We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Atlantic City
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed at the Marriott Courtyard on August 22, 2008 and he had a decent stay there. The positives was the price under $200.00 for a Friday summer night. The hotel is brand new with flat screen televisions in every room. The location is one long block from the boardwalk next to Resorts. During the daylight the walk is fine, we felt uncomfortable walking that block at night and instead walked through Resorts as far as we could and then crossed the street and walked past the Wyndham and the Courtyard was right there. The negatives besides walking on a lousy street at night was that it took us 3 shots to get a room that we wanted. The first room we were in had a loud noise from the air conditioner and the second room was handicapped. The 3rd room was fine.
The breakfast buffet was very good and reasonably priced @ 10.95 per person. We originally went to the Resorts buffet and it was terrible, no omelet station, and asked for our money back because it was so bad. They did give us back our money with no argument.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Arubalover60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 785 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2008

This hotel is great cozy and clean...A real gem...we went to a last minute trip to Atlantic city and had no reservations coz we wanted planned to stay in one of the big hotels like the trump or ceasar but obviously there were no vacancy...But we were veryyyyy veryy happy with the marriott...friendly staff...the only thing its about 5-10 minutes walk on boardwalk depending on how fast you walk...its kind of scary at night specially for us we were 7 girls but everything else was perfect...

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank BellaMami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

My husband and I are Marriott Rewards Members and try to stay at a Marriott everytime we travel. We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in Atlantic City on August 18th and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very new and the rooms were clean, updated and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable and the staff was friendly. We've stayed at Courtyards before in other cities and this one was by far the best.. The Boardwalk, Trump Taj Mahal and the Resorts Casinos were within walking distance. Walking to these places at night felt somewhat shady, however doable. The area could use a lot more street lighting. The Atlantic City Bar & Grill across the street from the hotel is a great place to eat for good food at good prices. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadDogAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Family travelling with 3 kids. Lovely new hotel, one block from the beach. Large rooms, plenty of space, mini fridge, coffee maker, large bathroom, comfy beds and pillows. The only thing missing is a pool, but hot tub and gym are really nice. Staff friendly and helpfull, valet parking in and out as you please for 12 $ a day. We really felt our car was in good hands. Losts of restaurants close by. We travel to Atlantic City every summer and this Marriott was by far our best room so far.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tristantarzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

I went to the Courtyard Friday, Aug 1st for one night with my fiance. Chose it because 229 was a great rate for AC on a Friday night and I'd rather stay at a non-smoking hotel than a smoky casino.

The valet was quick and almost overbearing but nice and not too expensive ($12). The check in was a bit slow but the people were nice. Its a new place so I'm assuming they need to get some kinks out.

Room was really nice. I've stayed in a lot of great hotels and this room was top notch. All the amenities you would need. Nice bathroom. There is a decent size gym (for a hotel) with a hot tub. Halls smelled fresh and clean. Lobby is nice. Bed super comfy. It all felt totally new. Much fresher than the Sheridan or Trump Marina where I've stayed before.

The area is not the best though. Its a little desolate at night. We're in our 30's with no kids so we hopped on the jitney and went down the street to the Knife and Fork, where we had a fantastic dinner (go there if you want great food without the cheeseyness AC can bring). Then we walked back on the boardwalk and to the hotel. The walk from the Boardwalk felt a bit quiet but there were some people around. The strange part was that we walked to the outlets Saturday afternoon and between the hotel and the outlets there were a lot of people looking very strung out and we even passed a two men doing a pretty obvious drug deal. This was not in front of the Marriott but not far. I'm from NYC so this stuff doesn't really phase me but I"m sure it would bother some people.

This wouldn't stop me from going to the Courtyard or recommending it but maybe take a cab to get around from there.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank perrystreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

Wife and I did an overnite junkit with Saturday nite stay here in mid-June. Property was newly open and still feeling its way through a ying-yang identity crisis. On one hand, the hotel's room rate was astonishingly low, especially for a summer weekend nite, suggesting best of the bargain basics and budget conscious are the marketing drivers. On the other hand, the lobby and bar area are very upscale and scream the resort theme, perhaps teasing younger clentele who want proximity to Showboat, Taj, and Borgata at hundreds less. Nonetheless, with the spartan amenities on-site and the so-so location of the property-- this is not the best boardwalk area or beach zone in town-- we found ourselves concluding this was just an average stay, but still a good value.
That ying-yang theme continued throughout: marble tile lobby and reception, but lackluster hallways and cheap doors, where you can hear folks at all hours....rooms are good size, but have zero decorative accoutrements.....bedding is upgraded and super comfortable, but furnishings and fixtures were below average and looked like they'd never last the looming waves of future guests.....adequate and clean bath room with good water pressure (a personal peeve), but low quality towels. Even the clientele exuded the extremes-- from the couplers like ourselves, to married with children, as well as lots of the rougher tatts and piecing crowd all confluencing trying to get their fix on the hotel beat. Ying-yang....ying-yang....ying-yang....
And yes, it's probably best to use a car to get about from here, at least until the new Revel Mega Casino Resort opens and brings back some momentum to this side of town. The AC Bar & Grille is a great, long-time spot right across the street, however, if you do want to grab a drink and meal safely....otherwise, we spent most of our time at Borgata and on the boards near Caesars anyway.
We didn't eat at the hotel breakfast although charging for that separately was suprising, especially for a Courtyard.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

My husband and I are elite Marriott rewards members. We ALWAYS try to stay with them if one is available because we find their chain reasonably priced and reliable. We elected to stay at this new hotel for our one year wedding anniversary for a single evening. We will not be returning, which is a shame because the hotel had potential.

POSITIVES: The valet was fantastic. Very courteous, helped with luggage. We never waited more than two minutes for them to retrieve our car. Outstanding service.

The hotel is new, and thus very nice. The common areas are well decorated. Our room was spacious with nice furniture. The bathroom was beautiful, large glass shower for two and a nice marble sink. The room had a small bar in the hallway with a mini-fridge in a cabinet underneath.

NEGATIVES: The hotel is in need of major staff retraining. The woman checking us in was slow and not able to make any decisions for herself. I told her it was my anniversary and asked what the price would be to upgrade. The woman told us she would have to ask the manager if there were any suites we could have. She returned from the back room and advised us that there were no rooms available. She then rudely told us our room was a king and would be just fine. The manager never showed in the front for a follow up. A second woman stood behind the counter doing absolutely nothing, while there was a line of 3 people behind us waiting to check in. Upon checking out, I called the front desk from our room to advise them that we would be about 15 minutes late leaving our room. The woman said “uh…you know check out is at noon right?” I told her I did, but that we would be leaving a few minutes late. She retorted “Well, I guess that’s going to have to be okay, isn’t it.” I wanted to reach through the phone and strangle her.

Though the hotel is new, it is not clean. We left the hotel at 10pm for a casino and there was smears of what appeared to be red jelly on the hallway floor leading from the elevator to the front door. It was STILL THERE when we returned at 2am. Yuck!! There was also a french-fry covered in ketchup in the elevator. The floors of the elevators were discolored and had sticky spots, like left over gum residue.

The bed was majorly uncomfortable, and the wall between us and the next room seemed paper thin. We were subject to some very awkward noises of adult activity in the room next to us at 3:30am. We heard the toilets flush in the room next to us and the room above us. The hallway noise was very loud, even though the bed is towards the outside wall of the hotel. We were the last room at the end of the hallway away from the elevators, can’t imagine if we were in a heavier traffic area.

We will not be returning to this hotel. The Marriott needs to come in and do a major staff retrain. I was truly disappointed, I have never encountered such rude employees at a Marriott before. A bad taste of our anniversary will return us to the Borgata next time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank aemt006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
1.7 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
19,266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
0.6 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
11,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
0.2 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#3 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,872 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
9,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Atlantic City

Address: 1212 Pacific Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range: $66 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Atlantic City 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic City's exclusive Marriott experience, The Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City is conveniently located just one block from Resorts Casino, the beach and Boardwalk. The hotel's location is ideal for easy access to casinos, local conventions, restaurants, shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Atlantic City Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Marriott
Atlantic City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing