We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did I sleep on the floor?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Atlantic City
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Did I sleep on the floor?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel was fine for what I wanted - a cheap place to crash. I started to have regrets when we walked up the steps from the lobby and into the hallway leading to my room. There was a nasty smell and the carpets were badly stained/dirty. However the room appeared to be clean. The décor was basic - but most importantly, the smell from the hallway was not in the room. The bathroom was small and there were small little rust spots on the fixtures from the moisture but everything worked. The beds were very hard and I struggled to get sleep. I woke one morning with a terrible back ache - I just couldn't get comfortable all night. We did ask for an extra blanket and were told to turn up the heat. That wouldn't work I keep the room cold and my husband doesn't like it that way. It is a very long block from the beach but doable - just walk on the side without the bars/apartments to avoid the urine smell. The cleaning crew was very nice and gave me extra supplies when I asked. The restaurant downstairs was excellent for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omlig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    105
    95
    36
    31
See reviews for
104
122
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

he hotel was okay. Spots should be repainted in spots. The blankets and comforter had burnt spots and holes. Also the neighborhood is a little scary. Nothing on website lets you know that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

An overall excellent experience, taking in account the class of the hotel.
Clean, friendly staff, at walking distance from the boardwalk, contiguous to a very good and convenient restaurant for brunch.
A curiosity: the vallets in charge of the car park moved my car twice a day upgrading little by little the position in the park (more and more in the shadow) until the last hour when they placed it just upfront the exit.

Room Tip: My room was on the church side, 2nd floor, and was OK also because close to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

You enter to a nicely remodeled lobby, but it ends there. I only stopped there because I was looking for a cheap place to stay after midnight. Not the nicest area of Atlantic City, older, dingy rooms. If I wasnt tired, and was able to think clearly, I could have stayed in one of the casino hotels for about $20 more. Nex time I will.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewcary11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claridge Hotel
The Claridge Hotel
#5 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Chelsea
The Chelsea
#18 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#6 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 11,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Envoy Inn
BEST WESTERN Envoy Inn
#12 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Atlantic City
Courtyard Atlantic City
#9 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City
Address: 1339 Pacific Ave, Tennessee and Pacific Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing