We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but can be improved.”
Review of Hotel W.A. Mozart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel W.A. Mozart
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Good location in center of Opatija, great staff, 5* room, max. 3* bathroom (very old towels, not very clean toilet, also the exterior of the bathtub, the ceramic more exactly you can easily see it was long time ago cleaned), breakfast can be improved. Yet, I would go back at Mozart in case I will visit Opatija again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana_Virlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Hotel W.A. Mozart
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 148 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

The room is average. For me 3star hotel. I had to wait 10 minutes for warm water. The only good thing is breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnjurac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here for six nights in May and we enjoyed it greatly. The hotel is in the centre of Opatija. The staff are very helpful and efficient. Breakfast was very good - options like freshly made pancakes and omelettes lifted it above the crowd. We ate in the hotel on one evening, and the meal was quite good, but there are better options in restaurants nearby, if only because very few people seem to have evening meals in the hotel, so you may find yourself on your own. They seem to have dropped the "red rose for the lady" idea which has caused such a lot of grief to other reviewers on this website. In my opinion that's a gimmick which can go wrong so easily, so I applaud the hotel for just concentrating on good service and helpfulness.
The hotel has "character", which is great - but it does mean sound proofing between rooms is not good, and there is some creakiness to various items of furniture. Luckily the hotel does not attract football hooligans, but if there were noisy guests you would soon know about it.
Rooms at the front have balconies and sea views and are much more expensive than rooms at the back. However the rooms at the back are quieter.
Wifi was free on all floors.
The hotel was good value using pre-paid vouchers, but would be very pricey if you didn't book in advance. The hotel does have offers and it would be worth seeking those out.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are cheaper and quieter, but don't have a sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CFC1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This hotel had (and still has) an offer (package) for a romantic weekend, including staying for 2 nights, breakfast in bed, chocolate masage and manicure for her and aromamasage and pedicure for him, additional suprise gift for her, a romantic candle light dinner. It was a bit more pricey than other hotels, but I selected this offer because it seemed like a really nice and thoughtfull all-around-idea and gift for my parents wedding anniversary.
First I got to point put the good sides to this place. The rooms are very clean and very nicely furnished. Breakfast in bed was awesome. The staff is mainly very friendly but...and here we go. The staff is not trained at all, not nearly good enough for a five-star-hotel. The massages were a desaster (a very quick one for my mum and a rather painfull one for my dad), the girl working in the spa refused to do a proper pedicure since she "didnt have the time for that" (even my mum offered her additional pay and there actually were not any other customers waiting except my dad!!).
The romantic dinner was so bad that for the first time of their lifes, my parents returned their meals (originaly there was a choice between meat and fish but when they arrived at the reastaurant they were told there was no more fish. So they had something that was inbeetwen cooked and grilled meat with masses of potatoes and some odd gravy. They complained and it turned out the cook had nothing else to offer since all other food is deep frozen and it would take awhile until its melt down. They were told the cook was crying and they felt sorry for her since it can't be really all her fault-the management's responsability is to provide maybe a better cook or more assistants and surely more fresh indigrients for meals). Btw this candle light dinner was noth even "candle light" cause the staff could not find one single candle in the whole hotel.
The suprise gift for my mum turned out to be NOTHING. It was supposed to be a fresh rose (nota bene: the hotel is decorated with fake flowers and actually has in APRIL some Christmass decorations showing. More disturbingly, those decorations were hanged over areas where food is served and they seemed full of dust). The lady at the desk did apologize for the non-existant rose but did not bother to actually fetch it.
The spa area is rather small and lacking in staff (for example, to show you where the towels are, to maybe offer you some refreshments etc.). The japanese bath the hotel is praising on its website turns out to be a standard hot tub. Or, who knows, maybe not? Noone of the staff bothered to explain or recommend anything.
My parents complained officialy and left a letter for the manager. The lady at the reception desk was honestly embarrased because she understood that in no way my parents got what they have expected and were promised. So at least she was fair enough not to charge them with parking.
She also told them that they got big changes in management these days and that was why the situation is so erratic. The reality of it is that this place is actually a very nice hotel that actually has almost everything to be a perfect hotel. Only it does not have trained staff and good organisation, but once when this changes, it could be really great.
And now why I think this place does have a promising future. Only a few minutes ago my parents got a phone call from the magaer of the hotel, admitting all the faults and sincerely apologising for them and offering the same package for free-only the next time, all the mistakes will be rectified and they will actually get what was expected the first time around. I think this is a really good sign and i believe the next review will be very praising! Its potential surely is to be excellent and outstanding rather that just average.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeilahZagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel in 3 different years. Everytime was a great experience. The location of the hotel it's perfect, on the main street and the sea it's just on the other side of the road.. The room was big & clean and the bathroom the same. In the morning every woman in the restaurant received a beautiful red rose. The breakfast was rich in variaties of food. The hotel staff was very kind and helpful. The car was in safe place in the hotel's private parking. It's my first choice everytime I go in Opatija.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadalinaSarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I was on a business trip in the river, and the reason why I stayed in the Hotel Mozart in Opatija, because I've got Mozart at the same price as you would in Rijeka got a hotel with three or four stars. The hotel is nicely renovated building from the early 20th century, the hotel is decorated in the style of the early twentieth century, the hotel is stylish. But I have expectations of more than five-star hotel! I was placed in a double room and I can say that the room size was just right for two people, so I can not say that it was something particularly spacious. All night occasionally lit ventilation and it's a little disturbed my sleep, the beds are optimal hard / soft. The bathroom was clean but without style. Breakfast I was too easy somehow at the hotel with three stars, I think that it is not enough to offer a bit of caviar and salmon to justify five stars. Hotel I booked through Agoda and published on the website price was € 71 which was the best among similar sites (Booking, Venere) the only thing I was unpleasantly surprised that I am in the process of shopping had to pay city taxes and Agoda we collected 7 euros, Although i know that city tax is 7 HRK (€ 0.95) and so the outskirts Agoda price equalized with other sites (Booking, Venere). Opatija is a beautiful town home with a touch of luxury, it reminds me of the Monte Carlo. Especially it was nice to visit in the spring and would recommend it to people who want to feel a mild Mediterranean climate. The beach is located just outside the hotel, the beach is concrete. 5-6 km further there are beautiful beaches in Medveja and Moščnička Draga.Opatija has a beautiful promenade and many people enjoy walking along the sea.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarioXP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

My company hired the whole hotel for important business venue. Everything worked well and the host and its staff were competent and timely in providing all of the technical solutions to the meeting. We spent three nights in the hotel, and had meals arranged as well. Hospitality was great and my opinion is also shared by more then 30 participants in the venue.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rakovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sveti Jakov
Hotel Sveti Jakov
#12 of 31 in Opatija
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#3 of 31 in Opatija
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Kvarner - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galeb
Hotel Galeb
#21 of 31 in Opatija
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 31 in Opatija
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Remisens Hotel Palace Bellevue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel W.A. Mozart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel W.A. Mozart

Address: Marshala Tita 138, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
Price Range: $125 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel W.A. Mozart 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mozart 5 * With its position in the city centre, just a few steps from the beach and the city's famous promenade, Mozart, the first 5 * hotel in the region, will satisfy the expectations of the most demanding guests. Mozart is synonymous of a sincere and warm welcome, a place where many people who appreciates the romantic atmosphere and high quality service would like to stay. This beautiful boutique hotel, built in 1894, wrote the history of tourism town from its very beginnings. The building which is now the hotel is a cultural monument. This unique building, inspired by the secession, hosted the cream of past times. Mozart also cherishes these high standards in these modern times. This hotel offers the most modern wellness treatments and cosmetic studio, and also has available lavish Residential suite, 26 luxury rooms and 2 Junior suites with balconies and breathtaking panoramic views over the bay. In rooms equipped with LCD televisions, wireless internet and all the other benefits of modern technology, restaurant with its famous cuisine, intimate garden terrace and excellent service you will have the feeling that all your dreams become reality without the help of a magic wand. Hotel Mozart is all the best of the past with the latest achievement of modern times, and it is intended solely for your pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel W.A. Mozart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel w a Mozart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing