We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for partying, gambling, beaching it and dining.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropicana Casino and Resort
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Atlantic City
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location for partying, gambling, beaching it and dining.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a blast! 11 girls ages 25-35. We chose the Trop because of the location to the beach and bars. The restaurants were good, not over priced. We hung out at the beach all day and partied at night. Lots of options for food, gambling and drinking. Like a lot of reviews say, our rooms could use an update on decor, but we really only were in there to sleep and shower. Not a big deal. If you're really picky about having a flat screen tv and not seeing drunk people in the halls, or empty beer cans in the elevator, you should probably stay some place else. The whole hotel/casino/restaurant/shopping area was beautiful! A little confusing layout. The map in the lobby didn't even have the pools listed. We actually set out on a mission to look for them. Still never found the indoor pool. Doors and hallways are not labeled well at all. We had two adjoining rooms in Havana tower. They were both clean. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tchando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    1,452
    822
    583
    587
See reviews for
736
1,788
165
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,092)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
231 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

we always get a great rate from the hotel for spending money there which is why we always return! they have great shows, the rooms are always clean with different views and size rooms everytime! you have to pay for internet which i still think is rediculous in 2013 but lots of hotel do it. the shops are great and lots os food options. if you dont like walking alot dont stay here! from the board walk the rooms are on the other side of the hotel completely. but the hotel is close to the other hotel and casinos! cant wait to return

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jlock11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Made a quick trip to the trop for the weekend overall the hotel is nice staff is good. The dealers are not the best only a select few ate good and will chat with you while they take your money. Great location and overall good service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekalashian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were Trop fans many years ago and then they had all their problems with ownership, management, staff and even a few bed bugs thrown in for good measure. So we switched over to the Caesar Entertainment hotels -- including Caesar's and Bally's. But since the Tropicana was supportive of a fund raiser we were working on, we decided to give them a try after a long hiatus. And we had a wonderful time. There was a storm created flood at the drive in check in area and we had to check in a secondary entrance with large crowds leaving and coming in and we thought that might be a bad omen, but it was uphill after that. Got a nice room (a little smaller than we remembered) with a good ocean view in a tower convenient to the casino. The casino was lively, brightly lit and had plenty of tables open for action. The crowds were fun and pleasant to play with -- the dealers involved with the players. Unlike the Pier across from Caesar's which is more like a morgue (with so many of them closed and out of business) than a shopping experience, the shops in the "Quarter" at the Trop are plentiful and fun to browse. There are so many restaurants and eating places in all price ranges that it will satisfy all tastes and pocketbooks. We had great quacamole made at table side, delicious bistro-style chinese at our favorite, PF Changs, breakfast coffee and croissants at Starbucks and so much more. After playing in the casino most of the day, we even got a generous comp from a pit boss for breakfast the next morning at their Seaside Restaurant. The place was crowded and lively -- there were happy hours at every restaurant and bars and it was a fun two days. Will definitely go back for more on our next AC trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Popppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and my sister had a wonderful time at the tropicana, and every one was very nice, and very courtesy,and they service u with a smile, And the room was fabulous. And the bed felt so gd I sleep like a baby, we had wonderful time the location was great,and I will always stay at the tropicana word!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harlem-uptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed mid week and had a great price for the room. Aside from a little bit of a wait, check in was easy. The room was dated but clean. I did my best to ignore the mold in the shower in the bathroom, but for the price I cant complain. The positives- the AC worked great, housekeeping brought us extra blankets/towels as requested, and the location was fantastic! You don't have to leave your resort to enjoy all the activities of Atlantic City! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachy817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Well positioned on the boardwalk with plenty of bars and restaurants in the hotel. A large casino with good shops and services. The rooms are just OK and the corridors are in need of a facelift but overall a good place in AC to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sellers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
2.4 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 12,089 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#3 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,635 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Chelsea
The Chelsea
#18 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,001 reviews
1.3 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#10 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Casino and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Casino and Resort

Property: Tropicana Casino and Resort
Address: S. Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#7 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#7 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Casino and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you prefer the peaceful serenity of an oceanfront view or the sheer excitement of hitting that winning number, a world-class experience awaits you at the Tropicana, Atlantic Citys entertainment destination. Known for the Luckiest Casino according to Casino Player Magazine, the Tropicana definitely delivers in gaming excitement. The hotels recent expansion includes more than 500 new luxury rooms and suites for a total of more than 2,100making the Tropicana New Jerseys largest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your Tropicana Casino and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Atlantic City
Resort Atlantic City
Tropicana Resort Atlantic City
Tropicana Atlantic City
Atlantic City Tropicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing