We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The experience of the past”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smart Selection Hotel Imperial
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The experience of the past”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Hotel exterior looks beautiful, lobby and reception area is impressive. Coming to a room is like a walk through the castle. and then shock. doors, windows, floor of the room... probably have been renovated when a Hungarian poet Lorinc Szabo was at hotel in 1934. Entering the toilet is refreshing - renovated sometime in 1950. Advice: never close the toolet door if you are alone in the room because the door handles can remain in your hand and then you have a problem. Toilet is a disaster. In the room there is only one electrical outlet, so you need to make a schedule for charging cell phones, notped, laptop. The hotel staff is very pleasant and helpful. Finally, the hotel requires renovation of rooms and then it would be a great hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sostric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    56
    59
    20
    10
See reviews for
32
63
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed 4 nights with my wife at Hotel Imperial in Opatija, Croatia, and I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The entrance and the dining room are pompous, with red carpet treatment. The fact that this place was a palace before can easily be seen especially in the ground floor - high ceilings, wide corridors, extravagant curtains, big dining room ( or should I say hall?). Breakfast and dinner were very good and drinks (beer, wine or soft drinks ) at dinner were free. Up to now you feel you are in a 5* hotel. Then you go to the room and suddenly your feelings change. Old furniture, outdated bathroom with high bath and overhead cistern, plastic shower curtain which clings to your wet body, jammed window, water pipes passing vertically in room which wake you up when water is passing through them and lack of power points. This is indeed a pity as the hotel has a superb location just a minute away from Opatija front and the sea. I would like to go back but not in these type of rooms.

Room Tip: ask to see the room before confirming check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We've got a room with a huge balcony and sea-view. The hotel is from the era of emperor Franz Joseph, who himself stayed in the hotel as well. The rooms might need some revamp, although with cleanliness there's no issue. The dinner and breakfast buffet has a great selection and quality is alright as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoltan_gy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We went there for a week to spend in total relax, and this hotel, with its perfect position in front of the sea, and its buffet (gorgeous) was just what we needed. It offers a "gold dining room", with whom ceiling I fell instantly in love, and the architecture of the hotel comes along with that of the rest of the city. Our room was quite big, with high ceiling and nice old-fashioned furniture, the bathroom was the only thing that was out of tune: small, no bidet, tiny shower (inside the tiny little bath hub)... Oh and... no A/C!
Only some people of the personal could speak Italian, but they all speak English, so we had no difficulty!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88Gin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Hotel Imperial in Opatija Croatia. I had a single room, although the Hotel needs upgrading and refurbishment, it is located in a superb location, I was on the fourth floor and had a lovely view of the Adriatic see. Food is delicious and abundant and the staff is very helpful.
.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looking_around1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erp, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Historical and romantic room including balcony.
No airco available, but with open windows this is not required.

Very extensive breakfast and diner in nice dining room.

Helpful staff.

Private parking available.

Perfect location with seaview.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyW100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Opatija is really nice city and Hotel fits with architecture and has good central location. When you enter all looks very well, until you arrive in front of the old door of the room and enter....Room is spacy, with very high ceiling, big bathroom, no air condition. Furniture used to be nice, now is just old. It's nice that represents spirit of period when hotel was built but bit of renovation wouldn't spoil anything. Double bed was made of 2 single beds that were splitting....Also, don't look under, was dusty. The rest seemed clean. Price we paid was ok at the end for half-board because the food was really good. Everyone in the hotel were helpful.
Problem can be parking. Hotel parking cost about 10 e/day, next to the hotel there is also public parking that cost the same if you don't move car all the day but if you use them is better (from 21-7 is free) and after 22h is not problem to find place there. Also, 100 m more up the street there is on public parking that was free of charge, just behind the Imperial hotel but don't mix it with parking of Bristol Hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sindelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.6 mi away
Smart Selection Hotel Istra
0.2 mi away
Hotel Opatija
Hotel Opatija
#28 of 31 in Opatija
3.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Remisens Hotel Kristal
Remisens Hotel Kristal
#16 of 31 in Opatija
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol by OHM Group
0.2 mi away
Villa Palme
Villa Palme
#24 of 31 in Opatija
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Remisens Hotel Palace Bellevue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Selection Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Selection Hotel Imperial

Property: Smart Selection Hotel Imperial
Address: Marshala Tita 124/3, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Selection Hotel Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Selection Hotel Imperial (3*) Opatija embodies the city's early days as a tourist destination. Built in 1885, this historic Croatian property was originally named after Stephanie, a Belgian princess by birth who later became Crown Princess of Austria. As the second hotel built on the Adriatic Sea, the Imperial is constructed in Art Nouveau architectural style of the Secession period. Its beauty has stood the test of time. Today, the hotel boasts 127 rooms adorned with high ceilings and antique furniture. Complete with conference and banquet rooms like the visually-stunning Golden Hall, Smart Selection Hotel Imperial can handle all your business and personal needs, including weddings. Plan your day on the terrace of the Vienna-styled Café Imperial as you enjoy delectable homemade cakes and coffee. The historic hotel Imperial Opatija is located on the main street and is a quick walk to Slatina, the city's most central beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Smart Selection Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing