We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood”
Review of Navesink Fishery

Navesink Fishery
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I've been dining there for a few years and every time the food is cooked to perfection.
It is located in a small mall and has a store front, which I find very shore friendly and charming.
There is no better place for seafood in Central NJ. I've tried several dishes there, and I like them all. Flounder is difficult to get at restaurants at times, but they serve up a good one whether broiled or fried with rice or potato and vegetables. They have a good size menu. They open at 12:00 p.m. until about 2:00 p.m. and then reopen at 5:00 p.m. until about 8:00 p.m. Very quiet and friendly dining experience. I find it very comfortable and the staff experienced and attentive.
In the front of the store, they sell fresh seafood which has always been very good to take home and cook for yourself. I also go there on holidays. Last year we went on New Year's Eve. It was just very pleasant to be there with the other people enjoying the Holiday.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaE5247ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
middletown, nj
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take home and cook!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The crab cakes at this fish market/ restaurant, take them home and cook! Best we've ever had. Lots of choices for take home, take out or eat in

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neshanic Station, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great find”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Visited on midweek lunch. Great oysters on half shell. Followed by simply broiled scallops. Restaurant is in a plain ugly strip mall on the way to sandy hook. No views or suchlike but for great fresh seafood definitely worth a stop .q

  • Visited September 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimtaichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Seafood is top notch”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Tried this place for the first time last night and the meals we chose were both excellent. Shrimp cocktail ,flounder and Bronzino were all very tasty. Decor needs updates and music pumped in would be nice so you don't have to listen to near by conversations of patrons that might be loud(depending on the patron of course). The food is the star at this establishment not the ambiance. Saying all that I will be back to enjoy the seafood. Also a BYOB.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good fresh fish-a true Jersey Shore Seafood Resturant !”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The Reviews are completely on mark. This place has one of the best Seafood dinners on the Shore. The Swordfish And Tuna selections are truly wonderfull . The Salads are fresh and innovative. The Servers were competent and very pleasant and they do honor reservations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hibike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Navesink Fishery also viewed

 
Highlands, Jersey Shore
Highlands, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Navesink Fishery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing