We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Average hotel with nice employees” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropicana Casino and Resort
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Atlantic City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average hotel with nice employees”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Here for convention. Had small issue with "free money" cards at Tango bar. Manager Ryan H. Quickly remedy this and was very nice. Also, Joseph J did outstanding job for our groups convention service dance night! boogie nights was the Best! I would ask for room in West Tower, much newer.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank March17Colleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    1,481
    837
    593
    592
See reviews for
751
1,828
168
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great view, large clean room. Valet, security and other staff very helpful. Great shopping and food at the quarter. My favorite casino in A C for several reasons. Convenient parking and access for disabled.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceinWondrland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coxsackie, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I did a bus trip and stayed at the Tropicana Casino and Resort in Atlantic City on March 10-11. We had a great time. We were in the West Tower and the room was very nice and clean. I had read some bad reviews and but I am glad that I have to see things for myself. If I was to have any complaint at all it would be that the bath tub could have drained a little faster. I would definitely go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, CT
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed in the south tower - 14th floor and after reading some of these reviews I was very nervous....mainly about the cleanliness. Put your mind at ease -- our ocean view room was spotless, bathroom was updated, CLEAN and perfectly functional. It wasn't noisy and everything worked very well. Flat screen tv, remote, fridge, coffee maker, lights--everything was A-OK. Little far from the other casinos but that was OK because we liked walking the boardwalk between. Overall-given price (very reasonable), location, but most of all cleanliness....I give it an A!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Tropicana Hotel in the West Tower on the first weekend in March 2013. The rooms are old, not very clean looking, and there were pubic hairs on the floor of the bathroom when we first checked in! The amount of groups of young people partying and screaming in the hallways right past our room at 4:30am was ridiculous. There are droves of them all sharing one room....screaming, doors slamming, running, to name a few. No more for us! And the price they charge for that was RIDICULOUS. Oh yeah, even if you are staying at the Tropicana, you still have to pay for parking, really? Didn't you get enough of our money?? Go down the boardwalk to the Revel instead!

Room Tip: Rooms at another hotel would be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank MarcyLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicana R, Director of Marketing at Tropicana Casino and Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

We are sorry to hear about the disappointment you experienced with your room. What you describe is not the norm at the Tropicana Casino & Resort. Please accept our apology for any inconvenienced you experienced.

I have passed your comments onto our Senior Management Team for their review.

Once again, thank you for the comments. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you the next time you visit AC.

Sincerely, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlantic City hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you're the type of person who wants to skip the pleasantries you might encounter at the front desk of many other hotels, and just get down to the business of handing over your credit card, then this place is for you. The front desk staff - if you can find the front desk - are sure not to crack a smile or even ask if they could be of any more help other than to lighten your wallet a bit.

The rooms, as others have said, are dated, dirty and depressing. An Art Deco style mirror intermingles with muddy looking copies of spanish sunsets, scuffed wallpaper, a bedspread from my grandmothers linen closet and green wall-to-wall carpeting that belies the hotel's lack of cleaning equipment. It would seem that the hotel got an amazing deal on some old-school CRT televisions, or perhaps just picked some up from the curbs of the rest of America. The most striking feature of my room was the 8" long brown smear across the ceiling. It truly must have taken a previous guest some type of acrobatic effort to deposit it there.

Check the number of reviews of those who give this place a positive review. I don't think that anyone who's stayed at many actually nice hotels would give this place 5 stars. It's a 2, but it only gets the extra star because of the schmaltzy Havana street-scape in the lobby of the Havana Tower - and even that will grows old pretty quick.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beets42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicana R, Director of Sales at Tropicana Casino and Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your comments with us.

We are sorry to hear about the disappointment you experienced with your room and the service you received. What you describe is not the norm at the Tropicana Casino & Resort. Please accept our apology for any inconvenienced you experienced.

I have passed your comments onto our Senior Management Team for their review.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your review. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you the next time you visit AC.

Sincerely, David B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

been travelling to Atlantic city for about 15 years with a friend, 4th visit to Trop, 3rd with DKM, always a great trip, good accommodations (renovations ongoing in hotel), great prices and perks, already thinking about our next trip. Trop is great as if weather is bad, lots to do inside, shop, dine, relax and of course 'the slots'

Room Tip: Havana Tower is the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
2.4 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 12,519 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#3 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Chelsea
The Chelsea
#19 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,045 reviews
1.3 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,650 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claridge Hotel
The Claridge Hotel
#9 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Casino and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Casino and Resort

Property: Tropicana Casino and Resort
Address: S. Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#7 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#7 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Casino and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2079
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropicana Atlantic City is a 24-hour gaming destination located on the beach and Boardwalk. Featuring 2,079 rooms and suites and home of The Quarter, a 200,000 square foot entertainment complex, Tropicana is the premier resort in Atlantic City. With 24 restaurants, 25 shops, 18 bars and lounges, 2 pools, an IMAX Theatre and a spa, Tropicana is consistently rated as a "Must-See Attraction" in Atlantic City. In spring 2015 & 2016 Tropicana underwent a $90 million renovation, which includes its spectacular Multimedia Light and Sound Show, the addition of AtlantiCare LifeCenter Fitness and renovations to its North Tower hotel rooms, Havana Tower rooms and casino floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Tropicana Casino and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Atlantic City
Resort Atlantic City
Tropicana Resort Atlantic City
Tropicana Atlantic City
Atlantic City Tropicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing