We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel next to the sea”
Review of Hotel Milenij

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Milenij
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Opatija
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2010

High-quality quiet hotel with excellent staff, a picturesque view and cozy rooms. I had the biggest single room I've seen in a hotel (about 35 m2) with a big bathroom, proper office table and a very cozy atmosphere. Most home-like stay I've had in a hotel.

I noticed there are very different reviews written for this hotel. One of the reasons may be that this hotel actually consists of 4-5 different buildings with different room settings and buffet areas. In case the quality of the rooms is different, this may be the reason.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexander_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 511 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2009

The biggest problem was noise. The air conditioning equipment of the hotel is located righ above the rooms at the top floor. There are some pumps operating at a regular interval making terrible noise propagating through the walls of the building. If your room is on the top floor, you just cannot sleep. So, we had to change the room.
The other room we were given faced the street, so we could hear the traffic noise. What was even worse there was very bad tobacco smell in the bathroom. It seemed as if the ventilation system was pumping tobacco smell in the bathroom, not the other way around.
Unfortunately, the hotel was fully booked, so we had to choose in between two awfull alternatives.
We planned to stay there two nights, but that one night was enough and we moved out the next morning.
The service at the restaurant is like from the Soviet era, the food is average, but these are minor things compared to the problems in the rooms.
The only good thing I could say about the hotel was the service attitude of the receptionist that checked us in. When we complained about the noise, he was called in from home at 11pm and he came to the hotel to find an alternative room for us... but what could he do with the structural problems :-(
It is the responsibility of the owners, who do not seem to be willing to solve these issues and are just milking their investments.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViatorUrbanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

The hotel is well appointed from the foyer all the way to the rooms. The front desk staff are welcoming and helpful. We only intended to stay for 1 night but extended our stay to 2 nights because of how impressed with the surroundings we were. Our room rate included half board. Both the breakfast and dinner buffet provided an array of food to rival any buffet anywhere.The kitchen staff ensure the food on offer is always fresh and plentiful. The wait staff are friendly but not overbearing. Our room had a sea view with a large private terrace and deck chairs for sunbathing.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moffatanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

I cannot recommend this hotel, the service is not worth 5 stars...not at all... very unfriendly personell at the reception, the restaurant is also more a cantine with no service, nobody asked us for drinks, at breakfeast, no orange juce any more. Rooms are not always cleaned, they forgot to bring breakfeast to the room as ordered, in the end, they wanted us to pay for this breakfeast, which we never got... for 3 stars or 50€ ok, but not for this price...

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ly1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

The view was gorgeous, the spa attendants wonderful, the receptionit were nice... but everyone else was borderline rude. I would not consider it a 5 star hotel. Maybe by Croatian standards? There was a wedding in the hotel that literally kept all the guests awake all night ( the band didn't stop until 6:00 am). Beause there were so many complaints, people missed tours because they didn't sleep, etc., the hotel decided to give everyone turn down service and a chocolate on our pillow the next night. Oh give me a break! How about asking the wedding party to quiet down? The water in the shower was freezing cold, the airconditioner in the room is governed by them and when told our room on the 6th floor was to hot, their comment was - you americans always think its too hot we're used to it.
Overall-- would not stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GM0m48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

We stayed at the Mienij for seven nights in March, unfortunately during a very cold and stormy period. The hotel is a delight, but old fashioned in many ways, which is what I was looking for. Our room had a sea view as promised and was comfortable; the housekeeping staff attentive.

We has half- board as part of our package. Breakfasts were wonderful but dinner was somewhat of a mixed bag. When there were no large tour group present we were offered course choices, usually meat or fish, that were brought to the table. These were very good. When the dining room was fuller, the meal was buffet style and not very good- food too long in the warming trays and overcooked.

But we cannot say enough good things about the very pleasant and hard working young servers.

Opatija is a lovely town though there is not much to do when the weather is cold and rainy. And beware if you fly into Zagreb. The bus and/or private car trip is two hours long over a rugged mountain range and quite expensive.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank travelingthruhistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

I've stayed here three times and have always had a good experience.

The location is excellent, right on the water and close to the town area.

The staff in general are quite pleasant and friendly.

The rooms could use some attention, but they are always clean and the bathrooms are quite big. The rooms themselves are nothing special but we always manage to get a room with a lovely view of the sea!

We LOVE the buffet breakfast and dinner, it's really delicious. I don't usually recommend eating in hotels, but I found the spread interesting and tasty.

I'm surprised however that they call it a 5 star though, I'd say it's a good 3 star or low 4 star. I'd recommend it for a 1-2 day stay.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinoplustravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.5 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
1.8 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#4 of 30 in Opatija
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#5 of 30 in Opatija
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bevanda
Hotel Bevanda
#18 of 30 in Opatija
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milenij? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milenij

Address: Marshala Tita 109, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
#2 Romantic Hotel in Opatija
Price Range: $151 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Milenij 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Milenij is a 5 star luxury hotel in Opatija. An essential attribute of this property is convenience and central location in the centre of the town. Situated alongside the beautiful park and Church of St. James on the one side, and the famous Lungomare seafront promenade and the town’s Slatina beach on the other, the Milenij invites guests to enjoy enviroment where superior service and distinctive surroundings create unique experience.The Hotel is at walking distance from many attractions and the beach is only steps away.In its 99 stylish, luxuriously furnished rooms (Standard, Deluxe, Superior) and suites (Standard, Superior, Residence), the hotel offers its guests accommodation in a relaxed atmosphere with a view of Opatija’s most famous landmark– the Girl with the Seagull statue.The Wagner Caffe and Argonauti restaurant located inside the hotel Milenij are a long-time favorite among the prominent Opatija localties and socialities.In good weather, you can enjoy an aperitif or a meal outdoors on the restaurant’s and caffe’s stylish terrace across the sea with magnificant view of Kvarner Bay.During the summer time, this terrace turns into a perfect setting for a live music nights that we are hosting 5 times a week. Our uniquely designed summer program includes special music events performed by finest musicians and artists every Thursday in July and August which makes this terace probably the most ‘famous’ on Adriatic coast.Come and discover the Milenij hotel, where charm and hospitality are our trademarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Milenij reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milenij Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing