We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Monkey Muffins`”
Review of The Flaky Tart

The Flaky Tart
Restaurant details
holmdel
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best Monkey Muffins`”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This place has the best pastry around!!!! I love the Monkey muffins but if you get there in late morning they may be gone. Everything is fresh and well made and taste better than it looks. The only problem with this is the parking, so I usually have to park on the side street, since he parking in the front parking lot is limited and hard to park and get out of.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and dessert!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a great place for delicious food and tasty treats. Everything is made fresh with the finest ingredients. There isn't a huge assortment of food but everything they have is top quality.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“World Class Bakery”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

It's all excellent. Personal favorites are the croissants, in varying versions. Best carrot cake I've ever eaten.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“no better bakery anywhere”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Oh. My. God. Customers line up at early hours with glassy eyes, just like they are at a methadone clinic. Their fix is the best, most creative, and freshest baked goods to be found anywhere. The highlight is the breakfast items -- scones, pastries, croissants, muffins, etc. Many of the other items are great also, like that macaroon with the chocolate mousse topping in a chocolate shell. But it is idle to give examples because the selection is ever-changing. Just look at the Flaky Tart's facebook page, and you will feel an instant and dangerous craving for that day's selection. The stuff should be sold in glassine bags. Normally, when you say something is good in New Jersey, the statement has an asterisk; that is, it is good for New Jersey, but wouldn't necessarily be good in New York City. These pastries would be good in New York City. Indeed, they would be good in Paris. Okay, I know this review is over the top. But I must go there. Now. My flesh is crawling. Do you hear me? NOW.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great baked goods”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A good stop for a quick cup of coffee and delicious pastry on the way to NYC ferry. Pastries are terrific. Every bit as good that one could find in France. The cakes also look good but I never sampled one, but the quiches are outstanding

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wmilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flaky Tart also viewed

 
Atlantic Highlands, NJ
Atlantic Highlands, NJ
 

Been to The Flaky Tart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing