We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Bay Inn
Wayne
2 reviews
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Just returned from a weekend away at Blue Bay Inn. It's a small hotel, on the main road- but beautiful and quiet. Plenty of places to eat, reat food with the choice to go dressy and expensive or casual and cheap. Flo at the front desk is super sweet and has wonderful information about just about everything.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCHuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    44
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
27
67
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We were there right after Irene and spent a wonderfully relaxing time in this Inn. The room was spacious, well appointed and the staff very pleasant. It's just a five minute drive to the unspoiled beaches of Sandy Hook. The town of Atlantic Highlands itself is a special treat if you enjoy vacationing in a real town-- small town movie theater across the street from the Inn and an array of eateries from a rib joint, to a top notch diner to two where you can sit on the dock at the water's edge overlooking fishing and pleasure boats. And it's only an hour's drive from NYC--- 40 minutes if you take the Seastreak which lets you off about 3 blocks away from Blue Bay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 65roseland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We spent two nights at Blue Bay Inn during late August. The hotel offers no amenities that we are aware of except for the complimentary coffee served in the morning. The room could have been cleaner. The bed cover had obvious stains (disgusting) and we found old food behind a chair. It is understandable that the prices at the shore are inflated during the summer months but this property is miles from the beach. (However it is just a short drive to the beaches of Sandy Hook) The staff was quite pleasant and offered excellent suggestions for nearby restaurants. There is no on-site parking but parking is free for guests at a nearby municipal parking lot.

Not sure about a return. BTW, the quaint town of Atlantic Highlands pretty much rolls up the streets on Monday and Tuesday nights.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CurlyCueGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

We had a lovely family stay at the Blue Bay Inn this past Labor Day weekend. We stayed with our 1 year old child and we could not have been happier. The manager & all staff were very friendly and accommodating - they made sure we had everything we needed. This is a beautiful boutique hotel with large & modern rooms. Our room was clean and quiet. It is in a great location, close to the marina, restaurants, biking/running trail and a short drive to Sandy Hook beaches. We will definitely be back & would recommend staying at the Blue Bay Inn.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kathy_d71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Blue Bay Inn has a wonderfully pleasant staff and the web site prepares you perfectly for the rooms. They are well appointed, clean and comfortable. This is the first time my wife and I have stayed at Blue Bay but we've been in other places near Sandy Hook. A big bonus in staying at the inn is that it's right in the middle of a wonderfully unspoiled, authentic shore town-- Atlantic Highlands. There's a small movie theater across the street, a diner a block away that had the best pea soup I've ever eaten, a ribs joint and two blocks away, at bay side, is a marina filled with fishing boats and a waterside outdoor eatery which serves breakfast beginning at 5AM. If you're looking for an unpretentious spot only an hour away from NYC, (the ferry at the end of the street will take you to Wall Street in 40 minutes), this place is for you. It's certainly for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanalParkInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Situated in a quiet small town, this is a charming building and a very pleasant place to stay. If you are looking for Jersey shore activities, you will be disappointed. However, if you are looking for a clean, quiet retreat close to the New York ferry service and to Sandy Hook, you will be pleased with this individual hotel. The staff were very helpful when it came to asking for advice or information.
The main street does look a bit desolate, but there are plenty of places to eat nearby. There's a delightful cafe nearby (Zoe's Kitchen) and a good Italian restaurant opposite. For a friendly, relaxed atmosphere with helpful waiters, you could go to the waterfront bar/restaurant which is a nice 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, MD
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband & I came to the Blue Bay for my class reunion. I grew up there and yes it's a lovely area. However I was not impressed by this "boutique hotel". We paid around $300.00 on a Saturday. The exterior is lovely, as is the coutryard. We were dismayed to have to unload our bags ourselves, there is no valet. We were never offered a luggage cart. Then my husband had to drive around the block to park in the municiple lot.
Part of my disappointment is two fold. I thought it would have a pool and a water view, it does not. My mistake. We had a parlor king (201) the room was small and dark. Painted dark red including the ceiling. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was good size. The balcony was large enough for two but the A/C exhaust blows right on you, it was 108 that day. Balcony view overlooks the main street and empty storefronts.
The front desk must have been having a bad day. The woman at the desk (3pm) was not gracious and just asked for our credit card 3 times. Then pushed a piece of paper at me and rambled off a lists of no no's. No smoking, no coolers, no loud parties ( I'm a senior) then asked if I understood and said sign & initial. No smile. I have NEVER been treated like that upon check in!
In the morning we had a choice of coffee or tea, that's all. Why do I keep hearing about danish and juice? Try the Flaky Tart down the street.
I cannot comment on the restaurant, we ate elsewhere.
I can think of at least three other hotels which are the same price or less with a sumptious breakfast, luxury appointments, a pool, and Beard award winning chefs. The Jefferson, Richmond, Nemacolin Woodlands, PA, and Antrim 1844, MD.
Come visit the area the vistas are breathtaking, but stay somewhere else.
Happy traveling!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Highlands
4.7 mi away
Molly Pitcher Inn
Molly Pitcher Inn
#3 of 4 in Red Bank
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
4.5 mi away
Oyster Point Hotel
Oyster Point Hotel
#2 of 4 in Red Bank
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Middletown
Comfort Inn Middletown
#1 of 1 in Middletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
6.1 mi away
Courtyard Lincroft Red Bank
7.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hazlet Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Inn

Property: Blue Bay Inn
Address: 51 First Avenue, near Sandy Hook, Atlantic Highlands, NJ 07716
Location: United States > New Jersey > Atlantic Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Atlantic Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Bay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of downtown Atlantic Highlands, the Blue Bay Inn is the perfect place to indulge yours desires. Within two blocks, there are 12 restaurants, a movie theatre, a playhouse, upscale boutiques, spas, hair salons, artisan shops, a coffee house and the Seastreak ferry which luxuriously shuttles back and forth to Manhattan in 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Atlantic Highlands
Blue Bay Atlantic Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing