We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“It was a nice hotel experience!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trump Taj Mahal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trump Taj Mahal
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Atlantic City
NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It was a nice hotel experience!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed in the Chairmans Tower, which I hear is much better than the Standard room. The room was nice and the bathroom and shower was even nicer. We stayed the weekend for a show and we enjoyed the spa and the onsite stores. Overall, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EVE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    806
    565
    302
    252
See reviews for
519
968
104
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I visited Atlantic City for a work convention. I have to say that I was very disappointed with this property. Its out dated, the escalators did not work half the time. Had burned out lights all around the board walk & the front of the hotel. Areas of this hotel smelled of urine. The carpets in some of the areas not affected by the storm were sticky & stained. Just plain horrible. The halls were dark & not very well lit. One would think a man like Donald Trump who prides himself as a perfectionist would have this building up to date. Needs a major face lift! Note: Some areas were affected by hurricane Sandy, but this was not in the back part of the hotel facing the ocean. This was the front part, main lobby areas & ballrooms. Absolute mess! Never again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Felix G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlantic City hotels

Berryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Checked in mid- Nov and disappointed it hasn’t improved over the years, it appears not much about AC did. I visited for a convention and spent 2 nights. The Italian bistro was awesome for dinner but my room was not cleaned and had cigarette smoke entering thru the vents. Not to mention you have to be near the casino to eat or go anywhere so my clothes smelled like smoke. My big complaint is the long walk around the Taj. I would not recommend it for elderly. I parked in the garage and walked 10 minutes to the desk and 10 minutes to my room. Upon check out they tell me they don’t use email so they will mail me a copy of my bill. That’s pathetic! I haven’t heard of such a thing in this age. They have my email, why not send it! The soaps and shampoo in room were nice. It’s dirty in many places and shows its age. Due to the storm the boardwalk was ugly but they did not have to leave bottles and trash laying out. My room service order was cold after nearly an hour to deliver. They would not discount because I ate it due to waiting so long. The TV selection was very poor. The shower and bath was nice and the bed is comfy.

Room Tip: make sure you dont get chairman tower if you dont like the very long walks
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I visit Atlantic City every few months. I always stay at the Taj.
I love their pool.
The shops on the second floor have a really decent variety of merchandise.
The food at the Sultan's buffet is okay-but nothing special,just typical buffet fare.
The Chairman Club has a small but nice variety of food-plus cozy atmosphere-and a bar.
The rooms are clean and bright.
The suites, however,are "dated" and are in much need of a make-over.So if you do not need 2 bathrooms and a table and chairs set, stick with a normal room.
There is a large variety of machines,and large sections of non-smoking areas.
It is a comfortable place to stay and play.

Room Tip: Pick a room and NOT a suite. The higher the room, the less water pressure in the showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kd r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I come down to Atlantic City often for friends birthdays and bachelor parties! This was my first time stating at the Taj Mahal and IT WILL DEF BE MY LAST. In the hotels defense, my visit was only two weeks after the hurricane. When I booked the room ( $200 on fri $260 for sat) I was assured the hotel was fully operational and everything was open for business. That was not the case! The hotel is ghost town. No young people only seedy gambling types ( sorry but it's true). Most bars and clubs were closed and the ones that were open were empty. The staff was rude and when I approached them about my stay they said sorry and gave me a screw off impression. I understand the hurricane did a lot of damage to the area, but they should be giving some incentive and deals to the people that are here. I couldn't even get free WIFI!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Worldwide293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We visited this hotel in January with a Living Social voucher. The price was paid was a great value for what we got. We stayed in the newly renovated Chairman Tower. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The bathroom was huge with double sinks and a great shower. The water pressure was excellent.
The room was spacious and extremely clean. We had a wonderful view of the Atlantic Ocean as well.

I would definitely return to the Taj Mahal!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in a suite whcih was very nice and roomy. We specifically wanted a balcony but upon arrival found out that they are all locked with no access. The casino was nice but at the bar drinks were expensive. We walked to the Showboat next door. More friendly and drinks were free if you were playing the card machines. We like it but it was pricey. Very clean and roomy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
1.6 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#6 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 11,424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,181 reviews
1.3 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#10 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,451 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Claridge Hotel
The Claridge Hotel
#5 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Taj Mahal

Property: Trump Taj Mahal
Address: 1000 Boardwalk at Virginia Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#8 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#8 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump Taj Mahal 4*
Number of rooms: 1250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Trump Taj Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump Taj Mahal Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Taj Mahal Atlantic City
Taj Mahal Atlantic City
Trump Ac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing