommodated for 1 night,
The room was ok, in the bathroom didn't find hairdryer,
We payed about €90 for double room
Breakfast is included and was completely full and various.
Near the hotel we found a city-center parking for our car and the price is about 1€ for our starting from 7am

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annpir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night.
We arrived at the hotel a few hours before checking in time and were given a room straight away.
The breakfast is included in the room rate and was continental but also with a couple of hot choices.
I was a bit disappointed that there was no plug to be able to use the bath in the bathroom.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank weekendaway11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The hotel is recently refurbished, elevator, good restaurant. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is kind and helpful. It's a pity there is no wi-fi in the rooms, only in the lobby. It is quite noisy outside in the evening, although I can't say it disturbed me. The location is very convenient: close to the centre and near a bus stop.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiemaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Freshly refurbished, very clean rooms, elevator, LAN-cable internet access in rooms, good breakfast with restaurant staff ready to accommodate special diet requests. This hotel has one major problem - noise. On one side a busy street, on the other the local youth gathers on the river bank just in front of hotel to drink and party with level of noise on that side, especially on the weekends, horrible. Ask for a quiet room, unless you'd like to observe the spectacle.

Room Tip: Local youth gathers on the river bank just in front of hotel to drink and party. Level of noise on t...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling_geek_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Well, this hostel is probably slightly above average; but seen the price I paid for a room (around 55€) we can consider it as a good value. The restaurant downstairs is good and the staff is helpful. the only big minus is the parking: very limited number of parking spots around the hostel, therefore you have to park on a huge public parking (hopefully I came during the low season), not very cheap, and probably 300m away.
Then I really liked the location, close to the center, easy to find.

Room Tip: If you need a parking spot, ask it when you book the room
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEnzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The rooms are very expensive in fort what you get. Very noisy, no parking, the curtains do not block the street lights so I could not sleep. Reception personal is not nice and pleasant and very rude. Don't stay there!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nurit18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rijeka
1.0 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#1 of 4 in Rijeka
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonavia
Grand Hotel Bonavia
#2 of 4 in Rijeka
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neboder
Hotel Neboder
#4 of 4 in Rijeka
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#5 of 31 in Opatija
188 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#4 of 31 in Opatija
260 reviews
6.7 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Shetalishte Andrije Kachica Mioshica 1, Rijeka 51000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Rijeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rijeka
Price Range: $100 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Rijeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing