We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb position” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Bonavia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Bonavia
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rijeka
Cheshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“superb position”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

Smart centrally located hotel, easy to find and good value.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    83
    46
    11
    1
See reviews for
24
52
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2008

This is my second stay at the Bonavia, and both times were extraordinary, relaxing, and enjoyable! The spa is excellent, and a nice massage and some time in the sauna are great ways to relax after travelling. The food is sublime, with traditional and contemporary foods; and one shouldn't miss the breakfast. The hotel offers complimentary internet access in the rooms, though it is by ethernet cable.

Overall I found this a remarkable, pleasant hotel with friendly staff. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Courtious staff
  • Disliked — Internet access is good, but could use improvement.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank VagabondMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2008

Nice hotel, in the centre, we had just an one night stop at this hotel, very good buffet breakfast, nice stuff..
In a few words...we loved it

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rdt_andreea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara,ca
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2008

The staff was very friendly. The room and bathroom were small but adequate. Parking was no charge and outside the front door with shopping and restaurants close. The basket of cookies in the room was great. The breakfast was huge!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank cambria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2008

My husband and I stayed here towards the end of our honeymoon. We were in Rijeka to meet relatives and were completely unfamiliar with the area and the language. Our experience was great! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was large, clean and well appointed. The bathroom was a little difficult to shower in because there was no curtain or door, but we made due.

The inside of the hotel has a different feel than the outside which is basically just a huge glass box. There is also some interesting artwork.
The breakfast was enormous and delicious. The restaurant in the hotel had great food and service.

The area that the hotel is in - adjacent to a large square - has a lot of shops and cafes although not too many places to eat a full meal. It was also nice that the hotel is only about 2 blocks away from the harbor. Also, there is a large bus station that is easily about a ten minute walk away.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acsbaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
999 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2007

hotel bonavia is the only 4 stars hotel in downtown rijeka/fiume. the buiding from outside is not that appealing as it looks just like an ordinary 1980's glass clube and has lost all its late 1800 charming architecture. from the hotel main doors however you are greeted by efficient, smiling and helpful staff (too rare a behavior in post-yugoslavia !...) also fluent in italian/english/german. hotel is well furnished, has a pair of good restaurant plus a café with very good desserts, rooms are not huge but perfectly appointed with everything perfectly in order with large-sized bathrooms, TV, A/C and so on. absolutely recommended although not cheap, unless for stays longer than 3 days and in low season.

  • Liked — professional service, nice furnishing, confortable room, perfect central location although not noisy
  • Disliked — hotel exterior architecture
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielFlorence_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2007

We stayed at the Bonavia for 4 days on our first trip to Croatia. We were there to meet relatives for the first time. We planned the trip well in advance, and received a great deal of friendly assistance from Martina Fucak, Bonavia's Sales Representative. Martina took care of several special requests, handled gift parcels we sent ahead, upgraded us to a wonderful suite, and answered many questions. At arrival, we were met at Rijeka airport by Ante Cargonja, who also served as our guide and driver for the next few days. The hotel provides a comfortable car (BMW 5-series) & driver for a very reasonable price, by the way. Ante helped us at every turn. He translated for us when we met the relatives with great expertise, put up with our frequent changes in plans, and made everyone feel at ease all the time. Extraordinary.

The hotel itself is lovely with very nice amenities. Our suite was very large and spotlessly clean. It had two large TVs, very good air conditioning, nice bathrooms, a comfortable large bed, and a spacious seating area. The included breakfast buffet was substantial and very nicely prepared and presented.

Everyone on the hotel's staff was helpful, cheerful, and polite, and the management clearly has a clear view of what is necessary to bring customers back. We will definitely return.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, professionalism, amenities
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gopatplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rijeka
1.3 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#1 of 4 in Rijeka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#3 of 4 in Rijeka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Neboder
Hotel Neboder
#4 of 4 in Rijeka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
6.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#4 of 31 in Opatija
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#5 of 31 in Opatija
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bonavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bonavia

Property: Grand Hotel Bonavia
Address: Dolac 4, Rijeka 51000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Rijeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rijeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bonavia 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Bonavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rijeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing