We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“can't beat prices and quality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Navesink Fishery

Navesink Fishery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“can't beat prices and quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We live nearby this restaurant, and it's our 'go to' seafood place on a weekday night when I don't feel like cooking. You can't buy and cook the same dinner for less really, so prices are r great and won't break the bank. The dishes are simply cooked, with not alot of gloppy sauces to mask the fish - the flavor of the fish shines through as it should. As the other reviewers have said, the food is excellent and service quick and friendly.
My reason for giving it a 4 star though, is the decor. The interior is tired, with chintz and fake flowers, the odd picture on the wall, really no sense of style at all. I wish the owners would see the interior with fresh eyes and invest a little money in brightening up the place. It kind of depresses me to go there, but we go because the food is good. However, I'd probably be excited to go there more often if the environment was more upbeat & updated. We do not bring out of town guests here, because of this. Of course food is any restaurant should be the star, but come on, we all want to sit and enjoy our meal out in a nicely decorated space.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nancylarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great fresh sea food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Ihave been there four times and have never been disaponted, great staff and clean rest room which is always a plus..BYOB makes it even better!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
412 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Good food in the fish market.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Good selection of fresh fish. Not fancy, but cozy. Portions are very large. Stop at the liquor store nearby to get a bottle of wine. They supply glasses with no corkage fee. It is hidden away in a strip shopping center, so you have to search a little to find it, but worth the search!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our only place for seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We enjoy the food and eat at the fishery as often as we can. Nothing I've ever tried I did not love! The salmon is my favorite. The salads are awesome and big enough to share. Don't leave without having dessert, the pies are homemade and delicious! It's a friendly, casual, comfortable dining room, I love it's not fancy. The waitresses are great! Best of all, it's a BYOB!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbiew722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overlook the decor for the excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I use the front retail fish market regularly ..... Excellent quality and selection. Had dinner one night there and was impressed with menu choices and expertise of their kitchen. Very generous portions .... Can definitely recommend

Not sophisticated dining room decor ...... But food makes the important difference

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Navesink Fishery also viewed

Atlantic Highlands, NJ
 
Atlantic Highlands, NJ
 

Been to Navesink Fishery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing