We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshly refurbished, clean, but noisy”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rijeka
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Freshly refurbished, very clean rooms, elevator, LAN-cable internet access in rooms, good breakfast with restaurant staff ready to accommodate special diet requests. This hotel has one major problem - noise. On one side a busy street, on the other the local youth gathers on the river bank just in front of hotel to drink and party with level of noise on that side, especially on the weekends, horrible. Ask for a quiet room, unless you'd like to observe the spectacle.

Room Tip: Local youth gathers on the river bank just in front of hotel to drink and party. Level of noise on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling_geek_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 157 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

Well, this hostel is probably slightly above average; but seen the price I paid for a room (around 55€) we can consider it as a good value. The restaurant downstairs is good and the staff is helpful. the only big minus is the parking: very limited number of parking spots around the hostel, therefore you have to park on a huge public parking (hopefully I came during the low season), not very cheap, and probably 300m away.
Then I really liked the location, close to the center, easy to find.

Room Tip: If you need a parking spot, ask it when you book the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEnzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The rooms are very expensive in fort what you get. Very noisy, no parking, the curtains do not block the street lights so I could not sleep. Reception personal is not nice and pleasant and very rude. Don't stay there!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nurit18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The location is good, near to the seaside and restarurants, but the standard is below average. Only stayd one night, but if I needed to stay more nights in Rejika I have choosen another hotel.

The staff was friendly, but it does no get the rating to more then a 3 on the 5 rated scale.
The room were central heated, and aprox 28 degrees when entered, there was a cooler system, but that was not enough for the room, and open the windows there was the Croatian traffic.
Internet was not working, and it was a smell that was not comfortable.

If the hotel make a facelift an renovation in the rroms then this hotel will be perfect, but right now - I rather try something else in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Can't assit, the 212 was acorner room with a bedroom and a sitting room, maybe the all the x12 i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sune N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This grand old hotel with a patio overlooks a canal to the sea and a pedestrian square. The nearby walking, even in the evening, feels safe and everyone knows the hotel so it is easy to get back to it. While some parts of the hotel may be old, and the elevator feels a little uncertain, our room overlooking the front of the building was completely remodeled and clean, with all mod cons. Dinner and breakfast on the patio in the warm sea air while people watching and relaxing was a bonus. Heavy smoking around us was a downer, but that proved to be the case throughout much of Croatia. We found the staff went out of their way to assist us, allowing us to stay late in our room while we awaited our ferry and moving our seats on the patio to avoid the smokers.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandmas_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Good location, near to main district of Rijeka. The building has a very nice exterior but the inside need some renovation. Helpfull staff but not the friendliest. Some of the rooms has really nice stone balconies with a nice view of the waterfront.
If I visit Rijeka again, I would prefer this one again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meetjoeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We couldn't get a hotel in Rovinj so we drove on to Rijeka, arriving late evening. Room was fine, breakfast was good. Agree with other travelers about the noisy teens in the squared outside the hotel. The problem came after we got home to be reminded that this was the only hotel in our 2 week trip that asked for a credit card for incidentals. We came home to find that we had $14K in charges from a Hotel Continental in Mexico! We didn't use the credit card anywhere else during the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracyiewn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rijeka
1.0 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#1 of 4 in Rijeka
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonavia
Grand Hotel Bonavia
#2 of 4 in Rijeka
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neboder
Hotel Neboder
#4 of 4 in Rijeka
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#5 of 30 in Opatija
262 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
7.1 mi away
Hotel Opatija
Hotel Opatija
#30 of 30 in Opatija
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Shetalishte Andrije Kachica Mioshica 1, Rijeka 51000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Rijeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rijeka
Price Range: $99 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Rijeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing