We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Jadran,Rijeka,Croatia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jadran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Jadran
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rijeka
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel Jadran,Rijeka,Croatia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We got into Rijeka rather late. But our room was waiting for us. It was clean & comfortable. A great choice since it was also located about a 10 minute walk to the center of town !The front desk personal were so helpful. They guided us out of the Hotel to the center. We needed to eat so we walked into the center and it was alive with people. Everyone was so helpful. Big change from Paris ! We were guided to a great fish restaurant ,had a fabulous meal with a great waiter.
But the best thing was the next day, when we had to checkout. We were waiting for my daughter to come meet us from Germany. They held our bags till she came in, about 2 hrs later. Then they held her bag also as we showed her around Rijeka . Truly a very nice gesture ! Thank you to the staff for being so kind !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    118
    37
    12
    5
See reviews for
31
105
15
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

we only stayed for one night and enjoyed it very much. the staff is extremely friendly,that is what we like the best. the rooms are average but pretty clean. it is on a nice location close to downtown. Overall a decent hotel and a decent price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunjad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haarlemmermeer
Level Contributor
123 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

when arriving by train turn right and keep walking towards Rijeka harbor. stroll along the boulevard and keep straight close to the shore until you see the orange container terminal. cross the bridge until the tunnel. just before entering the tunnel you'll find steps which leads you directly up onto the Setaliste XIII road. turn right and after 250m hotel is on the right. with light luggage it was an easy 30-40min walk. staff speaks good english. I was informed about an upcoming wedding celebration right upon check in. my room was on the top floor (6th) with a balcony towards the sea. wow! very private on the sunny side with a view of a lifetime, however not recommended for people with fear of heights. the room itself is charmless but functional with a small flat screen (~30channels), coffee and tea and a small safe. breakfast was included in the room rate and was rich and of very good quality. the elevator can take you down right from your room to the private "beach" (towels at reception). it's all rocky and only safe when the sea is calm. actually not a place for kids under ~14 and not really inviting. you'll also find a few deck chairs for sunbathing, the water is refreshing and looks very clean. however I noticed people living in the building next door, throwing plastic bags filled with trash into the sea right next to me. even if they may drift away after some hours, what a disgrace! there was also a dog next door, which just couldn't stop barking. annoying! a large shopping center is within 10min walking from the hotel. turn right and cross the road after 100m at the crosswalk. take 100steps up the hill, cross another road and turn right after 50m. after another 100m you'll find the entrance on the left. here you'll find a large supermarket and good food options on the top floor. due to the disturbances of the wedding celebration, I was granted a late check out and a little discount on the room rate for one night.

Room Tip: pay the extra for balcony with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank griswolds09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
307 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent one night in this hotel in the context of an 18-days trip (15 hotels) through the western Balkans. We booked our twin bed room two months before our arrival to the hotel. That’s what expected us: We got room no. 201, rather a large corridor than a room, with two beds arranged in a row; squeaky mattresses (the picture collection of booking.com, through which we made our reservation, doesn’t show this kind of room – intentional misleading?); a shabby bathroom with no other amenities but soap dispensers; no slippers nor bathrobes; reading lamps placed in the middle of the bed, of no use if you want to read at night; no ceiling light in the room, impossible to search something in your suitcase after dark; an obsolete clumsy cathodic tube TV set (that obviously can be watched only from one of the beds) obstructing the make-up mirrors; holes in the bed linen; no Wi-Fi signal in the room (I was given an Ethernet cable, but this wouldn’t be a solution for tablets or smartphones); worn-out chairs at the balcony; mini-safe blocked open and out of service (see pictures). And this is supposed to be a four star hotel on top of Trip Advisor’s hotel list for Rijeka!

When I asked to change the room at the reception desk (the only non-smiling receptionist we met in five stays in different hotels in Croatia), I was told that the hotel was fully booked and that we got this room, because we asked for two single beds. However, I realized next morning that there are rooms (e.g. no. 203) which have a normal arrangement of twin beds (side by side). Obviously the hotel management considers one-night guests as second class guests, who anyway will not react and swallow everything…

The hotel parking place is insufficiently dimensioned and you must be lucky to get a place. There is, of course, the nice view from the balcony above the sea, but this can’t make up for the rest. The breakfast was just OK (though without fresh fruit juices, just watery “nectars”). Attention: If you are lucky and get one of the few tables on the balcony for breakfast, seagulls may pick from your plate! It was our worst stay in Croatia. Incidentally, it was the only case the receptionist didn’t ask us upon our departure about the quality of our stay and our satisfaction…

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Konstantin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

On the Plus side: we loved the view we had at breakfast onto the Adriatic. We sat at a small table on the balcony and really had a unique moment. Staff was helpful and friendly.

On the Minus side: The building is unattractive (read old-style without the charm) and the renovation project was made in a very "cold" way. Lots of empty white surfaces etc. Might please the minimalist crowds, but didn't work for me. Hotel has a very small number of parking spots, and if you don't want to use valet parking, you have to work it out yourself in that one-way street

Note on the location: Great once you are in the hotel, but there isn't much going on in the surroundings

Room Tip: We had a room without a view and wished we had chosen one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is situated right by the sea. This thing is a major plus. The hotel is indeed a 4* one, the services are great: nice staff, suitable rooms, cleen rooms, good food. The only thing i have to point out is that the coffee is awful at the restaurant. But you can sip a cup of good coffee in the reception, if you are willing to pay 10 kuna for an expresso:). In the end, a very good choice, i say the best choice for a hotel in Rijeka.

Room Tip: Ask for sea-view, but avoid the first floor, the rooms there don't have any terace or balcony wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel Jadran is fantastically located at seaside along exit road of Rijeka.It faces sea and you can take lift from your room straight to the beach (made of concrete like most of Croatians beaches) and enjoye Adriatic sea. We have been there at the beggining of August and it was very quiet at the beach and not many people (hotel was 100% booked) and not much noise. Rooms are nice and have great balconies when you can sit and enjoy view over the sea. Breakfast is reasonable and food in general is good. Staff is very supportive and professional. I did not give excellent due to facts: very poor breakfast coffee (need to pay for good one), you cannot have lunch in the hotel (restaurant is open from 5 pm only) and location in Rijeka which is not great city. You need o walk for half an hour to get to city center which is nothing special. However that is perfcet hotel for 1 or 2 days break if you travel across Croatia.

Room Tip: 6th floor (have great balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maciej Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rijeka
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonavia
Grand Hotel Bonavia
#2 of 4 in Rijeka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#18 of 31 in Opatija
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#3 of 4 in Rijeka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Neboder
Hotel Neboder
#4 of 4 in Rijeka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#5 of 31 in Opatija
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#4 of 31 in Opatija
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jadran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jadran

Property: Hotel Jadran
Address: Shetalishte Trinaeste Divizije 46, Rijeka 51000, Croatia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Jadran)
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Rijeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rijeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jadran 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Jadran is situated in the residential part of the city of Rijeka. Its unique position and translucent architecture have made this hotel a popular place to stay at, for almost a century. Most of its 66 nicely furnished single and double rooms and 3 luxurious apartments are with a balcony and a beautiful view of the sea. Staying at this hotel provides a unique atmosphere of the old Mediterranean but with all modern facilities for tourists and business guests. Just one look at the sea through its glass walls is enough to make a guest attached to the Adriatic forever. Not only that the sea is omnipresent but participates in hotel's life, altering its colours and moods, changing the atmosphere of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Jadran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jadran Hotel Rijeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing