We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I needed”
Review of Hotel Tiama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tiama
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Abidjan
Certificate of Excellence
Sherfield On Loddon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just what I needed”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent three nights at Hotel Tiama after two weeks in Western Ivory Coast and Liberia. Felt it was a big improvement on the Novatel. Good breakfast, excellent room and a pleasant pool area with coffee shop. The main dining room was however disappointing at lunch time. Will stay there again if and when I go back to Abidjan on business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SVfromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    94
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
7
6
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are small & expensive but very clean, they have a small pool and a gym on the 10th floor. Excellent bar area, best I've seen yet. The hotel is in plateau, Abidjan, perfectly located for business. Good clean restaurant with excellent food, friendly staff. I found some excellent restaurants 10 minutes walk from hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZackMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was OK. Clean, staff pleasant. Rooms well appointed. But nothing really stood out. Did nothing badly either. Which some times is a really plus. If you do go to Abidjan, I can't think of any Reason not to stay at the Tiama

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanBrown1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. My company uses this for all senior execs as they view it the best place in town. Positives :-

Check in was quick and polite
Room was basic but clean. Water was hot and colourless, which is always a plus
Breakfast was fine - coffee a little cold but otherwise OK
Pool looked fine, but I didn't use it

Negatives :-
I guess I was unlucky, but on the Saturday morning I was woken at 8am by the loud noises from workmen renovating the lift system. I know that hotels need to do repairs from time to time, but 5 Star hotels (which is what the Tiama claims to be) should know better to allow workmen to create noise so early on a weekend. I complained to the front desk and eventually they agreed a 50% reduction in bill for the night (which should keep my CFO happy!!).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have stayed here several times in the last four years for business and conferences (most recently in May 2013), for which this hotel is fine, although there is nothing remarkable about it - another city, another hotel.

Rooms are clean and bright with everything you need and staff are generally OK.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grassy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel and I must say that from last year to this one rooms were renovated, which was quite a nice surprise as they were quite outdated. I stayed in standard room, the size is not too big but enough to have a desk, a very comfortable bed and a small bathroom with shower. I have to say that this is the second time that, in spite of clarifying in the reservation and requesting again at check-in to confirm that I have a non-smoking room, I am assigned a smoking one. It is really annoying to have to go on about the same issue every time to no avail. Service at the front desk needs real improvement.
I requested an iron and ironing board but I was told they did not have one. Instead, I had to use the pressing service. Fortunately, in spite of the lateness of the request, the person in charge came to my room and stay a bit late than his finishing time to press the suit I needed the next morning. That detail alone made me forget the headache about the smoking room.
Breakfast was okish, not very varied. The restaurant has a reasonable menu, not to exciting but good for a couple of days if you have to it there.
Wifi worked really well in most areas of the hotel so that was of big help.
I would be coming back hoping that the service and the front desk is giving a much needed boost, like they did with the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had a very pleasant 7 night stay at Tiama Hotel for meetings in their conference room. Rooms are very clean, comfortable and well maintained. English language TV including BBC, CNN, Euronews, Al-Jazeera and France(English) news. Buffet breakfasts are great. At sunset be sure to watch the many bats swooping around the mango trees in front of the hotel. Hotel is just a short walk from the big modern cathedral. Seemed over-priced at more than $200 per night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DakotaWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abidjan hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Abidjan Hotel Ivoire
0.7 mi away
Novotel Abidjan
Novotel Abidjan
#2 of 32 in Abidjan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
2.9 mi away
Detente Hotel
Detente Hotel
#5 of 32 in Abidjan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Abidjan Airport
3.2 mi away
Villa Anakao
Villa Anakao
#3 of 32 in Abidjan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Abidjan Plateau
Ibis Abidjan Plateau
#13 of 32 in Abidjan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tiama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tiama

Property: Hotel Tiama
Address: 0 Boulevard de la Republique, Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Location: Cote d'Ivoire > Lagunes Region > Abidjan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abidjan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tiama 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel 5* - 138 Rooms: 109 Classic - 20 Superior - 5 Junior Suites - 2 Executive Suites - 2 Apartments; swimming pool - restaurants - bars - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Tiama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiama Hotel Abidjan
Hotel Tiama Abidjan, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing