We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine and comfortable hotel, delicious breakfast, very kind personal - top!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Remisens Hotel Kristal
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Opatija
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Kristal located right in the center of Opatija was perfect for our stay. We can highly recommend it! The rooms are nice, all the staff is very kind and the food (we only had breakfast) is delicious!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Walter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 217 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Hotel kristal is a very nice hotel located just outside the centre of Opatia. They have great food, lots to choose from and the hotel staff is very friendly. Our room was nice and spacy with view on the sea. The only downside is parking; they have their own small parking space but other than that it is very hard to park around here even now when it is not even the season down here yet.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank JyTy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Located on a cliff by the seashore, in a short walk of downtown. Very friendly staff. Good internet access, with wifi in all hotel. The room is clean and confortable, but it is small. No free parking, not easy to park in all Opatjia. Reasonable breakfast. Somehow old hotel, it needs some renovation, but a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robertoleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked a "Superior room" and it seems that gets you a sea view. Our double room was nice and big with views across to the islands. We booked bed and breakfast but it turned out that the buffet dinner each evening was included. Staff all seem to speak English, Italian, German and Croatian. Very impressive! Enjoyed the happy hour in the bar - cheapest cocktails I ever had. Buffet dinners were good, lots of variety and very good wine waiters. The hotel "beach" is more like a concrete harbourside. OK for sunbeds but no sand or even stones. Sea was COLD in September! This hotel is about half way along the 12 km promenade that follows the coast in Opatija. We walked it one way one morning then the other way next day. Oh, and they do charge for car parking - 10 Euros a night.

Room Tip: Go for superior room and get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for the 4 nights whilst in Opatija. I would say it was nice enough although the interior could do with updating.
It was spacious enough for my partner and I although the first room we had was pretty small and over-looked the street, it was probably better suited to a single person. It also adopted an unpleasant smell in the bathroom, we mentioned this without requesting to be moved as it had gotten better after a few hours and the receptionist called us when we came back to our room several hours later to advise they had another room if we would like to look at it and may be take it if we were happy. As it turned out the new one was much larger and had a sea view.
The bathroom was nice and had a decent shower.
The air conditioning whilst wasn't an issue for us may bother some as it didn't appear be able to go very cold, so hotter summer months may prove uncomfortable and can be a little noisy but I suppose it depends on how deeply you sleep.
The food served at breakfast was the usual fare; bread, cold meats, cheese etc but also had cereal and fruit which was nice to have on the pleasant outside eating area over looking the sea.
Wi-fi in the rooms was hit-and-miss. Constantly dropping and proved quite frustrating at times but the reception area was fine if you're happy to sit there for a bit.
Overall I'd say it was decent enough, not ground breaking but was reasonably comfortable for a few nights and not too expensive. If you hire a car though you'll have difficulty parking

Room Tip: As for a sea view if they have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_A81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Kristal hotel is located in the center of Opatija, near the sea. I got a room for one person and I can say that it is very small. There little old television with a poor image, air conditioning was so loud that it is almost not usable. The whole hotel does not deserve four stars for a maximum of three stars. The hotel is clean but should be renovated. Breakfast is not bad but it was all on the level of the hotel with three stars. The hotel is inexpensive compared with other four-star hotel in Opatija, but is significantly wors.

If this review help you choose or do not choose this hotel please leave a helpful vote.

Room Tip: Take see side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarioXP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Went here first on a 2 centre package - a week was about ideal for us here. Upgrading to a sea view on a package is expensive. it's a clean hotel in an excellent position. we originally intended to hire a car for the fortnight but parking in Opatija is crazy, as are the hotel charges for it. We got by well without a car for a week. Our room was fine, a nice size, but none have balconies. It looks like they reworked the hotel to include balconies within the room as the internal design was odd. The air con was noisy, but essential. There's wifi. Staff were ok & cleaning staff friendly. We breakfasted and ate our evening meal on the patio as it was coolest. You could always get a seat for breakfast there but had to go earlyish to get a table in the evening. Food was typical for this type of hotel and average to poor. Typical breakfast fare with powder base juice, cereals, limited fruit, breads meats & cheeses, cakes & pastries and of course hot food if you dared. Evening meal had 2 soups(1 clear[dishwater?]), salad bits, breads, choice of various hot meals, some fruit, cakes and 2 ice creams. Lots of fishy dishes and rice. Hot meals varied, the rest didn't. The house wine was fine. Service was variable to slow. We tended to go early as what was there tended to stay there all night. Cant understand why they let guest reserve tables outside on the edge, especially as frequently they're either not used or people turn up well late. As expected in this area the sunbathing area was free padded beds on concrete. Service was good. Get there or reserve(!) early if you want a seaside spot ;-) bathing was brilliant - straight off the side into deep clear refreshing water with a nice shower when you got out. The bar by the hotel does excellent ice cream and drinks and they're very friendly. We went for lots of walks around, all nice. A boat trip is also a good idea - we went on a fish picnic to 2 local islands and it was a great day out. go west and it's quieter, cheaper and beautiful. East is through the town and very busy at times, but get through it and it becomes nicer. Nice parks around. Night time is busy. We were ready to leave after a week and glad we'd not got a car.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank johnboySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
2.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#5 of 30 in Opatija
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Remisens Hotel Admiral
Remisens Hotel Admiral
#15 of 30 in Opatija
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Remisens Hotel Palace Bellevue
0.9 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remisens Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remisens Hotel Kristal

Address: Marshala Tita 135, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
#10 Spa Hotel in Opatija
#15 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
Price Range: $75 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Remisens Hotel Kristal 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remisens Hotel Kristal (4*) Opatija is a sea lover's dream come true. Built on the banks of the Adriatic and along the Lungomare coastal promenade, the sights, scents and sounds of the crystal clear water are inescapable. The spectacular views of the Adriatic are everywhere. From the seafront rooms to the restaurant's terrace to the private beach, the beauty of the Mediterranean is never far away. Over half of Kristal's 130 rooms boast views of Kvarner Bay and its islands, an inspiring scene to wake up to each morning. The beach is furnished with new deckchairs, parasols and whirlpool and provides a wonderful escape for a sun-soaked, relaxing day. Other features such as the SPA zone and indoor pool with heated seawater push the four-star accommodation to another level of splendor. Also equipped with conference and banquet facilities and close to the center of town, it is no wonder Remisens Hotel Kristal is one of the top destinations in Opatija. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Remisens Hotel Kristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kristal Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing