We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“opatija”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
“opatija”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

One of the best hollidays we have ejoyed in recent times.Staff was great.Location is good out of the congestion area.Food you just couldn't fault it.First oportunaty we are going back for moore.
Wstayed on the sea side of the hotel and had a full lookout to the water

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonida I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    237
    161
    66
    21
See reviews for
97
290
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

About 10 min walk to central Opatija is the Grand Hotel, pretty much the only hotel with 2 rooms available, most places were fully booked. As part of the Casino we expected pretty good service here which was hard to find. No one to take our luggage, Restaurant closed early, Nowhere to get Ice or Food late at night. We stayed on Level 5, which we had to drag our luggage up some stairs, followed by a tiny lift that can fit 3 people with luggage.

Rooms were tiny, 2 small beds, felt like a cheap motel, small 34cm TV, no Ice, no cold fridge, beds weren't comfortable. Was $120 EU per room, would'n't stay here again

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaneSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Opatija hotels

East coast
Level Contributor
234 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Grand Hotel Adriatic. We didn't spend a lot of time there, as we were doing daily tours of the area.

Our room (120) was a handicap room, as the hotel was fully booked. This meant we had a 1/2 height shower, which opened for wheelchair access, and leaked a lot. There was an SOS cord in the bathroom, and a sliding door to the bathroom.

The room had a sheet and a bedspread, but the bedspread barely covered the bed. There was a combination safe in the room, and the wifi worked well for us. Others said the wifi was spotty. The view was of a garden and the parking lot at the back of the hotel.

Others in our group reported that the single rooms were very small. And 2 people in our group lucked out and got a suite (room 608), which had 3 balconies and a nice view of the sea.

There were 3 small elevators in the new section of the hotel, and they could get badly backed up at check-in / check-out time. Luckily, we could use the stairs to get to our room. And we could get to the dining room without going up and down stairs, by using the door into the dining room at the end of our hall.

There were 2 computer terminals for use, to the left of the front desk. The patio bar was a bit strange to get to, as you either had to go out of the hotel and walk up steps to get to it, or you had to go down a long hall towards the casino to reach it via a door at the end of the hall. The staff at the patio bar were friendly, but not outgoing.

There was swimming in the sea if you crossed the road and went down some steep steps. People who did that reported the service was good there, but beware that the swimming is in deep water only, so you need to know how to swim. I don't think pool towels were provided, but I could be wrong about this. The pool on the 8th floor was small but acceptable.

The casino was very dead when we visited it. You needed an ID card to get in, and they only used Euros. They had American style roulette tables (zero and double zero).

Speaking of Euros, Croatia had just joined the EU when we got there, and they still used Kuna as their money. If you change actual dollars at the [Zagreb] airport for Kuna, be aware that if there is any writing or marks on any bill (or a rip or tear), that bill will be rejected for exchange. Very weird and unexpected!

The restaurant was nice and had a good selection. We were a group and were sitting in the group section, but we could go out to the main dining area and get more choices of food out there (at dinner time). We had to pay for our drinks (even water), and we found the man who served these drinks to be rude. There was no assigned seating at breakfast. Coffee came from 2 single-cup machines. The toaster was a belt type toaster.

One final point of interest -- there was a sign for the toilet in the main hall from the lobby to the elevators, which had it spelled "Toillet" , while the sign closer to the actual room had it spelled correctly.

Not sure if we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedo-goer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in July. Had a newish room on 5th floor. Great view from balcony. Air con was efficient, bathroom had all I needed and the TV worked perfectly.
Hotel reception staff were very helpful, spoke good english and seemed happy to help.
Hotel is at top of hill about a mile from the town centre with a very steep drive. The path to the seafront is very steep with lots of steps.
Food was very ordinary but plentiful. I would stay here again if the price was right, say £60 per night.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room at front of hotel with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericsplastercast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevlievo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We reserved 2 nights at Grand hotel Adriatic due to the 4 stars and the high rating of the hotel in other sites. What we found there was truly disappointing. This is the first place I've been where we found the bin full of rubbish and the floor full of hair. Nobody did vacuum cleaning. We complained and they did a slight cleaning. No parking space available. Totally disappointing place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lidddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilanMirjanic, General Manager at Grand Hotel Adriatic, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your note about the issue you have incurred during your stay. First of all, let us apologise if we haven’t completely met your expectations. We are very sorry that you were assigned a not yet cleaned room in the first place. This kind of situations should never happen in a hotel, however apparently it happened in your case, which is of course our full responsibility. We regret this mistake, but would like to emphasize that cleanliness is in general recognised as one of the strengths of our hotel, for which the majority of our guests recommend us.

Dear Guest, regardless of the misunderstandings, which are of course our responsibility, we have really appreciated your feedback and we are inviting you to visit us again.

Sincerely yours,

Grand Hotel Adriatic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

First off-If you have difficulty walking this hotel is not for you. It sits on a hill with a fairly steep driveway. You have to take 2 sets of steps to get to the water and it is pretty far removed from the town center. Front desk staff ok but get an interpreter for the finer points of English (like not shutting your a/c off at 2 am!) Also, for some
strange reason the bath tubs are set really high and are deep-if you have trouble with this request a room with a shower. I don't know if it's me but if a hotel bills itself as 4 stars I don't expect to hear the words "no" or "I can't" but this seems to be the norm. Other than that the rooms were ok-they still have smoking rooms so be sure to get the one you want-we were given a smoking room at first but had it changed to n/s again after hearing "no" first. Food in the restaurant and the beach bar both very good.

Room Tip: As always, get 2 room keys-1 for the door and 1 to keep the a/c on. Elevators are small (which seems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marmar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family and I just returned from a 10-day vacation along the Adriatic Coast booked as part of a broader group tour. The Grand Hotel Adriatic was our second hotel stay and by far the least impressive.

First, as many other reviewers have stated, this hotel lacks convenience to central Opatija and its many amenities. If you plan to enjoy town, plan to walk alot ... along very crowded streets, without sidewalks in some areas and without lighting in most. For families, this is not ideal but manageable.

Second, our hotel rooms were in the older section of this hotel and the decor was 20+ years terribly outdated. In general, the dark woodwork, blue carpeting and jewel-tone fabrics reminded us of a 1980's cruise ship. Also, we booked two (same) rooms and they were substantially different in size and view. (One room was 2x larger than the other with sofa seating, while the other had limited space between the bed and the wall to walk; one room had a partial sea view and the second had a parking lot entrance view). However, the bathrooms were clean and looked recently retiled.

Other disappointments: decor and lack of seating in lobby entrance, elevator delays due to insufficient "capacity" for guests and luggage, rudeness of beverage staff in dining room, lack of pool at seaside (which many other hotels provide in Opatija). Also, casino "appears" to cater to those who visit for card tournaments, leaving the rest of the guests to fend for themselves at times.

Positives: Recently refurbished (or so it appears) indoor pool with sea view; free wi-fi in guest rooms; buffet breakfast was average and provided a good start to the day.

Overall, I would not stay at this hotel again upon our next visit to Croatia.

Room Tip: Be warned: If you are traveling as a "single", you may be assigned an EXTREMELY small roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VABeerLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilanMirjanic, General Manager at Grand Hotel Adriatic, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your opinion of your stay at our hotel. First of all, let us apologise if we haven’t completely met your expectations during the stay. We are always fully committed to fulfil our guests’ needs and desires. However, sometimes it might happen that a guest wasn’t informed well about what a hotel’s different offers or packages include. We believe it might have been your case, since you are complaining about the rooms quality in the older section of the hotel where you stayed. As you have correctly noticed, our hotel encompasses two buildings, one recently renewed, with larger rooms and categorised 4 stars, and the smaller one, with more basic rooms, categorised with 3 stars. As a matter of fact, in all our communications (e.g. marketing campaigns, online offers and packages, direct communication with guests on the spot) we clearly emphasize the different level of rooms’ quality, which is absolutely coherent with a different price level charged for the rooms in the two buildings. Our prices are formed in order to meet the needs of different guests, which are willing to spend different amounts for their hotel room. Some guests want a 4 star room and are willing to pay for it. On the other hand, some are looking for a more competitive price option, where they can have a 4 star level service (e.g. breakfast, SPA, etc.) with a 3 star level room. Moreover, we propose different prices for rooms with our fantastic sea view (80% of all rooms) and those facing the park or back side. We believe that in your case our staff misunderstood which room type (4* or 3*, sea view or not) you would have liked to stay in. Please, accept our apologies for that, we sincerely regret this mistake.
In regards to your comment that the hotel lacks convenience to central Opatija, we believe it is a matter of subjective judgment. As a matter of fact, Opatija is a very small town. It takes approximately a 20 to 25 minutes walk from one side of the town to the other. As you can notice by some other guests’ reviews, many regard the position of our hotel as ideal, due to the peaceful and quiet location, which is still only a 10 minutes walk away from the very city centre.
Dear Guest, regardless of the misunderstandings, which are of course our responsibility, we have really appreciated your feedback and we are inviting you to visit us again.

Sincerely yours,

Grand Hotel Adriatic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
1.1 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bristol by OHM Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#5 of 31 in Opatija
241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#3 of 31 in Opatija
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Adriatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Adriatic

Property: Grand Hotel Adriatic
Address: Marshala Tita 200, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Opatija
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
#9 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Adriatic 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Adriatic is located close to Opatija's town centre, above the coastal walking path Lungomare. The elegant rooms feature air conditioning. Free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the property. The Restaurant Nimfa serves international specialities as well as typical coastal and other regional Croatian dishes. In the summertime, guests have the hotel's stone beach at their disposal. The Beach Garden Restaurant serves a rich offer of food and drinks. Boasting unique views of Kvarner Bay, the wellness and beauty centre at the Adriatic is located on the topmost 8th floor, featuring a terrace. Guests can explore the nearby Ucka Mountain, Istria, the numerous islands and the mountainous Gorski Kotar region. Rijeka Airport is 40 km away and is connected to the hotel by a direct bus line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Adriatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing