We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belle Epoch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bristol by OHM Group
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Belle Epoch”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed for two nights in this underrated area of Croatia. The Bristol and many other fine old buildings were constructed in the 19th century heyday of the Austria- Hungarian Empire. Visually very attractive in a splendid location. The Bristol is centrally located and has been modernised to a good standard. We had a room towards the back and whilst not having a view of the sea did have the advantage of being quiet away from the busy road at the front. The room was good, well furnished, with all the requirements one now expects for a good hotel.
The one disappointment was the food which was of a limited range and of a mediocre standard. This needs to be improved if it is not to let the whole hotel down which would be a pity.
The area is well worth visiting it is very attractive

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol by OHM Group, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind words.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and liked the historical building, location, room and furnishing. We are proud of the Austrian – Hungarian Empire elements which still are present in our hotel, and for which we took special care to keep them exactly as they were, even after the renovation. Still we equipped the hotel and rooms with all elements our guests need for a perfect vacation
We would like to thank you hear by for giving us your feedback on the food. Gladly we will take your suggestions to further improve our services in order to provide every single guest with the perfect holiday.

Kind regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    198
    68
    24
    24
See reviews for
58
213
32
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

In May we spent a couple of days in beautiful Lovran. This place is one of the most grandiose town within others in the region, situated right beside of the Adriatic sea, Kvarner bay. The promenade is the best and most popular possibility for a refreshing walk. This pathway is approximately 10km in full-length and goes along the seashore by connecting neighbor towns. This area in Croatia, called Opatia, is a real historical place with amazing architecture and memories from the good-old past of the dual Monarchy (1867-1918). Wherever you’re strolling you will meet old and gorgeous villas surrounded by well shaped gardens. You might be a fan of history then you will definitely enjoy this spot especially if you decide to stay at this old building, Hotel Bristol.
This hotel is over 100 years old with nicely renovated rooms, antique furniture’s, inviting public areas, spacious sun terrace…
Our room and bathroom was really comfortable and well equipped with breathtaking panoramic view over the sea. The only disadvantage what we had the noisy water pipes behind the wall it was a bit disturbing for us if fellow guests took shower in adjacent room late night...
Breakfast buffet is ample enough to start your day. On the other hand restaurant staff could be more smiling and talkative. At the reception everyone was obliging and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to make your reservation on upper floors facing to Kvarner bay. We had a superior room on the 4t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gepida74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol by OHM Group, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are glad you liked Opatija and the Kvarner region so much.
We are proud of our imperial history, which can still be seen in whole Opatija, as well as in our Hotel Bristol.
It makes us especially glad to hear that guests are this satisfied with our facilities and service, since this is a great input to keep on going in the direction we are heading to now.

We hope to welcome you once again in our Bristol Hotel Opatija!

Kind Regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights during a tour of Croatia in March 2014. I can't speak on the pricing considering it was part of a package but it was definitely upscale. The hotel had a beautiful marble floor lobby and the staff was friendly enough. I believe the language barrier kept some of them from reaching out to guests. Our room was a typical small Euro room but the bathroom was larger than I expected. The furnishings were beautiful. One thing to note is that every other room comes with a balcony overlooking the streets. Unfortunately for us, ours was not one with a balcony. It wasn't that big of a deal for us considering it was cold & rainy our two days in Opatija but otherwise it would've been nice. I only have two complaints in regards to this hotel. 1) Our second night there was a large loud party in the lobby. Apparently it turns into a disco/dance club at night. It was extremely loud with several screaming teenagers & thumping music throughout the entire night. Something to consider if you're planning to relax & enjoy some quiet time here. 2) We were fed several meals in the dining room during our two nights. Breakfast each day (& our dinner) were buffet style which meant the staff had to appease the masses. Therefore most of the food was bland & flavorless. We were actually offered dinner our second night but we chose instead to go out into the town & purchase something. There are so many more delicious options outside the hotel. The best thing about the hotel is its proximity to everything. It sits on one of the main streets in the heart of Opatija so you're a short walk from parks, restaurants, & shops.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol by OHM Group, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review.
We are pleased you liked our hotel facilities as well as furnishing. Many guests appreciate the central location of our hotel, we are glad you did too!

Regarding the balcony, we would suggest that you always tell all of your preferences to our reservation team, they will make sure to find you the most convenient option for your holidays, considering our booking status.
In regards to the noise, there was a events going on in the house occasionally and we are sorry you experienced a louder night. We always tend to allocate our guests in the upper floors, when there are events going on, unfortunately because of the good booking this wasn’t possible during your stay.

We are sorry our dinner didn’t meet your expectations; we will take your feedback into consideration, and take necessary measures to prevent situations like this from happening again in the future.

We hope to welcome you once again and provide you with the perfect holiday during your next stay.

Kind Regards,

Loredana Perčić,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hotel Bristol is nice old renovated looking building.The stuff is very polite and helpful expecially in the resaturant.If you arrive with the car, you will be in trouble.The hotel is on the main and heavy traficc street and there is no parking and place in front of it to stop safely. So the unloading of the luggage is not pleasant.This weekend they had a wedding party in the restaurant untill 4 a.m., with loud music,which was very inappropriate for the guests who reserved and payed for the quiet and undistubed sleeping.The rooms are clean,but the beds are not very confortable for spine ,due to the concave mattresses.No swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ado677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol by OHM Group, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for the time you invested into writing us this review.

We are glad you liked our hotel building and our staff, be sure we will forward those nice words to them in order to keep them further motivated to go on with the good work.

Our hotel is centrally located, but we do have a spot in front of our hotel aimed for the check-in of our guests. After the check –in is done we suggest our guests where it would be best to park their cars, and try to make this process as convenient as possible for our guests.

We apologize for the inconvenience you faced during you stay because of the wedding, we always notify our guests when there is a wedding going on in our hotel, and try to move them to upper floors whenever this is possible, to provide a peaceful rest. We are sorry this event disturbed you during your stay.

In our hotel we have a SPA & Beauty area which consists of a whirlpool, saunas, fitness and wide offers of massages and beauty treatments. Our sister hotel Opatija possesses a pool, which is 5 min away from our Hotel Bristol. So in case you would like to enjoy a pool at your next stay feel free to ask our reception staff for it.

We hope to welcome you once again in our hotel and provide you with the perfect holiday.


Kind Regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Hotel Bristol is very charming and full of old world elegance. The front desk staff was polite and helpful even though some had difficulties communicating in English. There's an additional convenience of having a bank on the same block with an external ATM. Breakfast was delicious and the food was quite unique but the staff was a little too assertive in terms of seating their guests. Guests should be allowed to choose their table. If you enjoy fish and seafood, this is definitely for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol by OHM Group, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review.

We are proud of the imperial flair of our hotel which reaches from the Habsburg Monarchy era, and we are glad you liked it too!
Our staff is our biggest capital, and we are happy to have such a team that works with full dedication. We also constantly work on additional education of our staff, so we will surely take your feedback into consideration while creating workshops for them.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you once again in our Bristol Hotel Opatija!

Kind Regards,

Loredsana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My friend and I stayed here in April as part of a tour. Our room provided a partial-water view, which pleasantly surprised us. The café near the lobby was very inviting. We only stayed two days, but used our balcony the second night to enjoy some local wine and cheese. The location was great, we could walk to ATMs and a supermarket, and restaurants. The room itself was standard, clean, not large but ok. We enjoyed our brief stay very much.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank demiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol by OHM Group, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for this nice review!
We like to surprise our guests whenever we have the chance to. A lot of our guests enjoy the ambient of our Café Palme, and the patisserie of our house. The location of our Hotel Bristol surely is convenient, since it is centrally located, but yet near the sea and the historical Park Angiolina, we are glad you liked it!

We hope to welcome you once again in our hotel!

Kind Regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed 2 nights as part of a tour. I get the basis for some of the good reviews, including those in guide books. It's a beautiful building with clean rooms in a picturesque town. But the rooms were opressively hot for sleeping, even with the (unscreend) window open. That just added street noise to the heat. I asked for a fan, but there were none. The rooms are very small with no possibility for any other ventilation. So you just have to suffer. The front desk also lied about the reason for the lack of A/C. The food quality was also very poor. Hard rice, disgusting and unidentifiable (alleged) salmon, canned fruit at dinner. To add insult to injury, they refused all requests for free tap water. Breakfast brought stale cereal, watered-down juice and other disappointments. After taking pictures of the beautiful building, I couldn't wait to leave. Just an awful experience.

Room Tip: Get one with functioning climate control in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laborman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol by OHM Group, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for the time you invested into writing us this feedback.
We take every feedback very serious, and use it for the improvement of our offer and services.

We are glad you liked the hotel and the town Opatija overall.
We are sorry because the A/C situation made your stay inconvenient. Unfortunately, during the period of your stay we had a lot of cold days that month in Opatija, and our air condition can be put either in the heating or cooling mode. Because of the cold days it was still on heating.

Regarding the food in our hotel, we are sorry you didn’t like it, since it is usually high recommended by our guests. We will surely investigate the quality of our food offered, to see how it came to this situation and take necessary measures to prevent this from happening again.

We hope we can welcome you once again in our hotel to improve your first impressions of it and provide you with the perfect holiday.

Kind Regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Grand Hotel Adriatic
#9 of 31 in Opatija
612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#3 of 31 in Opatija
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Opatija
Hotel Opatija
#29 of 31 in Opatija
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol by OHM Group? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol by OHM Group

Property: Hotel Bristol by OHM Group
Address: Marsala Tita 108, Opatija 51410, Croatia (Formerly Hotel Bristol)
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Opatija
#9 Spa Hotel in Opatija
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
#15 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol by OHM Group 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superbly situated residence is located in the heart of Opatija, opposite the Summer Theatre, along the sprawling emerald-blue Adriatic Sea. Our beautiful 4* Hotel Bristol offers panoramic views and breathtaking beauty combined with elegantly styled modern rooms to make your stay a relaxing, comfortable and unforgettable experience. The tranquil Mediterranean coastline is fringed by elegant palm trees and sumptuous gardens, where exotic, native species of plants provide colorful highlights, ideal for your long romantic strolls along the coast. The luxurious 4* Hotel Bristol was built in 1906 with 78 guest rooms, lovingly and regularly modernized ever since, specially designed to provide you with maximum comfort and make you feel like you have discovered a home away from home. Professional and personalized service, combined with the comforts of a hotel, furnished with taste and sensitivity allows you to immerse yourself in the spirit of the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy, in a combination with a modern international lifestyle. A magical world of rejuvenation and relaxation is awaiting you at the Hotel Bristol Spa & Beauty center. From the moment you wake up in your room and step out onto your balcony to breathe the fresh, healthy sea air, to when you enter our Spa & Beauty center in your plush bathrobe: You will constantly be able to contemplate, relax, and rediscover your sense of inner harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bristol by OHM Group reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing