We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and staff”
Review of Hotel Milenij

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Milenij
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Certificate of Excellence
McKinney, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and staff”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here on a stopover from Venice to Split. This is the luxury section of a larger property. Staff were very helpful- they met us next door and brought our luggage to the room. Staff at restaurant stayed late to make sure we got a good dinner; the restaurant was very nice, food was delicious, and waitstaff were outstanding. Our room was large, with hardwood floors, furnished with Old World style. Modern amenities were all available. Breakfast buffet was large and tasty. Grounds were beautifully kept by the sea with pretty views. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob-and-Mila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    149
    53
    14
    19
See reviews for
78
220
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

From the superb breakfast on the terrace to the spa and view, almost evrything about this hotelnis top class. It lost a raTing star due to the incredibly annoying necessity to get a new internet login for each device evry 24 hours. Staff were excelwnt, and it took only 5 min or so to retrieve our car when we wanted it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffytvs488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilenijHoteli, Manager at Hotel Milenij, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you for sharing your experiences of your recent stay in hotel Milenij and thank you for rating our hotel so highly. We look forward to greeting you again so please let us know if we can be of any help if you decide to come back.
Kind regards, Ilija-hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were already staying elsewhere in Opatija but decided to look elsewhere as we were disappointed with the hotel we were staying at. Location was very important and after walking around looking at the various options, we opted for Hotel Milenij for various reasons: in our opinion, it has the best position, next to the lunge mare (promenade) so no road to cross to get to the sea, a short walk to the bus station, a large terrace with great views, friendly, helpful staff and lovely comfortable rooms.

We opted for a sea view room, returned to our original hotel to check out and checked in at The Milenij. Had we made the right decision? Definitely. It was everything we had wanted from a hotel and saved this part of the holiday.

The hotel itself has 2 buildings and our room was on the 5th floor, having recently been renovated to a high level. A very comfortable bed with excellent quality bedding, good bathroom with bath and overhead shower along with a double vanity unit, sliding doors with a small Juliet balcony that gave just enough room to stand on, a small table with 2 comfortable tub chairs, TV (rarely turned on), a mini bar, great air con and a safe inside the wardrobe. I have to admit that it's probably not the largest of rooms but to us, quality wins over size every time. Besides who goes on holiday to sit in their room for long periods?

As well as having a very large terrace for having a meal (we did and it was really good), have a drink or indulge in one of the amazing ice cream sundaes or cakes (oops, there goes the diet!), the hotel also has a spa centre giving various treatment options, a sauna and a great indoor swimming pool with a glass roof, which opens when the weather allows. Walking outside from this area you can use the jacuzzi or sit on one of the many sun beds. Whilst not the largest of areas, it is not overlooked by anyone passing by on the lunge mare and it certainly met our needs.

The breakfast, taken either inside or outside on the terrace, is quite an affair. There are many hot and cold options to choose from and I even had my first taste of caviar! While we were there staff walked around with offerings of prosecco, raspberries and cranberries and also filling up our orange juice if so wished. All this to the background of classical music and there was even a live guitar/violin duet on two of the mornings we were there! Now that's how to take breakfast.

While the World Cup is taking place, the hotel is showing live matches in its bar, where you can sample either the cocktail or ice cream sundae specially concocted to celebrate this event. Visit the spa too for their special peel/massage. I tried all 3 'specials' and can highly recommend them.

The hotel has a 5* rating, however does not have the pretentiousness that goes with it. It has an air of relaxation and the staff, without exception, were the friendliest, most helpful that we had encountered during our 2 weeks holiday, visiting various areas on our first trip to Croatia.

Don't miss it while visiting Opatija.

Room Tip: Room 518 on the 5th floor has a view of the sea, side view of the park next door and a small inlet w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HOL150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilenijHoteli, Manager at Hotel Milenij, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel Milenij! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Feel free to contact us if we can help with your accommodation arrangements.
Sincerely,
Ilija-hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Located right in the center of town this is a nice hotel in a charming city with Austro-Hungarian architecture. The hotel is in a complex of four hotels. The rooms are spare but comfortable. The restaurant is in a separate building. The breakfasts are fairly good, not excellent, but there is a lot variety. There is a small cafe with a wide selection of pastries and chocolates. It is a great place to have a pastry and a cappuccino. There is also a small restaurant but we didn't eat there. There is a 7 mile promenade along the waterfront and it's a great place to walk and view the scenery. This hotel has a very annoying wifi system. They give you a code to use but the only place you can get wifi is in the lobby. Overall, this is a good place to spend 2or 3 nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlou68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilenijHoteli, Manager at Hotel Milenij, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much on your great review and for your recent visit Grand hotel 4 opatijska cvijeta. Please let us know if you are planning to come back so we would be grateful to be able to assist you in any way. Greetings from hotel Milenij.
Kind regards,
Ilija-hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria oregon
Level 6 Contributor
1,707 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 726 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Alright. After staying at the newly renovated Remisens this was a step down.
Even the service. The recommendations could not compare to the excellent yet off the beaten path that Mr. Bruno gave to us and other guests.

Recommend? There are better choices.

Return? See above.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilenijHoteli, Manager at Hotel Milenij, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guests,
Greetings from hotel Milenij and thank you for your review. Thank you also for letting us know where we can do better in order to make our guests’ stay even more enjoyable. We have noted all your comments and we hope you will have a chance to come back and see how we have improved.
Kind regards,
Ilija-hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
952 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

In the restaurant attention to detail was missing, mediocre menu, poor service.
Fish over cooked, wine not topped up, wrong cutlery, unwanted glasses not removed.

Pool excellent, comfortable rooms and surroundings - with the exception of the restaurant the hotel lived up to expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main road are noisy until quite late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxim123153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilenijHoteli, Manager at Hotel Milenij, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Mr. Maxim,
Greetings from hotel Milenij. We are sorry you were under impression with our restaurant and we hope that this inconvenience did not prevent you to come back in Opatija. Please let us know if you are planning to come back so we would be grateful to be able to assist you in any way.
Kind regards,
Ilija-hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

An extremely nice and clean Hotel with kind staff, Hotel of really high level. The location is just perfect and visitors feel like kings. Spa is really cool and the restaurant is excellent. Breakfast is just as you would expect in such noble hotel and last but not least the cafe with excellent pastries and ice they make...mmmm. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matjaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nemanja V, Manager at Hotel Milenij, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Mr. Matjaz,

Thank you very much on your great review and for your recent visit. We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay. We look forward to greeting you again on some other occasion.

Kind regards from Opatija,
Ilija-hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.5 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
1.8 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#4 of 31 in Opatija
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#7 of 31 in Opatija
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Kvarner - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milenij? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milenij

Property: Hotel Milenij
Address: Marshala Tita 109, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Opatija
#3 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Milenij 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Milenij is a 5 star luxury hotel in Opatija. An essential attribute of this property is convenience and central location in the centre of the town. Situated alongside the beautiful park and Church of St. James on the one side, and the famous Lungomare seafront promenade and the town’s Slatina beach on the other, the Milenij invites guests to enjoy enviroment where superior service and distinctive surroundings create unique experience.The Hotel is at walking distance from many attractions and the beach is only steps away.In its 99 stylish, luxuriously furnished rooms (Standard, Deluxe, Superior) and suites (Standard, Superior, Residence), the hotel offers its guests accommodation in a relaxed atmosphere with a view of Opatija’s most famous landmark– the Girl with the Seagull statue.The Wagner Caffe and Argonauti restaurant located inside the hotel Milenij are a long-time favorite among the prominent Opatija localties and socialities.In good weather, you can enjoy an aperitif or a meal outdoors on the restaurant’s and caffe’s stylish terrace across the sea with magnificant view of Kvarner Bay.During the summer time, this terrace turns into a perfect setting for a live music nights that we are hosting 5 times a week. Our uniquely designed summer program includes special music events performed by finest musicians and artists every Thursday in July and August which makes this terace probably the most ‘famous’ on Adriatic coast.Come and discover the Milenij hotel, where charm and hospitality are our trademarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Milenij reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milenij Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing