We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice portions”

Sissy's at the Harbor
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice portions”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Neat location, at the Marina hit hard by Sandy. Reopened, there was a healthy crowd on the Saturday morning we visited. We dined on the porch outside as it was a beautiful day. All portions were large enough to satisfy without being too much. I had the waffle and it was light, airy and delicious. My friend ordered the fruit with yogurt and to my surprise, it was a plentiful serving of both, not like the puny 'McDonald's parfait-size' that I thought it might be...enough for him to share with the other 2 of us. Prices reasonable for this area. The only drawback to eating outside on this particular Saturday morning was that the landscape maintenance crew was working with the weed wackers & leaf blowers for about 15 mins or so...requiring us to shout at each other for a bit. Oh well, they moved on. We encountered friendly, efficient staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneH831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Love this place!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I am a local and I eat at Sissy's probably once a week for breakfast... or at least I did until Sandy! But it looks like they've reopened so I'm going to pop in tomorrow morning. So excited! Wonderful staff, food is good, prices are very fair, and the view is wonderful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bdeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Probably the worst fish and chips I ever have”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I expect freshly cooked fish to be served, not one out of a packet which you get from a supermarket. 3 small triangular fish portion was served in a plastic basket.
The waiteress was not exactly friendy, I should have complained. Fresh fish on the menu would help a lot, considering it is located in a harbour.
I'm not normally fussy, this is the first review I have place on trip advisor and probably the last.
I unlikely to visit this resturant again as I live on the other side of the Ocean.
I can,t comment on the other food, but the reasturant is clean and the views are great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Hugh101201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing views, good food”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We went to sissy's place this morning before going to Church, we sat out on the deck and watched the boats launch. I had awesome bananna pancakes and fat sausage links they were delicious. Our server came right over, was jovial and welcoming and must be part psychic because she knew we needed coffee right away. I have actually been here before and continue to return, if you want a great breakfast and great views, this is your place. They also serve lunch and as the sign reads "sometimes dinner, opened until we are closed"

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ProffesionalReviewNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Breakfasts at the Atlantic Highlands Marina!”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Sissy's is a small, diner-style restaurant located at the Atlantic Highlands Marina. It is located on the lower level of the same building which houses yet another restaurant, On The Deck. I have had breakfast at Sissy's on 3 occasions, all during the late spring or early summer months. They offer good, diner-style breakfasts including a substantial selection of omelets. Portions are substantial and the coffee is also good. You can sit outside on a small porch during the warmer months and this makes for a very pleasant dining experience close to fishing and pleasure boats and the New York City ferries. They are also open for lunch and (sometimes) dinner. Consider also that you can take a nice walk around the municipal marina, before or after dining, a definite "plus". In the warmer months the marina is filled with all sorts of pleasure boats and very attractive. The Bayshore Trail, a scenic waterfront path for walkers, runners and cyclists is located just past the marina, to the east (you have to take an outside route around the outside of the marina to get to the trail -- just follow the signs). If you are looking for a good place to have breakfast or lunch, in an attractive location by the water, I would recommend trying Sissy's at the Harbor.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoreExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sissy's at the Harbor also viewed

 
Atlantic Highlands, NJ
Atlantic Highlands, NJ
 

Been to Sissy's at the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing