We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Change”

La Licorne & Le Griffon
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Licorne & Le Griffon
Ranked #8 of 103 Abidjan B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Change”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at La Licorne for 2 weeks recently on a business trip. The hotel is small and intimate and makes a pleasant change from the the venues in the city centre.
I had a very large room which was well kept and very clean. Altogether, the hotel was spotless.
The wifi internet worked most of the time and was strong. The lapses in communication are to do with the general state of internet and phone connections in Abidjan, and are not hotel specific.
La Licorne is located in Deux Plateaux, so you need to allow a bit of time to get into town when there is heavy traffic.
Breakfast is French + a little bit more. Satisfying and tasty.
The restaurant is surprisingly good and I enjoyed the food.
I also felt safe and sound and slept well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ANZ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at the Licorne during a ten day business trip in Abidjan. The place is peaceful, the proprietor helpful, and the local staff friendly and reliable. The room was large and super clean, and in comparison with the tired chains like Novotel, the price/quality relationship is infinitely better. The hotel is in a good location in 2 Plateaux, a prosperous area of the city with lots of restaurants, cafes and bars, and supermarkets. However Abidjan is a big city with bad traffic so you should check where you need to be before you decide which hotel to stay at.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Situatedness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The rooms are alright, but a bit stuffy. My room had only tiny windows. The real bad thing: The whole place smells from the old dog that hangs out everywhere as well as from cat's pee. I was very disappointed after what I'd read here and on Lonley Planet. The location is great though but next time I'll definitely go somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingrid_Heide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
332 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I spent 2 nights at Le Griffon during a recent business trip to Cote d’Ivoire. The hotel is really a nice friendly little place, a welcome respite from the busy streets of Abidjan. It is not located in the CBD of the city, but in the suburb of Deux Platauex. There didn’t seem to be much around the place but there were a few eateries on the street outside, a pizzeria and a couple of Asian restaurants. The streets around there are not pleasant for walking around – lots of traffic, bad air, rubbish everywhere. I went for morning runs there but had to stick to the quiet residential side streets to avoid the traffic and exhaust.

There are only about 10 rooms in the place, so it is fairly quiet and homely. The owners are very friendly and will ensure that you have a great stay. My room was huge, complete with a sitting room, a huge bathroom, and an outdoor terrace. Amenities include AC, TV, and free Wifi (which only worked part of the time). The rooms are all decorated to a theme with lots of interesting furniture and wall hangings to give it some character. The place was clean and reasonably well maintained.

The on site restaurant serves French cuisine. The food was good at the dinner meals, however I found the breakfasts a bit basic. All the staff were friendly and ready to assist as needed. I would definitely recommend this place to all travelers passing through Abidjan. Although the location is not the best, it is a great little oasis from the city chaos.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Its small, it's not "flash" but it's got great decor, it's got great value and you always feel welcome. Definitely somewhere I feel comfortable and the balance of great food and welcoming hosts keepsake coming back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldinwestafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

The Licorne and Griffon are great hotels in a great location, II Plateau, near a variety of restaurants and grocery stores. The beds are great - firm mattresses and clean sheets, functioning A/C, wifi, and a good French restaurant. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, though they don't speak English. Laundry service is provided, and it is secure - none of my belongings were ever disturbed. I highly recommend it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: There is a wide variety in the size of rooms. At the Licorne, the upstairs rooms are larger. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

The two hotels, which a family run, would better be described as traditonal Auberges (if found in France) or Coaching Inns (if found in England) neither of which you would expect to find in a modern cosmipolitain city as Abidjan, in West Africa. The welcome is warm, and the facilities are good. Free Wifi is available, the food is excellent, the staff attentive, and they are a real refreshing alternative to the largely French dominated multi-national hotels in the City Centre. Both Griffon & Licorne are in a district where there are several ex-patriate frequented bars, where you will be certain to meet English speakers.

Room Tip: Book in advance, and confirm by telephone before arrived. The website is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfredtheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abidjan hotels
5.2 mi away
Detente Hotel
Detente Hotel
#6 of 32 in Abidjan
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Anakao
Villa Anakao
#4 of 32 in Abidjan
135 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sofitel Abidjan Hotel Ivoire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ibis Abidjan Plateau
Ibis Abidjan Plateau
#19 of 32 in Abidjan
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Mia
Villa Mia
#1 of 103 in Abidjan
82 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Residence Sejours & Affaires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Licorne & Le Griffon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Licorne & Le Griffon

Property: La Licorne & Le Griffon
Address: Rue des jardins - II Plateaux Vallon, Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Location: Cote d'Ivoire > Lagunes Region > Abidjan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Abidjan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Licorne & Le Griffon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Licorne & Le Griffon Abidjan, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing