We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Excellent!We arrived in the evening looking for a place to stay. Friendly stuff and nice looking entry area made the decision easy. Surprised buy an ever nicer room on the top floor we enjoyed one night in this hotel. Breakfast was great and the price pretty ok.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aivars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your stay in Astoria Designhotel Opatija. We are more than glad that we’ve managed to meet all your expectations. Our staff is our asset and therefore we always strive to have a high professional team that takes care of each guest following our high standards.

We are happy that you enjoyed your time in our hotel and therefore we hope to welcome you once again in our hotel, perhaps for a few days longer so you could enjoy our services more.

Kind regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    102
    34
    14
    11
See reviews for
32
142
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Don't be misled by the 'Design Hotel' appellation. This is not some trendy, chic new hotel but a refurbished 19th century building, as indeed most of the hotels in Opatija are. That fact established, the Astoria is a nice little hotel. I felt our room was a bit cramped but it was clean and comfortable. There were a lack of electrical sockets for recharging all those cameras, phones, toothbrushes etc., but I find that to be an issue in many hotels. The staff here are competent, helpful and friendly, and most spoke English well. The buffet breakfast was good with plenty of choice and the one evening meal we had here was reasonable too, although the choice was limited and you serve yourself from a buffet which may not be to everyone's taste.
A couple of points worth noting: There is no parking at the hotel if you've brought your car. There is a garage close by where you can park at a reduced rate but it's still 90 kuna per day which can add up if you're on a budget. Also, Opatija is a long, narrow-shaped town that straggles along the coastline and the Astoria is sited towards one end. This makes for a rather quieter and less crowded location, but the evening walk to that favourite restaurant can be quite a long one.
Good hotel though. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Astoria Designhotel Opatija, we appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative as this enables us to find areas for improvement. Regarding the parking, unfortunately we have limited parking space, but can direct our guests in nearby garage with guarded parking spot for the same amount as in ours.
We are glad that you enjoyed breakfast in our hotel as we put a lot of effort in choosing proper groceries and in have a wide range of food choice. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for positive comments about our staff.

We hope we will be able to welcome you again in our Astoria Designhotel Opatija!


Kind regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in the evening looking for a place to stay. Friendly stuff and nice looking entry area made the decision easy. Surprised buy an ever nicer room on the top floor we enjoyed one night in this hotel. Breakfast was great and the price pretty ok.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your stay in Astoria Designhotel Opatija. We are more than glad that we’ve managed to meet all your expectations. Our staff is our asset and therefore we always strive to have a high professional team that takes care of each guest following our high standards.

We are happy that you enjoyed your time in our hotel and therefore we would like to welcome you once again in our hotel, perhaps for a few days longer so you could enjoy our services more.

Best regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had a miniscule room. I had to put my suitcase on the toilet or obstruct the door. The fire marshals in the US would never allow this room. The bathtub is too high for me to lift my leg to get into it. Access to the bathtub partially blocked by a large piece of glass. It was not safe. Breakfast was good. The location was good.
There is only one employee to check in guests, answer the phone and manage the bar. Often no one answered the phone.

Room Tip: avoid room 301.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gursikhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review and your constructive comments. We are sorry that our room did not meet your expectations. All our rooms are structured according to Croatian standards. We would always advise, if you have some concerns about the rooms to present all of your preferences to our reservation department while booking your stay. They will recommend you a room which will fulfill your expectations. Our Suites which are situated on the top floor with a panorama terrace overlooking the whole Kvarner with breath taking view, are always an excellent choice.

Once again we would like to thank you for choosing the Astoria Designhotel Opatija, and we hope to welcome you again next time you visit Opatija!

Best regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were there last week and loved everything about this little hotel. Awesome service and really nice hotel. Fantastic views to the Adriatic sea from our balcony. Great breakfast! The staff at the front desk were so helpful and accomodating. Can definitely recommend to everyone and hopefully we will go back someday!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and sending us your review.
It is a pleasure to know that you were satisfied with our hotels services and had a pleasant stay in Astoria Designhotel Opatija. A positive feedback is always a key motivation for us to constantly improve our services.

We would gladly welcome you again in Our Astoria Designhotel Opatija for your next visit of Opatija Riviera.

Best regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Very quite place to live, but really close to the center! Good view to the riviera ! Nice staff. Even once we couldn't find the parking , the guy from the reception let us park up to the hotel. Nice evening lounge music in the restaurant, cheep price for good dinner! Breakfast is no comment , I even couldn't eat for the lunch because I was full . One minus is those 'Indian s ' who were singing their stupid monotone music in the center of Opatija, asking for money. Very clean everywhere in hotel! But while booking ask for the upper floor , in this way you will see the Adriatic Sea . Enjoy your trip!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eugene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for investing your time for writing this review. We are pleased to hear we did not fall short of expectations and offered your required services on cleanliness, convenient location and affordable prices. We are also happy that our staff was able to help you and provide you with a useful informations in a proffesional way.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in our Astoria Desighnhotel Opatija.

Best regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria oregon
Level 6 Contributor
1,707 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 726 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

As one with roots from Astoria Oregon all Astorias perk an interest in me. From the Waldorf in New York to this in Croatia and this one does not disappoint. The views in rooms in front are stunning as are those in the lobby,
Bountiful breakfast is included.
Do stay.
Reccommend? Yes!
Return? Yes.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for this great review.
We are pleased you were so satisfied with our hotel. It is a pleasure to know that our guests leave us this satisfied, since with every satisfied guest we are one step closer in achieving our vision- to provide every single guest with the perfect holiday!

We hope to welcome you once again in our Astoria Designhotel Opatija.

Kind Regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
0.9 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol by OHM Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Grand Hotel Adriatic
#10 of 31 in Opatija
613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#3 of 31 in Opatija
475 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#5 of 31 in Opatija
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria by OHM Group? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria by OHM Group

Property: Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
Address: Marshala Tita 174, Opatija 51410, Croatia (Formerly Astoria Design Hotel)
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Opatija
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
#19 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria by OHM Group 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat into a world of understated design and elegance, where you'll find your personal private oasis within each of the 49 guestrooms and suites at the 4* Hotel Astoria. Upon entering this unique hotel in Opatija, you will immediately sense its unique, mystical and diverse atmosphere. Each detail has been passionately chosen and each room is worthy of a visit in its own right. Our most important desire is to make you feel comfortable and relaxed, just like at home. As one of the best hotels in Opatija, Hotel Astoria provides a wide range of services guaranteed to satisfy the needs of business and leisure guests. Whether as a place to stay, dine, entertain, or relax: Hotel Astoria is a lifestyle destination in its own right. Hotel Astoria is located near the heart of the city of Opatija, where you are never far from great shopping, as well as the architectural and cultural gems of the city. Hotel Astoria is all about you, providing a fantastic and comfortable environment that will satisfy your every desire, and make you want to come back over and over again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Astoria by OHM Group reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing