We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Descent in Atlantic City” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bally's Atlantic City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bally's Atlantic City
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Atlantic City
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Descent in Atlantic City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

There are many different areas of this hotel. The Ridge (old Claridge) is redone but a little walk from all the action. The Dennis Towers are directly in the middle. Rooms need some updating but we were in room 355, after having an issue with a noisy neighbor in the Ridge room we asked for another room. It was very large and clean. As with many AC hotels it needs some "2013" design.

Room Tip: Ask for Dennis Tower and for a larger room. Some rooms are smaller than others in the same area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linjmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,602
    1,709
    1,254
    626
    777
See reviews for
1,205
2,356
452
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
359 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The Bally's in Atlantic City has definitely seen better days. We stayed there recently for a conference being held in town and got good rooms rates. However on arrival we were shocked at the low quality of the hotel. The elevator area had walls that were scraped, marked and just looked in need of a serious repair. Our room was done in a modern decor but had very little lighting and only one plug outlet that was accessible without moving pieces of large furniture. The bathroom was tiny and the water did not drain quickly leaving a backup in tub and sink. My colleagues in another part of the hotel had the same problem, so it wasn't just our room. The location is right on the 'strip' and on the beach, but if you have the money, even the Tropicana down the street is worth the bit extra.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bucks17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Although this was a comp stay I was still very disapointed. We arrived later in the day about 7:15pm. Check in took until 8pm with only 1 window open for regular guests. While the beds were comfortable, the carpet is disgusting. The bathroom has odd lighting, one of two lamps in the room didn't work. The ice machine was broken as well. The room was to be non smoking which it was but the walls were yellowed and gross. We were on the 17th floor; the elevators sound like they need major work. We also found random rolls of toilet paper in the hallway. Because it was a week night most restraunts closed at 9. We ended up eating pizza and subs from Taste of the Shore which was very good. Maybe I've become too picky as I get older but I will not be staying here again, comp or not.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Avoid this hotel at all costs......even if they offer a free room!!! It is not worth the frustration. The check in line was 1 1/2 hours, almost causing a riot, the elevators didn't work, and the rooms were worse than a youth hostel. And you wonder why AC is losing money every month? If you want a hotel close to Boardwalk Hall spend the extra money and stay at Caesars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlantic City hotels

Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A week ago my wife and elderly mother-in-law reserved two "comp" rooms at Bally's in Atlantic City. I asked to have the rooms close to the elevators since my mother-in-law is 92 years old and uses a walker. They said no problem. However when we arrived we we told we were bumped into the old Claridge hotel tower which is a considerable walk from the Bally's lobby. When I explained about my mother-in-law's handicap they said they have the right because it is printed on our reservation. This was said very coldly and without concern about a senior's health.

Not know to us was the fact the hotel had booked a NJ PBA convention and they got first choice for the closer rooms. They knew of this convention for a while and should have explained the possibility of our rooms being moved. If we would have known we may have reserved rooms at another hotel.

My mother-in-law labored moving back and forth and a few times decided to stay in her room where we brought her food and drink.

The moral of the story is check to see if your rooms may be bumped and if so have a back- up plan. And don't think that the big ol' Hotels will have any concerns about the safety and health of you or your party.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nafus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netcong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed in Bally's AC in late January for a training seminar. As a frequent visitor of Atlantic City, I must admit that I usually do not patronize Bally's as the last time I was there it seemed pretty shady. This time, everything seemed "different". Check in was easy and the staff were friendly. Lots of security everywhere. I requested a high level room and was accommodated with no problem. My room was very comfortable, updated and very clean although there was some mildew around the tub caulking that could have been easily cleaned by housekeeping, if they wanted to. The only restaurant I ate at in Bally's was the 6IX Bistro. The food was good but the prices were a bit high for just standard diner quality eats. The Casino seemed a bit small for the overall size of the resort but I didn't play here so I can't make an accurate comment about it. I would stay at Bally's again if the price is right due to it being pretty much smack in the middle of the boardwalk and the city. Everything you pretty much need to do in Atlantic City is within walking distance. Good Job Bally's! Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Higher floor in the main tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleItalyNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavallette, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I also stayed at Bally's from March 8th to March 10th for the NJSIAA wrestling tournament. I usually stay at the Chelsea, but decided to try Bally's because of its close proximity to Boardwalk Hall. The line to check in at 4:30 pm was ridiculous. It looped around the bar area. I left my bags with the bell captain and attended the tournament until approximately 9:45 pm. I came back to Bally's to attempt to check in again. The line was still long. I didn't check in until approximately 11:15. This is utterly inexcusable when the hotel knows that it is solidly booked. They must have overbooked as a friend of mine complained that they had given her room away. I wound up eating dinner at 11:30 in Nanking where the food was good. Luckily, I wound up in a room that had been done over. It was very modern and spacious.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly redecorated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momcap118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.2 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#3 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,657 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 12,129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Claridge Hotel
The Claridge Hotel
#9 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,571 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chelsea
The Chelsea
#18 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bally's Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bally's Atlantic City

Property: Bally's Atlantic City
Address: 1900 Pacific Ave., Park Place and Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-6714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bally's Atlantic City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Bally's Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bally`s Atlantic City And Claridge Tower Hotel Atlantic City
Bally Atlantic City
Ballys Atlantic City
Ballys Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Ballys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing