We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 2:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Review Highlights
Sweet Treats and Belly Laughs

I met up with some friends to see Woody Allen’s “Don’t Drink the Water”. The show was hysterical... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Mitchell_Albala
,
Middlesex, New Jersey
Entertaining Comedy at Community Theatre

A friend and I were excited to see a mutual friend of ours perform in a comedy. We had never been... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Su B
,
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Read all 89 reviews
  
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
78
10
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
78
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cake every month last night intimate setting opening night great night offer dinner amazing performance talented actors audience participation drink the water local restaurants top notch from start to finish sunday matinee hilarious comedy fun evening
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A friend and I were excited to see a mutual friend of ours perform in a comedy. We had never been here before and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The dessert before the show was delicious and the show was so funny. The evening went fast. The size of the theatre was so comfortable. It was wonderful greeting an congratulating the cast after the show. The people managing the theatre were welcoming and made sure we had a great time.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Su B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This talented cast did a wonderful job of bringing Woody Allen’s 1960’s comedy to the stage of the First Avenue Playhouse! The show is a must see!! We thoroughly enjoyed opening night in this charming setting, topped off by complimentary coffee and desert! The staff is warm and friendly! A perfect venue to enjoy a relaxing evening with friends and family! Not a bad seat in the house! Looking forward to returning!

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Fearless246298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2019

What a wonderful ensemble piece. It's a very special performance when a cast gels together and the innuendos and subtleties of each character comes through, but also beautifully melds with all the others.

Really enjoyed this play -- even though a bit on the longer side, the audience was engaged.

Special shout outs to a couple of the actors (all well played): Phoebe's character development was clear without being overdone; her dialog was delivered with impeccable timing -- this actor as a real talent for comedic timing, as does the actor who played Leo -- what a nice surprise! Leo was delivered with ease and perfection! Would like to see more of these two on stage together!

Go see this one before it finishes. I think you will enjoy this charming romantic comedy.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank goodgodno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019

Looking for a great place to enjoy an evening out seeing a great show in an intimate setting. One were you can relax and meet others this is the place. The shows are up close and very well done the talents is the best and its a desert theater (which is really good) They offer dinner packages to local restaurants. Just look up their web site and enjoy

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank thesandman2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2019

My husband and I saw Old Ringers, the hilarious comedy by Joe Simonelli at First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theater tonight.The place is lovely and the staff is friendly and professional. The cake is delicious too.The cast did an absolute fantastic job at keeping the audience laughing.There were also some tender moments that showed the dynamics of the love between a mother and daughter, along with the love and devotion between four dear friends. Add in a couple of talented guys and you have a great show!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews