We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT LOBSTER AND MORE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Artatore Janja

Restaurant Artatore Janja
Ranked #6 of 56 Restaurants in Mali Losinj
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Trieste, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT LOBSTER AND MORE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

While sailing from Trieste to Hvar, in the las 21 years we always moored in Artatore and have dinner at Jania. Never we were disappointed. Yesterday we got one of the best "Blue" lobster in "bellavista".

No, you will not get haute cousin, but the best you can get in Losinj and ( having travelled here and there Jania tops my 1% best restaurants experience)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helmut K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    74
    20
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
torino
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Seabass in wine and olive oil”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

but I expected a little bit better in the rest. Mussels alla buzzara were not the best but the insalata of granceala was quite godd but a little bit plain. Good localtion and nice service

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nemorino64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Expected a little more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

After so many trip advisor recommendations we thought we'd give it a try. It was not bad of course seeing it also has some recommendations from local newspapers but just as somebody already mentioned here: not worth a detour - that was exactly our conclusion. The crab soup had some asparagus added when we were there so it was a bit more sophisticated maybe but "crab" should be more than just some pieces of shrimp. The octopus salad was bland indeed. The grilled fish was okay, a bit overdone maybe; the side dish potatoes were really tasty. The chicken skewer with figs was a good idea but definitely overdone and dry. The highlight was the chocolate and fig cake, it was really tasty. The service was okay but indeed pretty slow at times (brought the wine but no glasses, no fish cutlery available). If it hadn't been so highly recommended here and elsewhere we probably would not have been so strict in our verdict about it but we just don't think it deserves such high ratings.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

After a dissapointing recommendation by a local, and ignoring tripadvisor, we decided to follow the tripadvisor reviews and went to this restaurant. There is nothing special about eating seafood in Losinj anywhere in my opinion. Again the service is very slow and feels often as if they forget you. They do not accept visa!!! The crab soup is exactly how another reviewer described it, and despite of that i fell into the trap and ordered it, a poor soup with some shrimp and thickened with corn starch. Definitely restaurants and hotels in this area cater to people who know little or nothing about basic services in the hospitality industry. The grilled fish platter is ok, but the fish seemed taken out of the harbor, the octopus salad was bland, and the bill was high. Not worth a detour, if you just want to eat and happen to be in the area then come to this place, if not just eat a sandwich somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maderpint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Seafood, very nice Service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Either if you are in Mali Losinj, or visiting with your Yacht, this is a great Place to enjoy mediterranean cuisine.

The awarded Restaurant is famous for its fish and seafood, and has also a good selection of starters and meat dishes.

You can easily anchor in the bay in Front of the Restaurant or if you come by car, there is enough parking available...

Its definetely one if the few great Restaurants in Mali Losinj.

The Service was very nice to us... And speaks several languages...

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RadioStar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Artatore Janja also viewed

Mali Losinj, Losinj Island
Mali Losinj, Losinj Island
 
Mali Losinj, Losinj Island
Mali Losinj, Losinj Island
 

Been to Restaurant Artatore Janja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing