We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice despite the decay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trump Taj Mahal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trump Taj Mahal
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Atlantic City
West Chester
Level Contributor
287 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nice despite the decay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here as part of a small professional conference. Scary first impression in the self-parking garage, parts of which are fenced off because they're falling down. Long walks with poor signage to get from the garage to the lobby to the elevator and to the convention rooms. But check-in went smoothly and my room was very nice. Quiet, nice view of the ocean, clean and well-appointed. Shower was hot, coffee maker worked well, and I enjoyed the body wash & shampoo dispensers mounted right in the shower.

Did not appreciate having to pay for internet service, so I was glad to have my mobil hotspot with me.

Several folks in our group complained that they had long lines at check-in followed by problems with their rooms. For some the keys didn't work, for others the room was dirty. Of course, this was followed by another long trip to the front desk and another long wait.

Considering the good and the bad, I would return if the room rates were reasonable.

Room Tip: Was glad to be on a smoke-free floor. The casino smells like an old ashtray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAMan804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    818
    581
    318
    270
See reviews for
549
992
108
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
133 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent one night in a two-queen room while attending a show nearby. While the room was clean on the surface, everything feels a bit dated and rundown. We'd requested a non-smoking room, and got one on the 44th floor, but all night long all we could smell was cigarette smoke. It just felt unclean altogether. From the lobby to the decrepit elevators to the bed spreads, all could stand a bit of polish or replacement.

Breakfast in the room was insanely expensive for what it was. We had the same meal in a NYC deli the day before for half the price.

The plusses were that self-park was dirt cheap and we could walk through the casinos to the concert venue, which meant not having to go out in the cold or worry about a coat all night.

Probably wouldn't return. The casino scene and the run down feeling is just a turnoff.

Room Tip: "Non-smoking floors" don't necessarily mean you won't smell cigarette smoke all ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amybatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel at a off- peak days of the week at a special rate offered by Expedia. This is our first time stay at the hotel. The Chairman is the only place that looked brand new every where. The king bed room was very spacious. E had a great view from 93rd floor. The only bad thing was there were no shows durin the week and we had to go to another casino. We will stay her again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amynaadi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Free wifi. Free indoor heated pool. By the boardwalk. In front of the shore. You got to love this hotel. Nice front office staff. Great vibe with its own little promenade. What is there to hate? Parking is free. Casino is nice. Buffet okay. Get the chairmans tower. Ill be back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We just returned from a 2 day bus trip where we stayed at the Taj Mahal and I have to say that the Taj Mahal is in need of some serious updating! Our room was not exactly clean....they never emptied the coffee pot from the previous guest before us. Stains of unknown origin on curtains and floor. We had to wipe down things ourself in the room. The remote was DISJUSTING and did not work a lot of the time correctly. Bathroom was a bit sketchy as well. A face cloth was left in the hallway for 1 entire day and not picked up. We could hear everything in the room next to us. Pool is only open until 6pm, 5pm if you have kids with you. The comps offered were good though I have to say that. There were some issues with the buffet lines and it seems like they just don't have enough staff employed there at the hotel to keep things running smoothly. I know that Donald Trump himself would never stay in a room like we had. Hotel windows were dirty and really need to be cleaned. I know they layed off a lot of help there and it shows. I think I would like to stay at The Borgata or Revel the next time. We visited both on this trip and they were just incredible, shiny and new.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chemar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel was a cross between a motel and something else. Not quiet sure what it was. The place was dirty and unkept. The casino was dark and felt depressing. It took us a while to find where the rooms were located since we did not get a map at the recipetionist. The people working there were friendly. The room was not worth the price we paid for them. Definitely not going to stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Comfort Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlantic City hotels

Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very nice place!! Stayed for 3 nites during midweek in Sept. '12'. Weather was perfect!! SUPERB DEAL!! Booked 2 months in advance. Great ocean view. Didn't go to gamble...just to getaway and relax. Room was very clean and up to date. Small coffee pot and fridge in room. Friendly environment. Did not walk too far away from the Taj...not a great area...but out of that district was beautiful!! Not much at all to complain about.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
1.6 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#6 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 12,581 reviews
1.3 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,379 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#3 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Chelsea
The Chelsea
#19 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,660 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Claridge Hotel
The Claridge Hotel
#9 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Taj Mahal

Property: Trump Taj Mahal
Address: 1000 Boardwalk at Virginia Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7415
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#8 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#8 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump Taj Mahal 4*
Number of rooms: 1250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Trump Taj Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump Taj Mahal Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Taj Mahal Atlantic City
Taj Mahal Atlantic City
Trump Ac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing