We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Free Internet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropicana Casino and Resort
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Atlantic City
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Free Internet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

While searching for hotels in Atlantic City for a business trip, I look for price and internet access. Tropicana met both requirements and my wife and I spent the weekend here. The hotel and casino were great. My wife was impressed by the shops available and the restaurants we ate in were pretty darn good. The room however was not impressive. Like many other reviewer said, they are outdated and old. This is the first hotel we have stayed in in a long time that had the old box style TV's and not a flat screen. Our room was right next to an elevator so we were awakened frequently by the loud drunks heading back to there rooms, which some didn't make it! :-) And of course the walls were paper thin and you could here everthything. It did meet my requirements though; the price was right and the internet was free. If you can deal with the room issues, its really a nice place!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pghcop6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicana R, Director of Marketing at Tropicana Casino and Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the Quarter with its many restaurant and shopping options.

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with your room. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.

I have passed your comments onto our Senior Management Team.

Thanks again for the review, we hope that you give us another opportunity to host you the next time you visit AC.

Sincerely, David B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    1,452
    824
    583
    587
See reviews for
736
1,789
165
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,093)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have stayed here with my boyfriend for the last 3 years for a trade show he goes to for his business. The rooms are clean and a good size. Customer service has been excellent any time we needed it. The casino is getting a little tired looking. I was disappointed this year because my favorite shop in the Quarter was gone, and they are replacing it with something new, a candy store. The restaurants are nice. We ate at the sports bar upstairs. The guys from the show loved it, they serve $5 40oz beers. We also ate at the Irish pub, the food there was very good, we both ate the prime rib. The spa is wonderful. Overall a good value for the money. The location is nice, you can walk to many other casinos.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DS1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlet
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Tropicana spent a huge amount of money remodeling the Quarters. Upscale restaurants, shops, and night clubs. However, this is all for show. If you actually stay at the hotel you will be more than disappointed. The rooms are old and dirty. They are a throwback from the 80's which I believe the lat time the bedspreads were changed. The bathroom was also dirty and the tub tiles chipped and falling off. We laughed this all off and never complained. However during the night things got scary. We had people banging on our door and the external walls. They were screaming in the hall ways. We called the front desk but they never arrived. This went on from 12:00am to 6:00am. I was with my children and was frieghtened. When I checked out at the front desk and told them this, they just kind of gave me a blank stare. Stay away form the Tropicana!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicana R, Director of Marketing at Tropicana Casino and Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share how your recent stay with us was.

We are sorry to hear about the disappointment you experienced with your room and the service you received at Tropicana.

What you describe is not the normal standard at the Tropicana. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience you encountered

I have passed your comments onto our Senior Management Team for their review.

Thanks again for the review. We hope that you will give us another chance to host you the next time you visit Atlantic City.

Best Wishes, David B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlantic City hotels

Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Tropicana has fun for any age. We are Seniors and we love to stay at this casino. We have stayed in the Havana Tower many times. We cannot wait to be invited back with the comp rooms offered. We also were invited to a Slot Tournament. The choice of restaurants is wonderful. So glad this casino is up and running after Hurricane Sandy.

Room Tip: Higher Floors away from the Elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kps2play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Tropicana provided the worst customer service experience my girlfriend and I have ever had. The hotel is staffed by the absolute dregs of the service industry recruitment pool; politeness and manners are thrown out the window. The only advice I can offer to anyone who's unfortunate enough to currently be putting up with the dour, rude, humourless cretins working at this hotel is :
Pack your bags,
And leave tonight.
Don't take your time.

Room Tip: Choose the Caesar's or Bally's over the Tropicana.. far superior customer service. Staff in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chico_rodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicana R, Director of Marketing at Tropicana Casino and Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We are sorry to hear how disappointed you were with the service you received during your stay.

What you describe is not the normal standard at the Tropicana.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.

I have passed your review on to on to our Senior Management Team for resolution.

Once again, thanks for your review.

Sincerely, David B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
739 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

There's a lot to do here at trop with a lot of restaurants and shopping in The Quarter. Room prices are actually really good during the weekdays. The rooms are clean and the hotelstaff are very polite and and accommodating to any needs. I stayed in the Havana Tower which is the new and renovated building. The rooms are more modern have had better upkeep. When booking the room, ask to be put here. It is a first come first serve so you usually have to check in early on days they are busy.

Also, there was no Wifi in our room. I believe there is no wifi in any of the guest rooms.

Buildings to avoid here are the North and South Tower. These sections of the hotel are really old and haven't been renovated.

The hotel also has a resort fee which can run anywhere from 10-20 per day depending on the day of the week.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RahulMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We trully enjoy our experience here, I would recommend this casino to anyone, very clean, friendly staff, very helpful, and overall magnificent place!!!!!!
The food was excellent, the shopping areas are great, and the entertainment was very pleasing.

Room Tip: so far all of the different rooms that we have stayed in are all to our satisfaction!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACS1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
2.4 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 12,103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#3 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,645 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Chelsea
The Chelsea
#18 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,005 reviews
1.3 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,562 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#10 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Casino and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Casino and Resort

Property: Tropicana Casino and Resort
Address: S. Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#7 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Casino and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you prefer the peaceful serenity of an oceanfront view or the sheer excitement of hitting that winning number, a world-class experience awaits you at the Tropicana, Atlantic Citys entertainment destination. Known for the Luckiest Casino according to Casino Player Magazine, the Tropicana definitely delivers in gaming excitement. The hotels recent expansion includes more than 500 new luxury rooms and suites for a total of more than 2,100making the Tropicana New Jerseys largest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropicana Casino and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Atlantic City
Resort Atlantic City
Tropicana Resort Atlantic City
Tropicana Atlantic City
Atlantic City Tropicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing