We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic, charming and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pizzeria Roko

Pizzeria Roko
Ranked #2 of 67 Restaurants in Opatija
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic, charming and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stumbled onto Roko by chance and thought it looked from the street like it would have authentic Croatian/Italian pasta. It was also the busiest restaurant on the block. The interior has a nice cosy feel to it, it would not be out of place in an Italian seaside village.

We were impressed by the service we received form our waiter, and he seemed equally at enthusiastic in English, Italian or Croatian. But what really stood out at Roko is the fresh and flavoursome pasta and risotto we had. The famous Istrian truffles are the magic ingredient of the risotto, while the salmon pasts had a delicious white sauce. The meals are very sizeable - we were eyeing some tiramisus we saw the table next to us enjoying, however the mains left no room for dessert.

Roko is a must for lunch or dinner in Opatija.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarinaKrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    297
    91
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice...!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Very nice and cosy place, very nice interior, the owner had a really good project manager to put so many things in such a small place and with such a good taste.
We ate pizza and pasta, and it was very nice, pasta needed little bit more salt but it happens in rush hour...keep doing the good job!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

good pizza. everything else is not very good, but it is not to be expected from the pizzeria that has a good pasta

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Delicious food. Service so so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I guess if I had to prioritize guests by whether they would be back I would also spend most of my effort on locals rather than tourists.... But I do wish we had better service! We made a reservation because its a small place. Really -make a reservation, even a couple hours before! Once we were waited on we had the most wonderful cheese plate ever. Then a delicious pizza. We had good wine and entertained ourselves while we waited watching everyone else get waited on and the cook performing miracles in the open kitchen window. I highly recommend. Just be patient, you'll eventually get your food and it'll be worth the wait....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lrmdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“great place to eat pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a very well located, old style Italian restaurant. Food is well made and delicious, the only drawback is that you have to make appointment or stand in a queue and wait for your table.
Great value for money too!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gordana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Roko also viewed

Opatija, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Opatija, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
 
Opatija, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Opatija, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
 

Been to Pizzeria Roko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing