We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caesars is actually several properties in one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caesars Atlantic City
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Caesars is actually several properties in one”
Reviewed November 3, 2005

When Caesars opened its Atlantic City casino in 1979, it took over the old Howard Johnson's Boardwalk Regency Motor Inn as its hotel , and bulit a new casino adjacent to the inn.

Unfortunately, that Howard Johnson portion of the hotel still exists, and over the years, other Caesars hotel towers have risen around it.

The reason for such a disparity of opinions on Casars is that your personal experience varies wildly depending on which hotel tower you are in.

The original Howard Johnson's motor inn isn't even visible from the street because the rest of the Caesars facility has grown around it.

Thus, you will read complaints of hotel rooms with no windows or natural light. It's a rather strange thing, for sure, but theold motor inn has been completely swallowed by the rest of Caesars, and yet they still rent out its rooms.

On the other hand, the newer "Centurion Tower" at Caesars is a modern 4-star hotel with fine rooms and amenities.

Harrah's recently purchased Caesars and is promising vast (and much-needed) upgrades. The old motel portion has been rumored to be slated for demolition.

In the meantime, it truly is a gamble as to what kind of room you will get. Rest assured, the bizarre former Howard Johnson's rooms are not shown on the website, but you could unwittingly end up in one.

Until upgrades are made, it might be a better bet to stay in a more modern facility.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
35 Thank Ted_in_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,533
    2,987
    1,287
    507
    402
See reviews for
2,082
4,123
790
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,570)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brandywine Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2005

We paid $200 for a room at Caesars one Friday in June, our first visit to Atlantic City in 10 years, because we wanted to attend a concert held there. It was a GREAT experience! ** And thank you to the TripAdvisor reviewers who recommended we ask for the Centurion Tower -- lovely room & the view is spectacular from the 26th floor. **

Because I'm also a slots player (penny & nickel machines mostly -- certainly not a high roller), all summer we got enticements by mail to return . . . cheap meals, small amounts of "free" cash to gamble, free parking. But we live 2 hrs. from AC, and didn't want to deal with summer traffic & crowds. So I had just chalked it up as a wonderful one-time experience.

Comes the fall (as in autumn). Suddenly Caesars was offering us a free room! We went back in September -- free room, free parking, a meal discount. Had a WONderful time -- room on the 32nd floor.

Then October's "deals" arrived -- better meal deal, free room. We just got back from the October trip, and could NOT be more pleased. We always ask for Centurion Tower, they always accede, and we keep moving up. This time we were on the 34th floor. Gorgeous view. Very nice room with two double beds, small table & two chairs, nice armoire for TV, and plenty of floor space for luggage and just walking around. Very large luxurious bathroom (marble & granite) with separate adjoining toilet area. Although we were next to the elevator, I can assure you noise was NOT a problem.

As nice as the room is, the very best part of staying at Caesars is the genuine friendliness and warmth of the staff. Over and over, everybody we have come in contact with goes out of their way to be helpful.

If there's a downside, it's that the less-expensive restaurants are just OK. Breakfast & lunch buffet -- OK. Cafe Roma, the "coffee shop" type restaurant (though they serve liquor) -- depends on what you order. I had a GREAT Ruben sandwich last night, but have had mediocre entrees in past visits. And for some reason, everytime we've been there the Gladiator Grille, another option, has been closed.

The first time we went, we tried to make a reservation at Caesars' high-end restaurant but none were available. As a great alternative, try Dock's Oyster Bar restaurant, a cheap cab ride away. A blast from the past in terms of decor, but wow! great seafood and outstanding service.

Next morning, back at Caesars, rather than get the breakfast buffet, especially if you're not a big eater in the morning, go through the inside passage from Caesars to Wild Wild West's casino-level coffee and pastry/bagel cafe. Lots cheaper and really delicious. (And Caesars comp points work there, too!)

If you're about to go to Atlantic City for the first time, and Caesars is one of the hotels/casinos you're considering, we certainly recommend it! They treat you very well, and the facility overall is beautitifully designed and well-maintained. But service is THE distinguishing characteristic.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
14 Thank wythany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Martinville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2005

Stayed at Caesars Sept. 18-20. At check-in I asked for an ocean-view room in the Centurion tower and got it. Big room and bathroom, nice side view of ocean. Elevators are so fast! Located center of boardwalk. Beautiful hotel. Cons of this hotel: Not lively enough, pool is nothing special. I would stay at Tropicana next time. Live bands later at night, more restaurants, bars, clubs...entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank redrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 14, 2005

This place is absolutely horrible. The rooms are old, the hallways smell and are dirty and the staff could not be any more rude or unhelpful. They are currently undergoing some sort of a construction, which starts around 6am, right outside your window! Avoid, avoid, avoid...

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Beach, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2005

Well I have to say that I stay at Caesars in Atlantic City once a week on average. I have never had a bad experience, the rooms are spotless and clean all of them. The Centurion tower is so clean you can eat off the floor. The Ocean tower is elegant and spotless, the North and South tower are also very clean but it is the original hotel and I have to say that some of the rooms in the North tower smell like smoke when entering, but they also are spotless and very nice. The check in is always smooth whether I use the VIP or regular I never have problems and the girls at the desk are most helpful. One other thing which is most important the slots are great I have never won so much money in any casino as I do in Caesars if you work a slot chances are it will pay off. I have been there six weeks in a row and I have hit for over $20,000 on the 10x machines and the 12x machines quarter value. So I would highly recommend this place to anyone. I hope that harrahs taking over does not ruin it because if it aint broke then don't fix it. My accountant is gonna love me....

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 9, 2005

After reading a lot of positive reviews on this useful website, I was looking forward to my 2 nights in Caesars. However upon arrival was courteously checked into what I would describe as poor for the $200+ I had paid per night. Cracked mirror in bathroom & general shabby appearance. The only window in the room didnt even face outside instead had an aspect overlooking the lobby indoors - rather bizarre not seeing any natural daylight!! Swimming poor & other recreation facilities were poor! All in all a disappointing stay for the price - wish I had stayed in the Borgata or Trump!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 5, 2005

I reserved two rooms with two double beds from internet. When checking in, the front desk would only give two room with one king bed. This is again the bait and switch trick in hotel business (as in car dealership).

The front desk told me to refer to my confirmation mail. The confirmation is just a "REQUEST" not a "CONFIRMATION". Therefore what listed in the confirmation mail could be changed by the hotel if it is necessary. This is the first time I heard of that a confirmation is not a confirmation.

BE ALERT! if you think you get a good deal on the hotel room reservation from this hotel, you may get switched to another room as the hotel will sell your room to whoever offer a higher price.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
2.0 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
16,751 reviews
1.5 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
8,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
1.7 mi away
Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget
#10 of 49 in Atlantic City
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caesars Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caesars Atlantic City

Property: Caesars Atlantic City
Address: 2100 Pacific Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401-6612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Family Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caesars Atlantic City 4*
Number of rooms: 1148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Caesars Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caesars Atlantic City Hotel Atlantic City
Caesars Hotel Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing