We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again, a thoroughly enjoyable experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre

First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bringing Broadway Plays to the Jersey Shore. The Number One Dessert Theatre in Atlantic Highlands NJ. For over Twenty Eight Years! We present Comedies, Dramas, Mysteries,Musicals. The price includes Cake,Coffee or Tea A half hour before the show and soda at intermission. Reservations Required. Please call 24/7 and we will return your call. A new production is presented each month. Please leave your reservation request on our 24 hours reservation line and you will call you back. 732-291-7552
NJJUDI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once again, a thoroughly enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

The First Ave Playhouse does a great job in choosing a varity of entertaining shows. The actors are so talented, the sets are wonderful, and the audiences are always prepared to have fun. I so recommend it!!!

Have your dinner, and put off your dessert to enjoy while you watch the show. I'm sure you'll be back again and again.

Visited January 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank NJJUDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Owner at First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks for great review!
Get out of the heat this summer and come see our July production of Sin Sex and The CIA, an American Farce by Michael and Susan Parker Directed by Barry Prag. The cast will have you laughing as you watch this comedy.
In August it will be heating up on our stage when you come see the classic drama, Bus Stop Directed by Gina Shuster.
Did you know you can pick from one of our dinner packages at our restaurant partners and then enjoy dessert at the theatre….yum something to think about.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Comedy plays and dessert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

This play house in the heart of the Atlantic Highlands business district. The setting is very intimate with 10 or so small tables each seating 6 directly in front of the stage. Coffee is provided in a carafe on the table. On the evening that we went we were offered two options of cake. The strawberry shortcake slice was intoxicating and invigorating. The real strawberries sandwiched in between the two pieces of shortcake were heaven on a fork in my mouth in my belly in the desert Playhouse. However the real treat in the desert Playhouse is not the desert but the high caliber acting. In the comedy that we saw, the underpants, the fresh-faced actors put on a dedicated communic performance. We will certainly be back and next time we will bring our own booze and some friends. P. S. I won sauerkraut and wieners!!!

Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Owner at First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
By all means bring the booze, we have a BYOB policy. Come out of the heat this summer to see our July production of Sin Sex and The CIA, an American Farce by Michael and Susan Parker, Directed by Barry Prag. The same director of the production you saw of The Underpants. You won’t win sauerkraut and wieners this time but who knows what the surprises may be?
Thanks for you review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iselin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A local gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I have been attending the playhouse for over 10 years. We've never been disappointed. It's a good value for dessert and live theater. The plays are always well done and the staff is extremely friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Owner at First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks for great review!
We’re celebrating our 25th year! Thanks to you and all our patrons.
Come to beautiful Atlantic Highlands, NJ this summer. Get out of the heat this summer and come see our July production of Sin Sex and The CIA, an American Farce by Michael and Susan Parker Directed by Barry Prag. The cast will have you laughing as you enjoy this comedy.
In August it will be heating up on our stage when you come see the classic drama, Bus Stop Directed by Gina Shuster.
Don’t just think of us as a night out we also have great fundraiser programs, so bring your group to us. You can follow us on our web site or on Facebook. Tweet us too! @DessertTheater hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJJUDI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Actors - Lots of Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have been seeing shows here for 3 years. The actors are terrific, and really go overboard to give their audience a wonderful experience. After dessert and a show, you get to meet them!!

The current show, July 2013, is a riot - you should make every effirt to see it .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NJJUDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
199 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I have been coming here for more than 15 years. (We jusat attended a show Friday 19APR2013 night.) This is a cute little local theater, with top-notch actors and plays. For around $20 per person, you get live theather, plus coffee/tea and cake. Doesn't get much better than this. Really not much more than what you might pay to go to a movie.

Every Halloween, there is a scary play (sometimes with ghosts roaming the audience!) And every New Year's Eve, there is a play with buffet/food and dancing afterwards. Always a great night out. Pleayhouse is open all year long; plays usually run one/month, so there is tremendous variety during the year. Guests are seated at tables of 4-6; the theater probably holds about 80 people maximium. Book early; bus tours sometimes take up the entire venue. They also even offer dinner/theather packages at local restaurants. Coupons available on-line, and with Entertainment books. Senior citizen discounts too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lbog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Owner at First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks for your review.
Summer is heating up at the Jersey Shore. We have comic relief (and A/C) to save you from come the heat. Come and enjoy the laughs as we present Sin Sex and The CIA, an American Farce by Michael and Susan Parker Directed by Barry Prag. I hope you got a chance to see his direction of Sex Please We is Sixty, which was written by the Parkers as well.
In August it’s the actors who will be heating up our stage when you come see the classic drama, Bus Stop Directed by Gina Shuster.
We’re celebrating our 25th year! Thank you to you and all our patrons who made this possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre also viewed

 

Been to First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing