We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, the best in Opatija without a doubt”
Review of Hotel Milenij

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Milenij
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Opatija
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here booking at the last minute (the morning of our arrival) over the Easter weekend. I was pleasantly surprised having experienced so called 5 stars in Croatia before which was not up to scratch; this is not the case in Milenij. Our room was in the new wing, very clean and well appointed. It was unfortunately partly overlooking the street which was a little noisy but this could not be avoided due to late booking. Try and book a room with a sea view. The room was very hot but we just left the window slightly ajar. We never actually complained but I'm sure the excellent staff would have assisted. We had twin beds, which yes, were soft but I enjoy this in a hotel.We did not seek to change on account of the twins so just be aware of this when booking and request a true double if you would prefer. Our package included use of swimming pool and spa (which I would imagine all deals do?) and robes and slippers were delivered to our room. Room service turned down our room on only one night with a lovely chocolate but unfortunately no water, although this is available in the minibar at a very reasonable price. Room service made up the room adequately but did not replace toiletries although again I’m sure you can request these. Penhaligon’s toiletries in the bathroom! Bathroom was fine, no natural light but a good size with double basin. I’m sure these can be requested. Hairdryer is a typical hotel hairdryer and is very poor; be prepared to bring your own or request a decent one for your use.

The highlight of the holiday was the amazing buffet breakfast, which is as good as any luxury European hotel, fresh (real) orange juice, prosecco, eggs to order, smoked salmon, good selection of fruit and muesli, different types of breads and croissants... The only drawback is perhaps that tea and coffee is also self service and not served, which is always nice in a hotel. On Easter Sunday there were so many nice touches which were impressive, painted eggs on the table, chocolate eggs to take home, frittata with fresh wild asparagus, fresh ham, sweet bread and many other delicacies.

We did not eat in the hotel at night, preferring to explore some of the excellent restaurants in the vicinity, some a short walk away in Volosko, other further afield by car.

We really enjoyed the pool and sauna area which was very quiet. Fresh towels were provided, as was fresh fruit, water and tea. The outdoor Jacuzzi did not seem to be fully working some of the time. However, we were here off season, I do imagine that it gets extremely overcrowded in summer as the pool is very small, there is only one, and from what I saw the sea is accessible but you must walk down from the sun lounger area across the path to the bathing point. Therefore, beware in high season!

Staff were very courteous and friendly, multilingual, from the valet parking and bell boy to the check out. There was a slight hiccup with the bill on check out which was duly rectified and monies refunded without too much hassle.

All in all for the price, it was great value for money and really enjoyed the stay. It also seemed to be quite child friendly with a number of families there. Don’t bank on evening entertainment as the bar was almost empty both nights, but Opatija has plenty on offer that this shouldn’t be bother.

Room Tip: Pay the extra, and choose a room with a sea view, or at least facing onto park but not onto street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EHZagCro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 502 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

We were a group of 8 (family with children 14+12, and 4 retirees aged 65 - 87). This was our second stay in this hotel. We have booked 3 rooms. The family with teens stayed in a stardard suite (no.204+205 with connecting door) which had 2 sleeping rooms and 2 bathrooms. Room 204 had a very comfortable bed (see picture below), room 205 had a fold-out bed, which was very comfortable as well. The other travellers stayed in double rooms (no.620 + 621). These rooms had bathrooms with bath tub, which can be a little bit difficult for elder people. Nevertheless, all rooms were really clean and comfortable. There were lots of storage possibilities. The receptionists are very friendly, we had some (small) wishes, which have been handled immediately. The breakfast buffet was very excellent, empty plates have been refilled within a few minutes. The pool area was very clean as well, children under 16 have to be accompanied by an adult. We can fully recommend this hotel and will be happy to book there again when we return to Opatija next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Room was extremely compact. The matresses over soft so that you sunk in the middle of them. Properly overused and never replaced. Room was like a sauna. Could not adjust the temperature gauge. Bathroom dark and dingy. Cleaning lady started making noise in the corridor outside the room at 7:30 in the morning - making sure she banged everything she could. When peeked out to ask her to stop as we were still sleeping, no change. When complained about the heat, beds and cleaning lady, the reception manager smiled and said he would immediately look into these matters - perhaps give us another room. Nothing was done - got the impression simply ignored. Breaksfast buffet has plenty of choice. Dinner was good. Fish was fresh and nicely cooked. There is parking at the hotel but you have to pay. Another surprise which was sprung on us as we were told it was for free when the conceige took our keys to park the car. Overall found the room price not justified at all. Worst accommodation of our whole croatia trip to our surprise. Two highlights were 1) the hotel's chocolate massge - a delight in all meaning of the senses and 2) there is a lovely pizzeria/spaghettiria about 200 metres up the road with wonderful local food and friendly service. The place was packed with locals and tourists alike. There was a 1 hour waiting time for the next table and people were still willing to put their names down and wait. Worth a visit - make a reservation to avoid disappointment. Opatija is a small "pensioner" town so don't expect much more than the 15 minute promenade walk.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hellbraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I have been all over Croatia and Opatija is by far the best place to visit, classy and beautiful, and this hotel makes your stay complete, great location, in the heart of town, nice rooms, excellent breakfest, fiirst class hotel, we had two rooms while visiting with my family and both were very good with a lovely view, can not say anything bad about this hotel,

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horvathmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I spent one week in march in this hotel full board.It was wonderful stay in a beautiful hotel with amazing sea view from the room.Sunshine was wakening me, the moon light was unforgettable in the venings!Food was good, the staff is very friendly and helpful!I will never forget the berakfast watching the Adriatic sea with its amazing blue and green colours.
The only recommendation;please put slippers in the rooms because they are useful for the spa center and the pool.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This review is a bit late coming as we stayed in the Hotel Milenij a while ago, neverthe less for what it is worth we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. To have either breakfast, morning or afternood tea on the cafe terrace whilst watching the sun dancing on the sea is just sublime. They also have a lovely little patisserie on the side of the hotel where you can buy their cakes to take away. If you love quaint older style (romantic) hotels with a view to die for then this is for you, (just make sure you book a sea view room with balcony). If modern and state of the art is more important I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs-JWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stopped by Opatija on the way to Rovijn. It is a lovely town, with wonderful Belle Epoch buildings. It is Croatia's Monte Carlo, on a smaller scale. We did not stay at this hotel, but had lunch outside. The food was fine, but the setting is what made the visit.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Planettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
0.5 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
1.8 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#4 of 30 in Opatija
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
0.1 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Kvarner - Adults Only
0.2 mi away
Remisens Hotel Palace Bellevue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milenij? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milenij

Address: Marshala Tita 109, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Opatija
#3 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
Price Range: $147 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Milenij 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Milenij is a 5 star luxury hotel in Opatija. An essential attribute of this property is convenience and central location in the centre of the town. Situated alongside the beautiful park and Church of St. James on the one side, and the famous Lungomare seafront promenade and the town’s Slatina beach on the other, the Milenij invites guests to enjoy enviroment where superior service and distinctive surroundings create unique experience.The Hotel is at walking distance from many attractions and the beach is only steps away.In its 99 stylish, luxuriously furnished rooms (Standard, Deluxe, Superior) and suites (Standard, Superior, Residence), the hotel offers its guests accommodation in a relaxed atmosphere with a view of Opatija’s most famous landmark– the Girl with the Seagull statue.The Wagner Caffe and Argonauti restaurant located inside the hotel Milenij are a long-time favorite among the prominent Opatija localties and socialities.In good weather, you can enjoy an aperitif or a meal outdoors on the restaurant’s and caffe’s stylish terrace across the sea with magnificant view of Kvarner Bay.During the summer time, this terrace turns into a perfect setting for a live music nights that we are hosting 5 times a week. Our uniquely designed summer program includes special music events performed by finest musicians and artists every Thursday in July and August which makes this terace probably the most ‘famous’ on Adriatic coast.Come and discover the Milenij hotel, where charm and hospitality are our trademarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Milenij reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milenij Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing