We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad tryp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

The owner was rude and refused to honor our reservations that had already been purchased through hotels.com. Extremely poor business man, many displaced guests with an empty hotel, would not even give us a discounted room. Stay in a casino when in AC.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Tyjamsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apurv V, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry for your inconvenience due to booking situation. The situation of bookings on Third party relates to Third party website and not the hotel. We have addressed the issue with them and everything is rectify to show new management instead of old system. There should not be any problem in future and we greatly appreciate if you will give us one more chance to meet you expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 254 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

I booked my room at the Tryp Hotel for a saturday night to celebrate my 30th birthday. I went through the booking site hotels.com to get the room. Upon arrival at the front desk I was told that my reservation wouldn't be honored and that I didn't have a room. There were 20+ people outside that also were told they would have no room. The police were called and tried to rectify the situation of all the angry guests. The hotel staff made no effort to accomidate anyone and were extremely rude. They simply said to contact hotels.com and have them refund the money. I didn't want my money back! I wanted a room to enjoy my birthday! They never made any effort to apologize or give reason why they wouldn't give us a room. They said I would have to pay an additional $250 to stay there. What a rip off! I ended up stuck in atlantic city with no room on this important day. Dont go here. Looks like a great deal on the computer but its not. What a waste of time.

Room Tip: Worst customer service I have ever experienced!!!!!!!!! I would give 0 stars if that was an option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank misslexie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apurv V, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry for your inconvenience due to booking situation. The situation of bookings on Third party relates to Third party website and not the hotel. We have addressed the issue with them and everything is rectify to show new management instead of old system. There should not be any problem in future and we greatly appreciate if you will give us one more chance to meet you expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Disregard any review before June 2014 - those reviews are about the Ascot. The new hotel Tryp by Wyndham has only been open a few weeks. We have been warching the complete gut and remodel of the hotel and knew we would try it once it opened. So glad we did. We have stayed twice and were very pleased with the room. We had two double beds - fantastc mattress, one of the best sleeps I've had in a hotel. The room has a nice size fridge, coffee maker, a desk and chair. The bathroom has a shower and the sink is on the outside which we like. The management seems to take great care of the property and we were told that by the last week in June they would be offering free breakfast. The hotel has a pool and offers free wifi. Have a couple more reservations for later in the summer - pricing is good especially Sunday through Thursday. Great location right next door to Tropicana.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor or above - not as many people walking by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chele1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apurv V, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hello Chele,

Thank you for a wonderful review! We are glad you had an enjoyable stay. The TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City has one of the best team built around a great service culture. Have you made your next reservation yet? If not, please give us a call at 609-449-8819 and we will be happy to take care of that for you. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Peanut1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank Geneviève S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T M, Guest Relations Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank RidB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T M, Guest Relations Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mili1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T M, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
1.5 mi away
Showboat Hotel
Showboat Hotel
#14 of 49 in Atlantic City
311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City
#16 of 49 in Atlantic City
491 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Atlantic City
Courtyard Atlantic City
#9 of 49 in Atlantic City
790 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Envoy Inn
Best Western Envoy Inn
#12 of 49 in Atlantic City
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City

Address: 101 S Iowa Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-6403 (Formerly Ascot Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Price Range: $47 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Motel Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing