We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big crap!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Remisens Premium Hotel Kvarner
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Opatija
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

So... 10 minutes after check in me and my boyfriend we went out from this terrible place searching for another hotel.
Our room was in the main building, that looks just super from outside. Sea wiev is extraordinary! But then you face the reality: i think furniture was not change since the hotel was built, the doors from the terrace you can't close them, the terrace you have to share it with other rooms. I can't describe more because we left. The thing is that the pictures on internet look very nice and they mislead people.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ana_Virlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 227 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Location is perfect, the hotel is nice but not perfect. We were here in August and it was HOT. There is no AC in the rooms, but i didn't find AC anywhere on out trip in this part of Europe. We inquired about a fan for our room but they do not have them. It was had to sleep in the heat but it did cool off at night. We learned you just have to stay up till 11 or after and then go to bed. We had a Ocean view room and it was beautiful but my sister got stuck in a room across in another building with no view at all.
The Sea is BEAUTIFUL, with cool clear water to swim in. The pool is nice with lots of chairs, we would usually go to the pool about 9am and always found a pair of chairs. The ice cream is so delicious and the service at the bar and restaurant was very good. Breakfast was really nice with a large variety of choices. The menu in the restaurant did not change from lunch to dinner so there were not many choices.
There is no WIFI in the rooms only in the lobby, but the speed there is great. There is no concierge so you have to look to find tours and excursions yourself. Also the desk staff did not speak English so we have a hard time checking in.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were looking forward to a bit of luxury instead of s/c as we usually do. The hotel looked great on the website. Beware, some photos do not reveal the whole truth.
The location was fantastic with a view to wake up to and believe you are in paradise. Unfortunately the lack of air conditioning, the noise at night time through to the early hours detract from this dream.
The furnishings, as other guests have commented on are in need of attention and a refurbishment overhaul would be welcome. It was obviously very grand a few decades ago. The balcony we had was covered in grit and cables coiled up in the corner, with cable staples all over the ground.
The cleaner at the beginning of the week was up to the mark. We always tidy and leave our bed made and the cleaner at the midweek stage must have thought it was her birthday as she did not fold towels (which are anything but fluffy!), clean washbasin, empty ashtray on balcony or wipe the table, the bathroom floor was untouched from Wednesday to Friday. Bedlinen changed once during stay, duvet covers? joined make do and mend style.
Reception staff were unfriendly, unapproachable and especially the man at checkout on the Friday morning when I went to pay the bill, when I queried an amount I was only then huffily then given a copy of my expenses in English. The speed at which he took my credit card and tried to make transaction was alarming and rude. We were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay or wished a safe journey, in fact no courtesy shown on arrival or departure. No tourist information available as is usual in hotel foyers.
Terrace outside is lovely and great place to eat breakfast and enjoy evenings.
We felt uncomfortable most of the time,
We were charged for the sun bed, no cushions, we declined the parasol. The private beach is just a concrete ledge with steps down to the water. This was out of my depth - on the day we arrived with a stiff breeze, the water was so choppy I needed assistance to get out of the water. No lifebelts on hand ANYWHERE.
Car parking is expensive and very limited and even if you pay there is no guarantee or finding a place, to park if you go out for the day, on your return. No considerations for the disabled.
Staff did not once offer any assistance even though I use a walking aid.
We loved Croatia but would have enjoyed the holiday much more if the hotel had been friendlier.

Room Tip: If you have a sea view room remember this also has the added attraction of the evening entertainment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

We were travelling through so only wanted 1 night to sleep and booked online while we were having lunch at pula. On the sight we booked, it had pictures of nice rooms and advertised as Hotel Kvarner not Amilija. Booking confirmation was Kvarner not Amilija. When we got there it was Amilija.

Considering the amount we paid (way overpriced) we would have hapilly paid a few euro extra for another place just down the road.

Breakfast was included and served at Kvarner which was nice. But they wouldn't let us park in front of Kvarner even though there were spaces, we were told to park behind Amilija where there was no space.

If the advertisement didn't lie and we knew we were paying that much for Amilija we wouldn't have booked. It is run down and looks nothing like the photos online.

Also because we literally booked an hour b4 arrival they didn't have full details of our booking and weren't sure if we booked the breakfast included deal. They let us have it which is the only saving factor of this place.

But in the end of the day the stay was ruined as we don't feel we got what we paid for. We thought we were getting a nice hotel but instead got taken for a ride. If you can avoid the place. There are heaps of other decent places around

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve05g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were put in the Villa Amalia, next door, even though we booked at the Kvarner. Both properties are owned by the same hotel, but depending on the price you pay you will end up in one or the other. The Kvarner is rated as a 3 star property and the Amalia as a 2 star - this is not made explicit on booking.

Regardless, the star rating is not at all indicative of anything. The Amalia is like a set from a 1970's horror film. The grand old villa is covered in yellowed, stained wallpaper, dirty, worn carpets and peeling paint. The charm of its former glory wears off very quickly when you have to sleep in it.

The room was stuffy as there was no air-con. The furniture was chipped and worn, having survived decades of abuse. There were stains on the walls and tears in the bed linens. The worst was the bathroom, with tacky, sticky tiles and mold covered shower curtain.

The breakfast was served in the Kvarner. It was ample, but nothing special.

The staff was a hit or miss experience. The receptionists were nice whereas the bar and restaurant staff normally avoided eye contact. We went to ask for a bucket of ice in the evening and had to speak to 3 people before a reluctant bartender gave us two cupfuls in a plastic bag.

I couldn't get over how little attention has been given to the properties over the years. The Kvarner has only been patched up in places, but the Amalia has been left to decay. Luckily we had only booked for one night.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juli Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the Villa Amalia for 4 nights. When we first arrived we were a little disappointed as the room was very dark and seemed dreary after spending the first half of our holiday in light and airy self-catering places. However the old world charm grew on us and we grew to love our 70s bathroom and slightly musty room!
The staff were very helpful, organising a trip to Plitvice for us and taxis etc.
The main hotel is at a much better standard than the Amalia but since we only slept in our room it was fine! The one real downside though was the lack of air-con. I love the heat and thought it wouldn't really be a problem but one night it was so hot I had to get up through out the night to soak a flannel to lay over me so I could sleep! But... you're on holiday so sleeping can be done by the pool!
The pool was really nice, although not enough sunbeds especially with the usual problem of the 'towel savers'. On our last morning we left early and saw people getting up at 6am to put towels down and then going back to bed!! get a life!!
Breakfast was great, loads of choice although bit of a disaster that they didn't have normal teabags?!! just herbal teas - not good for someone who doesn't drink coffee! We ate dinner once here which was so-so but lunch was good and really nice to relax on the terrace overlooking the sea.
All in all enjoyed our stay and is a very romantic place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katwoman_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We, twelve of us, thought it was great. OK, the rooms may need refurbishing, but rooms are for sleeping in, not spending the whole day in. However, the management told me that refurbishment will continue at the end of the season. The exterior has been repainted, and It looks magnificent with the terrace overlooking the sea. The staff were first class, and couldn't be more attentive. What more does anybody want for seventy two quid for a double room and breakfast? This hotel was built in 1884 for the aristocracy and uppercrust of society, so if you want to stay in this type of hotel for these prices, then I can't see you getting anything better. Especially after the refurbishment. Brilliant!!!

Room Tip: Sorry, but as I said, rooms are normally for sleeping in. I always sleep like a log, so sleep qualit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.4 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#2 of 30 in Opatija
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#4 of 30 in Opatija
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Remisens Premium Grand Hotel Palace
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remisens Premium Hotel Kvarner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remisens Premium Hotel Kvarner

Address: Pave Tomashica 2, Opatija 51410, Croatia (Formerly Hotel Kvarner & Villa Amalia)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Opatija
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
#6 Romantic Hotel in Opatija
#8 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
Price Range: $132 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Remisens Premium Hotel Kvarner 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first hotel to be built along the Adriatic Coast in 1884, Remisens Premium Hotel Kvarner Opatija is a historic property often seen as the standard for elegance and sophistication of hotels in Opatija. Some of the more memorable visions of Opatija are on the grounds of Hotel Kvarner. The Crystal Hall is an awesome architectural sight and the largest of its kind in Opatija. It is an ideal setting for personal events like weddings or business summits. The newly-renovated terrace, situated above the Lungomare promenade, is the perfect spot to hold your outdoor event with its offer of magnificent sea views. Remisens Villa Amalia is in Kvarner's immediate vicinity and villa guests can use all the amenities of the historic hotel, including the outdoor swimming pool and private beach. Close to the city's most famous landmarks, Hotel Kvarner offers excellent accommodation on the Opatija Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Remisens Premium Hotel Kvarner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kvarner And Villa Amalia
Hotel Kvarner Amalia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing