We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbour setting ”
Review of Plavi podrum

Plavi podrum
Ranked #13 of 86 Restaurants in Opatija
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 3, 2018 via mobile

Walked 15 mins along coastal path to this little harbour at Volosko. Whilst the food was excellent the service was less so. My partner ordered the Irish steak and was then told it was not available. Then he ordered a Shiraz which was also not available. Usually good restaurants make these things clear when they give you the menus. The food we did eat was presented with great flare and artistry and it was very clear that the chef was accomplished. I think the staff were overstretched.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 927jilld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 607 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

In any business, owner knows when they reach certain level of quality which is simply great, with many years of experience behind you and whatever you do further you can not go away from your level. That is Podrum. Great food, supreme service, atmosphere... but every year as I come back is slightly more expensive without changing almost anything. I Would recommend this place to any traveller for great dinner, once, twice, but for third time you might be bored...

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank russellcrewdson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

Wery nice location, very expensive, and not so good waiter. We did like the fish pate, octopus salad not so much. Fish for main was fresh and very vell prepared. Place is very romantic, near the small port with the view on the sea. Recomandations!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Giya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic food and winelist! One of the best seefood restaurant I have ever been. The atmospher is really romantic, peaceful. The owner wine expert lady is fantastic and the staff are extremly professionals! This is a must go restaurant when you are around the area!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank W9338DGannag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018

We had been in the Plavi Podrum more than 15 years ago and remembered that the food was great, the location cosy and the welcome very warm. So when we where in opatija, we decided to go there for dinner ago. So let me tell first: the location isn‘t cosy anymore; it’s about three time as big as it was then and - of course - the welcome isn’t so special.
We made a reservation from our hotel, which was a good idea, cause the place was crowded. It’s nested in the small harbor of volosko, just a few kilometers from opatija and seems not to be a „special tip“ anymore; half of the tourists of that part of the coast must have been here. But it’s always a lovely place and the food is excellent. We ate pasta with seafood, a perfect on the point cooked fish and drank a bottle of good Malvasia. More high priced (like everywhere in Croatia), but great food and a nice evening.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Gilda1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plavi podrum also viewed

Opatija, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Opatija, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
 
Opatija, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Opatija, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
 
Opatija, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Opatija, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
 

Been to Plavi podrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing