We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Change of Pace”

On the Deck Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
942 reviews
404 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 732 helpful votes
“A Change of Pace”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

For our anniversary, my wife and I usually pick a restaurant neither of us have previously visited, for dinner. At the end of a lengthy road trip, ending along the Jersey Shore, dinner wasn't practical, so my wife did some web searching and found this place.
It wasn't very hard to find, despite several blocks of First Street being blocked off for a classic car show. It's right at the marina, close to the SeaStreak ferry. Parking was easy, and we hiked up the stairs, though there is an elevator. We quickly got seated on the outside deck, and even got pleasantly reseated when we said the adjacent music speakers were a little harsh on our aging ears.
Lunch was served quickly and service was friendly and attentive. The Shrimp Po Boy was very good - not Cajun good, but very good nonetheless. Prices are reasonable, and the views of the marina, Sandy Hook and the Verrazano Narrows were great!
Always nice to help a business recovering from Sandy!

This was an excellent

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HowlnBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    64
    35
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beautiful Jersey shore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunsets, friendly place - try the chowder”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is the kind of place I love - friendly people, lots of locals, good food and amazing views. Located at the foot of First Ave. at the Atlantic Highlands Municipal Harbor, this is arguably the most scenic place at the Jersey Shore. The restaurant is situated on the second floor of a 2-story building, over a fish market / tackle shop and a luncheonette. A large portion of the restaurant is indoors, where panoramic windows provide great views from every seat. But the magic happens on the deck outside, where you dine in the sea air as shorebirds and gulls fly by.

The service here is brisk and friendly, with lots of energetic young servers bustling around. Our server last visit offered recommendations and was quite engaging. The food here is not haute cuisine, but the $9.50 burger is worth every penny, and the $20 ahi tuna is delish. Last trip hubby had the burger - he has yet to order anything else, it's that good - and I ordered a mesclun and gorgonzola salad with walnuts and a very nice raspberry vinaigrette, and seared scallops. The scallops were perfectly cooked, if a little overseasoned. The star of the evening was the New England clam chowder I had as a starter - packed with fresh, perfectly cooked clams. There were clams in every bite, and the soup itself was super fresh tasting, not too thick, super-creamy without being heavy, and definitely homemade.

This is our go-to place lately, comfortable and not fussy without sacrificing great food or service - and that view is the perfect end to any day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NJBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Waterside”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great place to enjoy a cool sea breeze and watch the setting sun. Happy Hour from 4-7 at the outdoor bar. Half priced apps, many beer/drink deals.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“closest thing to Maine”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

when the weather is good, the outside deck is very pleasant, above the water with boats all around..food is OK and better, lovely for lunch and drinks....sometimes the deck gets crowded, particularly on a weekend but usually great during the week...servers are pleasant and friendly....large bar scene for folks just off the ferry from NYC...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Food and Entertainment!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Every time we visit our son in Leonardo, NJ we go to this restaurant. The food along with the wait staff here can't be beat! You can sit inside or out on the deck looking at the beautiful views! This is a must visit restaurant when traveling in this area!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Deck Restaurant also viewed

 
Highlands, Jersey Shore
Atlantic Highlands, NJ
 

Been to On the Deck Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing