We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cockroach”
Review of Hotel Opatija

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Opatija
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“cockroach”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

we booked 2 nights and we were given room 154!! dated dirty and.. worst we found cockroach ! one even in the bed!
aftet complaining at the reception we were given another room .. but we stayed only one night and we left in the morning
price for this experience was 75 euro !!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amminio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Opatija for your stay. We are very sorry for the inconvenience which occured during your vacation. Please rest assured that we are cleaning our rooms on a daily basis and are using anti-insects sprays in order to prevent situations like this. We sincerely apologize once again and hope that the other room fulfilled your expectations. We hope to be able to welcome you once more in our Hotel Opatija.

Best regards,
Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    68
    91
    56
    48
See reviews for
68
113
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I'm afraid the negative reviews here don't surprise me...I've been staying at this hotel now every year for 5 years..because I have family in nearby Rijeka who can't put me up and this is the cheapest hotel on the coast nearby. It's just a place to sleep for me so it serves its purpose but I have learnt the following key rules :
Book a seaview room if you don't want to be looking at a car park and trees at the back (doesn't bother me cos the price differential is steep but it might be worth it to you)

If you arrive by care be prepared to pay 45kn a day charges and spend a lot of time looking for somewhere to park on a 1:3 gradient

Room service of any kind does not exist and that includes portering

Breakfast is fine but keep away from the coffee

View this hotel as a budget option to sleep in while you spend all of your time waking time elsewhere.(if you want a double bed don't stay here at all)

Complaining to the front desk will produce nil results...they've heard it all before and are paid a hell of a lot less than you.

English is not spoken by the cleaners or restaurant staff...but then again how's your Croatian?
A simple Dobro Dan (good day) or huala (thankyou) will have a marked effect on service.

Follow these simple rules and your stay will be tolerable...if you want better you will have to pay quite a bit more...I recommend the Admiral if you want upmarket.

Room Tip: if you are staying in the summer air con is essential...make sure your room has it when booking...th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chaplainsRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Opatija for the fifth time and for sharing your comments with others. Your comments are very important to us. They provide us with objectives and directions towards continuous improvements. We hope to be able to welcome you in our Hotel Opatija for the sixth time as well.

Best regards,
Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
239 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Having come just the night before from a "Best Western" in Italy, to a hotel in a fairly unknown place in Croatia - we weren't exactly expecting what we found when we entered our hotel room. It was run down, cracks on the ceiling, two twins that were essentially pushed together (which defeats the purpose of having two separate twins, but this is not the hotel's fault, it's just a strange European thing), the bathroom had no window, and the ambiance of the room was dreary and grey. However, once we opened our balcony door, we discovered probably the most incredible hotel room view either of us has ever encountered. We did manage to book a sea-room view, and we both agreed this is where our dollar was spent. The room itself was not worth what we paid (which was 146 euro for 2 people/2 nights), but the view definitely was! It was a small, dirty balcony, but again, the view made up for all of that.

The hotel itself was a little spooky - very large, bigger than any hotel I've ever stayed in - and it had the sense of the "Shining" in some ways, because of how empty and ominous it was.
There was a swimming pool though, and while it looked nothing like what the pictures on their websites had - it was still rather large, and not at all bad. Again, very eastern European with its design, e.g. not terribly shiny (giving you the clean feeling, though it was), not a lot of light, and no color in the swimming pool area - almost communist in its theme.

There was no hairdryer in the room, and when I called down to the front desk to inquire if they had one he said yes. I asked if he would bring it to my room, and he said, "I'm sorry - but we don't offer that service." Indicating, that they do not come to your room for any type of service.

Parking was not free, and we had to pay a daily fee to keep our car there - not included, surprisingly enough, in the price of the room. Parking was probably the worst part of our stay there! Not only did they charge us, but there was also nowhere to park, so we had to become imaginative. It was a hassle and a half trying to park up a hill, that we could barely turn around to get out of, and actually finding the hotel parking lot was a difficulty to begin with, as the signs were not clearly marked at all.

The staff was so-so. Typical for what you would expect in eastern Europe; Friendly enough that you were spending money there, but rude enough that when we checked out they wanted nothing to do with us.

Internet was not free, that was also something that was available in the hotel lobby but you had to pay per hour - and it was not cheap.

Breakfast was included, and this was a very generous meal. They had scrambled eggs, different sausages, breads, jams, milk, cereals, fruits and some vegetables, also. They had a juice machine - and I would highly recommend this (even though it wasn't the best in the world) over the coffee, which will make one gag. It should not even be called coffee, as that is an offense to the drink.

They spoke English at the hotel, but only at the front desk. They did not speak English in the breakfast lounge, nor in the bar where you can buy drinks and cigarettes. It's "Universal sign language" all the way.

Overall it wasn't a bad stay. There were a few luxuries that us westerners are used to that weren't there, but in the scheme of things you will be hard pressed to find a hotel on any riviera with clean rooms, good food and a magnificent view as we had for less than we paid.

Even so, look around before booking here. There were a lot of other hotels nearby that seemed more modern and recently renovated more so than this one. But if you do choose this hotel, I also highly recommend that you book a sea-view room. Otherwise, the room is NOT worth the price. Be forewarned about that.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Euroerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Opatija for your stay and for taking your time to write this feedback. We are very sorry that we did not meet all of your expectations concerning room comfort. We appreciate all your constructive comments and we will take them into consideration in order to improve our service. We are sorry that you had problems finding a parking place. Although we do have a large parking area, in some rare occasions this can happen during the high season. However, it is our great pleasure to hear that our beautiful view from the room made up for all the inconveniences which occured. Thank you for your positive comments concerning breakfast and for your remark about coffee. We would be glad if you would give us a chance to welcome you once more in our Hotel Opatija.

Best regards,
Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I will never recommend this hotel to anyone. It's a horrible, old and dirty place! The price is crazy! It's too expensive! Location is ok, but it does not make you happy when you are in such place! You can rent a very nice apartment in the villa next to the hotel 2-3 times cheaper!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pavel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of our Hotel Opatija. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and that you were not satisfied with the room price during the time of your stay. We are glad that you liked our great location which is in walking distance to all the interesting sites of Opatija. For your next stay in Opatija, we would like to recommend you our two four star hotels which are also located perfectly, yet offer much higher standards. We hope to be able to welcome you once more in one of our hotels in Opatija in order to improve the image you gained during your stay.

Best regards,
Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Opatija hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We booked as a one night stopover between Trogir and Lake Garda
From the outside it looked promising
After a pleasant check-in we went to our room in the attic we thought we had been sent to a prison cell. It was dark, small and run down. It was very hot and there was no air con.
We could not stay in that room and our friends room was the same so we all went back down to reception to request other rooms.
The guy on reception explained that we had booked an economy room. We had to pay extra for a room in a newer part of the hotel.
The room was about the same size but at least we could see each other in this room. It had a balcony and air con. It was not worth the money we paid and there is no way I could recommend this hotel. The breakfast was fairly good though.

Room Tip: Do not choose an economy room unless you are a bat
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyB1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Opatija for your stay in Opatija. We would also like to thank you for your feedback since guest comments are very important for us. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet all of your expectations. We appreciate your comments concerning our room which will help us to improve the quality of our service. On the other side it is a great pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our breakfast. Dear guest, we hope to be able to welcome you once more in our Hotel Opatija.

Best regards,
Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife in Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here in July for I night as a very last minute booking due to bad weather preventing us getting to Krk Island. I can accept the hotel was tired and in need of an upgrade but the room was seriously awful. the bathroom was disgusting with a stained toilet, mildewed shower curtain and mouldy tiles. The carpets were stained and pillows were filled with cubes of foam although I have to say the bed linen was clean. Don't stay here ever. I was almost in tears.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrina10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel Opatija for your stay in Opatija. We appreciate your comments concerning our room which will help us to improve the quality of our service. We are very sorry that we did not meet all of your expectations and we would like to sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. We hope to be able to welcome you once more in order to improve and re-establish the image of our hotel Opatija.

Best regards,
Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I really have to take exception with all of the reviewers who make statements such as "this is a four-star hotel" followed by "for two-star prices." This is a very misleading comment, and it's the main reason that I booked a room in this hotel. There is NOTHING four-star about this hotel and anyone who has stayed in a four-star hotel will know this! The fact that the general manager continues her PR campaign by responding to Trip Advisor review perpetuates the impression that the management cares about its reputation. The staff is not kind. We askd them about changing rooms, and they couldn't have cared less. We resolved that we would do everything to stay out of the room for the one night that we booked it for, so we walked all over Opatija, shopped, enjoyed a wonderful seafood dinner elsewhere...and returned to some loud folk music practice going on. It reminded me of the hotel in "4 Months, 3 Weeks, 2 Days." My aunt called it "Tower of Terror." You do pay for what you get!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristine_Archi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay in our hotel Opatija. We honestly do care about our guests and take their suggestions and comments seriously, that's why we are permanently reading all guest reviews on internet platforms. That is the best way to realize what our weak points are. As a result of that, constant improvements are done in order to become better.
Nevertheless we would like to apologize that we were not able to fulfill your expectations. But just to be fair, we have never pretended to be a 4*-hotel, so we sincerely regret the misunderstanding.
Thank you once more for your feedback! We hope to be able to welcome you once more in our hotel Opatija or if you are seeking 4*-amenities we would like to suggest our sister hotels Designhotel Astoria or Hotel Bristol.
Best regards,
Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Grand Hotel Adriatic
#10 of 31 in Opatija
597 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol by OHM Group
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Smart Selection Hotel Imperial
0.2 mi away
Villa Palme
Villa Palme
#24 of 31 in Opatija
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smart Selection Hotel Istra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opatija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opatija

Property: Hotel Opatija
Address: Trg Vladimira Gortana 2/1, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Opatija 2*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Opatija, just a few steps from the Lungomare seaside promenade, this hotel offers an unforgettable stay at an excellent price/performance ratio. On the hotel terrace, one of the largest and most beautiful in Opatija, surrounded by oasis of greenery, the guest can enjoy an unforgettable combination of Mediterranean flair and refreshing delicacies. The Hotel Opatija’s sports and leisure offer includes: own tennis courts, indoor swimming pool, sauna and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Opatija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing