We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just okay...”
Review of Harborside Grill

Harborside Grill
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Looks Better than It Tastes
Staten Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It was just okay...”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We showed up for our 7:00 PM reservations, there were three of us. For Saturday night, the restaurant was not too busy but the bar was starting to get packed. The hostess was friendly, crossed us off her reservations list and then stated that our table was ready but she didn't have enough menues for the three of us. What?! We sat down and waited. The waiter came by to take our drink orders and advised us of the specials, but still no menues. Hmm.....about 10 minutes later, the menues arrived. The waiter was nice and attentive. The food was "just okay". I guess being from NYC, we are spoiled. Therefore, considering that we were having dinner in central NJ - it was alright. The two of us ordered the mahi-mahi fish with shreded potatoes as part of their specials and the 3rd person had steak. For appetizers, we all shared tomato and mozzarella salad. The drinks were okay, the house white wine was on the sour side. I should have orderd a bottle of white wine. Stay away from the house wine. Overall, it could have been worse. But I don't have any plans to go back there anytime soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank akosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Terrific restaurant”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We went here for a surprise 70th birthday dinner for my father in law. The staff were excellent and very accommodating in helping it be a surprise. They were truly wonderful. Between the 9 of us we had everything from steak to pasta to seafood to chicken and veal. Everyone was extremely pleased with the food. It was excellent. When the bill came, we were very happy. Drinks, appetizers, dinner, and coffee for 9 adults for $300!!! Yku can't beat that. We will definitely be returning to Harborside Grill again and again :-)
The only reason I didn't give it a perfect rating was that it was a bit loud inside. We had some trouble hearing each other while talking. And although I liked the music choices, 80's hits being loudly played seemed a bit misplaced given the setting.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bodenboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great location, Staff and food”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Enjoyed a business meal here and glad we chose the establishment, Our server was very attentive and with a plethora of food choice on the menu you will not be disappointed.
The atmosphere is great and looks like an old English pub. for a food suggestion you must try the Chicken Murphy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edodowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We eat at the Harborside Grill often and have never had a bad meal. Service has always been friendly, food always good and the price is right. We have brought family and friends because it's always reliable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We love this restaurant”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

It is probably my favorite local restaurant. The food is always good, the atmosphere is excellent...quiet in the dining room, fun and lively in the bar. I have tried many different things from their menu and have never been disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harborside Grill also viewed

Atlantic Highlands, NJ
 
Atlantic Highlands, NJ
Highlands, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic Highlands, NJ
Atlantic Highlands, NJ
 

Been to Harborside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing