We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place”
Review of Stancija Kovacici

Stancija Kovacici
Ranked #11 of 70 Restaurants in Opatija
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Aurora, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very special place”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stancija Kovacici is a very special place. We spent 5 nights there at the end of our month long vacation in Europe. Rooms are very clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Outside are rows of lavender which we enjoyed very much. Nearby church bells are ringing twice a day - beautiful...
Restaurant is really exceptional. We ended up eating there every morning and almost every evening. We enjoyed the seating on the patio which adds something special to an already excellent meal. Also there were always nice surprises that came with the meals. They also use lot of local/own produce - tomatoes, figs, truffles, cheeses.
But above all, the place is special because of the people there: Danijela and Vinko and all we were able to meet there. They made our vacation truly memorable.
Even though we live on a different continent we hope that we'll have a chance to return there soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RK_Aurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    13
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
613 reviews
534 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“The One Special Restaurant We Found In A Week”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Of a good dozen restaurants and eateries around North-Eastern Adriatic we tried that week, this is by far the most satisfactory, with the most special dishes.

We had a couple of different cheeses for starter - sheep cheese with and without truffles, two main courses - pork and steak in very nice, light and rich recipes, and two lovely desserts.

The one waitress attended very carefully and hospitably us and few other tables, including one with relatively demanding and slightly tense patrons, and made us feel very comfortable and welcome.

We stayed there for the night, in a nice, large and clean room if the jacuzzi was slightly less than well kept, and were rewarded with a very good and wholesome cooked breakfast, if a bit more rich in animal fats than we tend to favour at our time of life.

The place is indeed a few minutes' drive from Opatija, and lacks any special picturesque view beyond a bland, niceish countryside; still food makes the trip very much worth the detour.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GianlucaMarcellino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice place with a great food!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Very kind stuff and very good atmospher! But location... Neverthess you must come here to try bruschetta with eggs and truffles. It's smth special! Ask the waiter for daily meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pavel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

A very nice villa with a big clean room. Owners are very kind people. We are staying in the villa right now and having a great dinner. I just wanted to write to share this magic moment. Excellent food in a lovely garden. I recommend this place to everyone specially the restaurant!!! It is FANTASTIC!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fraise84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“a perfect place to stay”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

A very nice hotel! Large and clean rooms. Fresh air and nice and smiling stuff. Home-made breakfast was perfect! Although it's quite far from the city center and a car is needed, would definitely recommend!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana_Sv_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stancija Kovacici also viewed

Opatija, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Opatija, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
 
Opatija, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Opatija, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
 
Volosko, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Opatija, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
 

Been to Stancija Kovacici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing