We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cleanest hostel ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lounge Hostel Carnevale
Ranked #2 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Rijeka
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cleanest hostel ever!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed here for around 4 nights with a friend - the hostel is in an excellent location, and is exceptionally clean. Every time you leave the shower or loo the cleaner is standing outside with her mop ready to clean inside. I guess at least you know it is hygienic but it is also a little awkward and invasive. The hostel was nice enough - I stayed in a 6 bed dorm with some nice people, bedding changed everyday but as for the hostel itself there is not really a lot to do or spaces to meet other travellers.

If you do stay here I really recommend you take a trip to Opatija (a nearby fishing town) as that really is nice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
27
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a good hostel and yes it was very clean with some good showers and great staff. It is very central and our room was nice enough but a bit on the small side. It was a bit noisy when you'd sleep with the window open because of the fountain in the square. The only thing that this place is missing is a kitchen which would make it perfect but it was nice that they gave you free tea and coffee in the morning for breakfast. The staff really couldn't have been more helpful and were full of useful and tips and much needed directions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

his is my honest opinion of the place.
location: from the train station (10 min walk) or bus terminal it is a 5 min walk. Not easy to locate from the main street as the sign is hidden by outdoor umbrellas by Rich bar. But the location is smack bang in the middle of the city and at the start of the mall.
customer service: very helpful
cleanness: place was clean and tidy every time you use the bathrooms or showers.
bathrooms: Only 4 showers and toilets for the entire place, hence the cleaning as stated above.
Bedroom: Air con in the room with some good views. Had big size lockers with a key.
extras: 1 laptop to use as well as WIFI was fast and available all rooms. No Kitchen room as well as no fridge. Can not cook your own food.
Noisy: very quite,
Breakout area: is in the corridor which small, hence the atmosphere was no good.
Suggestions: have a another room for breakout area and a kitchen.

Room Tip: The bed was comfortable. Room size was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrOzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hostel itself was a bit hard to find because entrance was behind a kind of roof at a restaurant.... if you have a lot of luggage might be difficult because there are a few flights of stairs and no lift. Hostel itself quite small in a good way, very clean modern and spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful. Fantastic views of sea from room which I wasn't expecting. Showers and toilets spotless, they were cleaned after every use together with cleaning lady trying the door handle whilst in use... over enthusiastic perhaps? Air conditioning very noisy... I think this is not the kind of hostel you would go to meet fellow travelers, seemed more like a hotel than a hostel. Very centrally located and near all amenities, good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nb888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in this hostel for one night before travelling to Mali Losinj. We booked a twin room which was simple but VERY clean (staff cleaned the shower/toilet after every use!). The whole hostel is very well presented and modern with good shower facilities and friendly staff. We were provided with maps of the town and recommendations of where to eat and drink, the staff also had a good knowledge of ferry timetables etc. The hostel is very central and was quite noisy with the windows open, although the room had good air-con so it was not necessary to sleep with the windows open. A really nice hostel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nocturnal_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed for two nights and it was great value. Central location (just around the corner is the main walking street) and very close to bus station. Staff (manager) were friendly and welcoming, some tea, coffee and cookies available throughout the day. Very, very clean (cleaning lady was cleaning both the hall and the bathrooms several times every day). All in all, great value for money in Rijeka in terms of accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MirzaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed there a couple of days. Everything was reachable on foot. Very close to the harbor and to bars and restaurantz. Right on the Korzo. Parking places are many nearby. We would recommend parking timm. The garage (5 mins distance ) has video surveilance for the paranoid :-) and is open 24/7. The place itself was VERY clean, staff helpful and friendly (coffee/tee and buns were available). Rooms have aircon. Noisy is switched on, but in a Croatian Summer you will LOVE it. Beautiful interior and "Lounge Music" on the floor and toilets ;-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus_und_Michaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rijeka hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonavia
Grand Hotel Bonavia
#2 of 4 in Rijeka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#1 of 4 in Rijeka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#3 of 4 in Rijeka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Neboder
Hotel Neboder
#4 of 4 in Rijeka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Botel Marina
Botel Marina
#1 of 17 in Rijeka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel 1W
Hostel 1W
#1 of 32 in Rijeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lounge Hostel Carnevale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lounge Hostel Carnevale

Property: Lounge Hostel Carnevale
Address: Jadranski Trg 1, Rijeka 51000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Rijeka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Rijeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Lounge Hostel Carnevale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing