We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the $18”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropicana Atlantic City
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The 2 of us took a day off to lay low in Atlantic City. After chasing down deals online I found a double queen room on the boardwalk with an on-site casino for $18 (Tues & Wed only). I confirmed the price directly with the hotel and asked about additional fees. The room tax was high, but again, it was only on the original $18. Parking was reduced from $20 to $10 to self park.

We arrived early and the lobby was deserted. We asked for a room on a high floor please, and one that faced the water, while expecting a room on the ground floor facing the dumpsters. What we got was a room on floor 19, which turned out to be a popular floor for that day. The view from the window actually was the boardwalk and ocean. You had to lean a bit to see past the adjacent buildings, but we did have a room with a view. When we sat at the table by the window dozens of pigeons would come to by hoping for a snack. It was quite a sight! At night the room was quiet, but that may not be the case on a weekend when the shows are scheduled and occupancy is likely much higher.

The room was large and clean as was the bathroom. The decor was very dated and in many places the wallpaper and window and bathroom caulk were peeling down with decades of help from gravity. Linens were clean, white down (maybe) comforters seemed new. Food is not allowed in the room according to many signs, yet there was a built-in refrigerator. There are many signs forbidding alcohol in the rooms as well. I have not ever seen this before.

On the casino floor The Tropicana has hundreds of slot machines, several roulette, 21, etc. For a Tuesday night it was busier than expected. Security is everywhere as are casino "helpers". Strangely, the dealers are neither helpful or friendly so gambling was unpleasant and we left (up) after an hour or so. (Management should make note of this.)

Below ground is a faux cobblestone Cuban themed mall with stores, restaurants, and unusual ceilings painted to look like the sky. We ate at PF Changs just missing the happy hour menu. The food and service were good.

Overall, a very inexpensive night in a clean room with a view and no need to drive to dine, see the ocean, or gamble. I highly recommend the Tropicana Hotel in Atlantic City in the dead of winter for a quick get-away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high enough to see over the adjacent buildings and as far east as possible for an oce...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honkrattlecrashbeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,980)
There are newer reviews for Tropicana Atlantic City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,485 - 2,491 of 4,980 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Tropicana for a weekend and it was so convinient. It is close to all atractions and since we went to Boogie Nights. It was execelent. the rooms are clean and the service is superb. The Hoerl has valet parking taht was excelent fast and good service. It has many restaurants,so yo really do not need to go out at all. This hotel has everyting iunder one roof.
If you are into gambling, it has a lot of space for it and you never feel it is crowded. It was so nice that I joined their Tropicana players member card.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smartor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good places to eat. Nightlife is good. The rooms were old and a bit dirty. Left over drinks that were not ours were left at entrance of the room. Needs to be updated. Just seems lazy and needs to tighten up

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good place to stay , nothing fancy, but reasonable price.
The room was cleaned , a little old fashioned style , but quite , and with a nice view.
Surrounding restaurants are average and rather expensive.
Good place to stay for business trip especially during this time of the year.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank RemiBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Know my standards are likely a bit high, but HAD to stay here at a company function and it was just not good. Know we're not in Vegas here, but basic cleanliness should come into play.

Had a noon check out and was awakened by housekeeping at 9AM so she could investigate if I was in the room. The maid was with a huge bodyguard-type guy NOT in hotel staff clothing. Told her I shouldn't have been awakened early with a noon check out and she said it was policy. Come on. One of my co-workers had this fellow in street clothes actually open her door while she was sleeping.

Not sure there are better hotels at this price range in AC, but you should likely seek one out.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank foodwinechickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had a get away with my sisters it was nice to bring some support to AC after Super Storm Sandy the Tropicana is very nice rooms are clean nice restaurants and shops were very nice. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyfish76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at the Tropicana for 2 nights with my friends. Valet parking was quick & easy, and we were checking-in at the front desk in no time! We were originally given a room in the North Tower on Floor 12 with 2 Double Beds. When we walked in, it felt very small, dark, and some of the cieling was stained from a water leak. We immediately called the front desk to see if we can get a room change. The Manager of Housekeeping (Forgot her name) called us back within minutes and apologized for the state of our room. She offered to switch our room to the 21st Floor in the South Tower. She explained to us that the rooms in the South Tower were all bright, fresh, and remodeled! She personally escorted us to the new room and made sure it was adequate. On top of this, she even offered to change our check-out time to 3:00pm on our last day so we could enjoy more of the day and leave at our liesure. If our room was not changed, I would have rated this hotel lower. But, the fact that they handled this situation so professionally and made us feel important, earned them a higher rating!
Our room in the South Tower was spotless! We had 2 double beds, night stands, large dresser, flat screen TV, fridge, table with 2 chairs, full closet, and a nice bathroom with a large glass shower! It even had a beautiful view of the ocean!
The Casino area was pretty big, with lots of tables and slot machines! Loved the architecture and decor of the area by the shops and restaurants! Lots of photo opportunities by the indoor water fountains and palm trees.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room in the South Tower.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
2.4 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
18,308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
10,671 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#7 of 49 in Atlantic City
8,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,869 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
1.3 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#3 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Atlantic City

Address: S. Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Tropicana Casino and Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#7 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range: $84 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Atlantic City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2047
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropicana Atlantic City is a 24-hour gaming destination located on the beach and Boardwalk. Featuring 2,047 rooms and suites and home of The Quarter, a 200,000 square foot entertainment complex, Tropicana is the premier resort in Atlantic City. With 24 restaurants, 25 shops, 18 bars and lounges, 2 pools, an IMAX Theatre and a spa, Tropicana is consistently rated as a "Must-See Attraction" in Atlantic City. In spring 2015 & 2016 Tropicana underwent a $90 million renovation, which includes its spectacular Multimedia Light and Sound Show, the addition of AtlantiCare LifeCenter Fitness and renovations to its North Tower hotel rooms, Havana Tower rooms and casino floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropicana Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Atlantic City
Resort Atlantic City
Tropicana Resort Atlantic City
Atlantic City Tropicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing