We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not all it could have been”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sveti Jakov

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sveti Jakov
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not all it could have been”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We went on a work celebration weekend, so a mixture of business and pleasure. The rooms where clean and all the staff very helpful.

The food at the hotel was good as long as you are not a vegetarian. For an organised dinner on the Friday night, I was given boiled potatoes with hash browns for my main course. Breakfast was a relaxed self service affair.

On the first night we noticed that our bathroom did not smell great but this seemed to disappear when the room was cleaned, but by lunchtime the following day it was unbearable. We told the staff and the situation was resolved but from my understanding a few others in our party had the same thing.

The location and facilities at the hotel are good but with a few tweeks it really could be much better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scharteress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    20
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
33
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pons, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Opatija is beautiful and this great hotel is by the sea, in the center of it all. The rooms are beautifully furnished, very very spacious. We had room no.14 so we had a big private terrace overlooking the beautiful gardens and the sea with our own sun loungers, and shaded seating/dining area. The lady receptionist was very helpful and managed to sort out a parking space for us in their neighbouring sister hotel's garage. ( Otherwise there are only a few parking spaces behind the restaurant, where you need to leave your car keys in case someone wants to leave.) Breakfast was served on the terrace and was very pleasant, self-service included salmon mousse, other fish plus all the usual hot and cold dishes.

The only slight warning for the travellers would be the finding of the hotel by car. If you approach it from the left ( from the motorway), you will not see the hotel and on the drive another, neighbouring hotel's sign shows. We drove in anyway and were not sure wether the sat nav made a mistake, as we ended up by the breakfast terrace in what seemed like a dead end street. After lots of confusion and hooting by other cars, the waitress has saved the day by calling out the receptionist lady who directed us to their sister hotel's garage. ( Reception is at the side of the building on the left as you drive in, across the lawn...)

We had a beautiful elegant dinner at the sister hotel's restaurant overlooking the bay while the band played the violin and sang opera. After a good night sleep, I was sad to leave. We will be back. We had a magnificent stay,I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 12 or 14 are very very spacious, overlooking the gardens and the sea with their own terrace wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcall64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

The Milenij Hotel is one of the best hotels I have stayed in throughout the world. The room was in perfect condition with a nice air conditioner. The sheets were most white and upon the bed were 2 robes and slippers for my use. First class all the way.

The night staff (Ivan and Doris) made my night the best. I arrived to the hotel after a long night and without a reservation. Doris checked me in right away and Ivan carried my bags to the room and brought me a pitcher of ice water to quinch my thirst. He later checked to make sure I was doing ok. There is no hotel better that I would ever reside in when I am in Opatija. Thanks Ivan and Doris for not only being true professionals but for being polite and caring.

Room Tip: Sea view, quiet side, corner room.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Darlean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nurnberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed at hotel Agava as part of a group. Very nice and professional staff. Buffet dinner and breakfast were delicious. Room was lovely and we had absolutely nothing to complain about, everything was great. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
185 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Lovely first class hotel, room and amenities. A/C worked well as did everything else in the room. Free Internet!! We would have liked a few more choices of main dishes on the buffet but there certainly was enough and good quality, well prepared and tasty. One of the few hotels that had a variety of fresh berries at breakfast. Lovely setting right near the "boardwalk". Lovely to eat outside on their large terrace. Entertainment on the same terrace in the evening with bar and snack or desert service. Opatija is lovely. If you going during their "Fair" days try the local wines and buy some lavender.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mas1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#3 of 31 in Opatija
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.0 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Kvarner
0.5 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#6 of 31 in Opatija
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#5 of 31 in Opatija
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sveti Jakov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sveti Jakov

Property: Hotel Sveti Jakov
Address: Pave Tomashica 1, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sveti Jakov 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel Sv. Jakov in the immediate vicinity of hotel Milenij is superbly located in the heart of the town along the portion of the beautiful park and across the church of St. James. A former aristocratic villa built in 1886 in the style of the Austro-Hungarian Empire was known as the long-time residence of the Viennese physician and scientist Julius Glax, who loved Opatija so much that he spent the rest of his life here.The hotel has 26 spacious and comfortable Superior category rooms offering beautiful views of the surrounding area.A fine dining restaurant located near the loby has a dreamy outdoor seating area beneath the arcades. A quiet atmospere with the view looking to St. James Park and the famous Helios and Selene fountain designed by the Austrian sculptor Hans Rathausky, create unique dinning exeperience.Hotel guests also have at their disposal a garage and the Royal Spa Wellness in the Hotel Milenij only about 100 metres from the villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sveti Jakov reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing