We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last resort” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bally's Atlantic City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bally's Atlantic City
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Atlantic City
Norwood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Last resort”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Check in line was an hour long. Then they did not have our reserved room, they said we had only "requested" one which was not guaranteed, yet our credit card was charged. Originally booked a king size bed/room ended up with a double bed which my girlfriend and I had to squeeze in. Room was not horrible but an inconvenience because it was not what we had booked. we were willing to spend more money to upgrade but nothing was available. You can hear everything in the nearby rooms and our floor smelled like pot. Only stay In this hotel as a last resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Morenadime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,130
    2,129
    1,497
    735
    866
See reviews for
1,472
2,927
618
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,027)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Where to start this place is by far the worst hotel ever. The staff was rude as can be called the front they hung up on me called back got put on hold for 45mins with no answer. Room was dirty looked like no cleaned it when the maid do in she didn't clean anything and a few our stuff went missing and the front desk wouldn't do anything when we told them. I would advise everyone don't not stay at this hotel ever

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tdelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlantic City hotels

Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed over on a Saturday night to celebrate a birthday. Was able to get a very reasonable on line rate of $99. We had two rooms on the eighth floor in the Dennis tower. The rooms were adjoining with two double beds each. A window with a window seat looked right out to the boardwalk and ocean. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated with a refrigerator and flat screen TV. We were in a great location to access the Ocean Mall, Caesar's, Trump Plaza and a short walk to the Rainforest Cafe where we had a birthday dinner. Usually we stay in Atlantic City on a week night so I couldn't help but notice how busy the hotel was. We had a bit of a wait to check in at 2 pm. Note that they also charge an extra $10 for early check in. We did valet parking and had the bellhop take our luggage up to our rooms. Definitely worth the tips to the bellhops. I was pleasantly surprised with our stay since I have read mixed reviews. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dogsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenolden, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Normally a really nice place, with a friendly staff, but this trip, was a bit different. Waking up to the tap water running brown isn't a good way to start the day. Apparently, some kind of pipe had broken, and the water was brown. A call to the front desk went unanswered, And every staffer had a different story on what to do. Leave the water run for a while, run the sink and tub, pray for rain, who knows. I went to the front desk, and the rather rude girl offered me a small bottle of water, when I asked for another, although she gave it to me, the look on her face was like I was trying to scam something. I can understand if they had some kind of problem, but a call to each room to inform the guests would have been nice, and maybe a few bottles of water outside the door would have been nicer. I could forgo the shower for few hours, but gotta have the coffee in the AM.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justaguy061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Was there in the middle of the week during the slow season. It is a bit of a hike from the self park garage to the check in counter. It was right at 4pm when I checked in. However not many people in line. I was less than impressed with the person that checked me in. Even though I was a Diamond member of Total Rewards the person made no attempt to accommodate any of my requests for a room on an upper floor. I did have one of the premium rooms in the tower. The room was nothing fancy. However it was very clean. The bathroom was above average. The room was larger than average. Heard zero noise from the rooms next to me. Hallway noise was a different story. There was a small fridge in the room. Given the location in Atlantic City and the overall experience I will most likely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, NJ
Level Contributor
192 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We drove from Wildwood to take advantage of 2 free nights. Upon check-in (Sept 4-6) and an upgrade, we were on the 44th floor. Totally awesome views! The sitting room, which did have a smoke odor, was well furinshed, and the bedroom was newly appointed with a fresh scent.

Spent several hours at the pool. You have to pay for admission, but the weather was great, allowing sun time on the roof. Several hot tubs were closed for repair. It was a shame, as lots of people were inside the pool area. You also have to ask for your free bottle of water upon admission.

Had 2 meals at 6ix Bistro. God, I miss Animations. We went for breakfast and was sat at 11:20. Breakfast was done at 11:30, and the server not only stopped to BS with everyone about everything non-Atlantic City related, and then stopping at a table seated after us, we were greeted finally at 11:35. Therefore we missed breakfast. Had a less than stellar rueben sandwich. Sort of the victim of Harrah's budget cuts.

Overall, the floor in the tower was quiet, but the hallways need replaced light fixtures, and new carpet. The elevators smell or mold and must. The casino staff was friendly. A late night visit to Johnny Rockets using the outdoor window was a plus vs. eating at 6ix again.

Overall, not too crowded at the property, and the weather was great! This is a nice time to go. Just dine somewhere else for your 'casual meals'.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sam280_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Four friends and I spent a weekend in Bally's earlier this month. Our room was updated and newly refurbished. the beds were extremely comfortable. Checking in and out was a breeze. The hotel itself was very clean. There was limited amount of entertainment that appealed to us at the hotel but we made the best of it. Beware of the little cafes in the hotel...1 cup of coffee and 1 cup of tea (non-name brand) was $8...a little too pricey.

Otherwise, it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tumbelyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
1.9 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#3 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,622 reviews
1.5 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
0.6 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Atlantic City
Courtyard Atlantic City
#6 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bally's Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bally's Atlantic City

Property: Bally's Atlantic City
Address: 1900 Pacific Ave., Park Place and Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-6714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bally's Atlantic City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Bally's Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bally`s Atlantic City And Claridge Tower Hotel Atlantic City
Bally Atlantic City
Ballys Atlantic City
Ballys Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Ballys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing