We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful spot to stay Rijeka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Easy access from autostrada. Route to the hotel,well sign posted. Welcome pool. Our room had a nice view of the bay. We could hear the noise from the restaurant the night we stayed. Room had everything we needed. Shutte from the hotel to,the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcoP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 260 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had confirmed reservations for three rooms at this hotel in late July but were informed by phone just ten minutes prior to our arrival that due to a booking mistake our reservations had been canceled and rooms given to other guests. We were then booked in another hotel in Opatija and only upon request was the charge made against my credit card refunded. While we made the best of it and ultimately enjoyed being closer to the center to town, I was very disappointed with the hotel management which apologized but essentially said overbooking happens all the time. This was a first for me, however, and very poorly handled.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank traveler0857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Owner at Hotel Villa Kapetanovic, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Once again, we want to apologize for the inconvenience that was caused by accidental mistake of overbooking. We want to emphasize that this was our FIRST (1st) overbooking. An error was made on the reservation (the wrong date was written, it was the day before actual arrival), and therefore system treated it as no show and automatically charged the credit card. Also rooms were automatically opened for sale. At the moment when we realised that we made a mistake we immediately contacted hotel in the center of Opatija and we booked rooms at the same price. We did everything that was in our power to correct the mistake we made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Chose this hotel from TA reviews and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The property, a pleasant modern villa with a more recent extension, stands majestically over Opatija, affording sweeping views over the glistening bay. The interior is modern and functional. Our superior room was situated in the new wing and was large and simply but nicely furnished, with a huge terrace overlooking the sea. Toiletries very basic. Service was friendly and efficient throughout. We utilised the shuttle service for a trip into town. Opatija is beautiful, comparable to Lake Garda and Maggiore in architectural style, general vibe and clientele. We had dinner in the hotel which was a very enjoyable experience, food was just ok but they are trying so hard and service was impeccable and the setting divine. Breakfast, on the same fabulous terrace, was a simple and basic spread with the kind addition of Prosecco and the delightful, warm lady serving during our visit was an utter hoot. There does appear to be a problem with the water here, I noted other comments on TA and when we retired to bed there was no water coming from the taps whatsoever. By morning it was running normally so this didn't cause us too much of a problem. All in all, a great stay, a gem, and great value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I spent three days in the middle of July in this lovely villa with a stunning view, cca 5 min drive from Opatija center. The staff (the owner included!) are all very friendly and there is nothing they wouldn't do for their guests to feel welcome. The facilities are clean, rooms spacious, modern. The pool at the back of the building is clean and offers you a quiet and relaxing atmosphere - although there is no view of the sea from there, one doesn't even miss it. In order to get to the seaside, I'd recommend you drive by car, though the hotel shuttle can take you to Opatija or any of the near-by beaches if you need a ride, and they come and pick you up too. Their own a la carte restaurant is a treat of its own! Delicious food, great service. All in all, a lovely place for a short or even a longer getaway! I recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katja27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

It's a good place for stop - over if you're planning to drive through Croatia. We stayed 3 nights one way, and another night on the way back. First appearance is very good, but then after a few nights this hotel somehow becomes average, you start to see neuances and draw- backs. Remote location is not quite adequate for a prolonged vacation, unless you are driving to various areas of interest.
The restaurant also appears to be very good in the beginning, but then the same menu gets old, and the fish on weekends may not be the freshest.
Overall a comfortable place to overnight and have a good meal with a nice view. Quaiet, no action in a waking distance. If it's hot, the small pool is a plus. A bit overpriced, as ewerything else in Croatia during the summer season.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have a balcony and a nice view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didzis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was a fine hotel for 3 nights with a great room with balcony, a wonderful English-speaking staff, excellent restaurant and pool & parking. Breakfast was great. However, our stay was marred when we had no hot water for the last two mornings - otherwise I'd rate it excellent. We want to hope that this was an unusual experience because we liked the Hotel so much. The Wi-fi was sometimes a bit sketchy, which we found to be a common problem in central European hotels. The Hotel works much better if you have a car. It's a long walk to the center of town and the Gulf swimming areas. They will shuttle you but this limits your options. Opatija is a very nice town. Walking the lovely 12 kilometer Longo Mare along the water starting at the pretty old town of Volosko is easy & a real pleasure. You can swim at many places along the walk (especially east of town) that we thought were much nicer than the areas further up the coast in Medveja and Mošćenička. Parking in Opatija in mid-summer can be a challenge - you must be persistent & aggressive. Getting a space usually took us 5-10 minutes. But the Hotel restaurant was so good that we ate there 2 of 3 nights. A nice day trip is to drive to Baška on the island of Krk (1.25hr) where there is a very long & busy beach with lots of facilities & activities. Get there early if you want to rent an umbrella and/or lounge. Driving up the mountain to Učka for the view of Opatija and the Islands was not worth the effort.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BunkyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night in May on our way through to Italy. The hotel is clean and modern. The breakfast was good, usual continental fare. We decided to walk into town for dinner, it probably took over an hour, so a bit far. As a tip we ate at pizzeria roko which was outstanding!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#5 of 31 in Opatija
188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
1.7 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#2 of 31 in Opatija
496 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Grand Hotel Adriatic
#9 of 31 in Opatija
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Kapetanovic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Kapetanovic

Address: Nova Cesta 12A, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Price Range: $94 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Kapetanovic 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Kapetanovic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing