We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here, but don't eat here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Bonavia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Hotel Bonavia
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rijeka
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Stay here, but don't eat here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is right in the center of town, right near the bus station and all the walking streets. We loved that part of it, as well as the good service we got. Rooms are just okay and it's questionable whether they're worth paying $165 for, as I did, though there are few alternatives.

But what really got me was dinner. My wife ordered the first fish selection, as well as a soup. They charged her for the fish, and separately for the few vegetables that they had added to decorate the plate. They added a cover charge, which she also had not expected. By the time they got done, her $20 meal was $30!

So, though the service was excellent, I'd pass. Lots of nice restaurants in the area where you can eat well for far less.

Room Tip: Be sure your room is not overlooking the big stairs on the right side of the hotel. The clerk told...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stockmktgenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    83
    46
    11
    1
See reviews for
24
52
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
371 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Well Rijeka is not a tourist location and the hotel offers a great deal in this perspective. Very very nice hotel and spend time there if there is something you have to do in Rijeka. Nice service great breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JurijKobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very decent hotel in the very center of the city with a very long tradition!
Renovated recently, rooms are spaceous and furnished elegantly, bathrooms are quite big and extremelly clean, atmosphere is very cozy and staff very co-operative and friendly. The breakfast could be more generous and spa could be slightly bigger and better equiped.
But overall very good experience and I can higly recomend it for short vacations.

Room Tip: Always ask for the corner room, those are bigger with much better view! And higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sf58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I was there attending a conference and despite all the stress that someone could have in such travels I had the best time relaxing at the end of each day during the conference period, weather in their comfortable and quite rooms or in their high class spa!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrtieonafly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in beggining of November.The weather was great so had a possibility to spend a great time walking trough the pedestrian street which is just 100 meters from the hotel.The rooms were superb.The staff and the quality of the food was in very high level.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budimiir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel is by far not a four star hotel, the room is dated, the rugs are soiled, Internet is sporadic in the rooms, works well in the lobby. The two good things about this hotel are location and hot water, everything else including breaking misses the mark on every front. Do not come to this hotel if you are looking for a four star quality hotel. The breakfast is limited to mainly cereals, packaged yogurt and meats and cheeses with bread. Cold eggs already cooked along with sausage in chaffing dish.

Room Tip: We are in room 421 which is quiet, but rug is soiled in many places, bring slippers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Absolutely lovely hotel in the heart of the city. If you have just one night in Rijeka, this is perfect walking distance to all the attractions.

They thankfully had a room for three with three single beds this was wonderful and we all had enough room to be comfortable.

The service was as you'd expect for the price band - not cheap - but if your looking for a quiet, secure, and nicely decorated place to stay look no further.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rijeka
1.3 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#1 of 4 in Rijeka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#3 of 4 in Rijeka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Neboder
Hotel Neboder
#4 of 4 in Rijeka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#5 of 31 in Opatija
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
6.3 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
5.9 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#4 of 31 in Opatija
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bonavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bonavia

Property: Grand Hotel Bonavia
Address: Dolac 4, Rijeka 51000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Rijeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rijeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bonavia 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Bonavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rijeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing