We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good Hotel Close to the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Atlantic City
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My wife and I traveled with another couple on the weekend of June 10th-12th. Check-in was very quick and our room was on the 17th floor. Our room looked directly at the Skyline hotel, so there wasn't any view of the beach. The area can seem a little "sketchy" at night, but if you are traveling with someone else, most people just leave you alone. There is a Chinese restaurant down one block that has excellent food if you are in the mood for late night Chinese. The breakfast in the cafe is excellent and worth the price they charge around $15 per person. The beds are super comfortable, and my wife ended up sleeping one day for 13 hours!!! The walk to the beach from the hotel takes about 6 minutes depending on your pace and centrally located on the boardwalk, so walking either way (left or right) would be fine. Bathrooms and room was clean and we had no problems from noises in the halls,although on Saturday nights the lobby and elevator can get a little loud with some people coming in to party on the weekend. Here is my biggest gripe about the place- The fitness center they have is more than adequate for a nice workout, however, the hot tub/spa they show you in the picture, is NOT HOT! Lukewarm at best, but you would be better off just taking a long hot shower in your room, then being disappointed in the lukewarm / chlorine water in the hot tub. I would recommend anyone wanting a nice stay in Atlantic city to choose the Courtyard for a good nights rest. *note* Valet parking is a tad pricey, but its nice not having to worry about your car because the neighborhood is kinda of sketchy, plus you can pull in/out as many times as you want.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rgarner526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 788 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

We are Marriott Reward customers and stayed at the Courtyard Atlantic City since it was rated Number 1 on Tripadvisor. It is a terrible hotel and is not up to Marriott standards at all. We asked for a room on a higher floor and they refused to put us on a high floor and put us on the 10th floor when they had plenty of rooms on higher floors since the hotel was not full. Also the room was so dusty that I had a bad asthmatic attack shortly after we checked into the room. Also the internet in the room is wired, no wireless internet in rooms.

The front desk clerk Nishi also sent us to a recommended restaurant that was closed so we spent 20 minutes walking to a closed restaurant. The Marriott buffet breakfast was okay but cost $11. A warning about the shower: The temperature suddenly gets boiling hot in the shower several times so be very careful not to burn yourself as we did. The hotel is in a very bad neighboorhood and I would not walk alone at night here. Also the hotel is far from boardwalk activities and is not in a central location. Bad Hotel. Our last night in the hotel was so noisy at 1 am that we had to call the front desk to complain about loud partying neighbors. Last time we stayed at the Wyndham and we were very happy at the Wyndham nearby.

Room Tip: Get a room above 14th floor oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JasStorrs_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My friend and I were staying at this hotel Fri June 3 and Sat June 4. We didn't need our room to be cleaner except when we left in the afternoon we asked for clean towels. We came back late afternoon and they weren't there. We called and the hotel staff member said we have to call after 5:30 since there is no once that can give us towels. We stopped by lobby again on our way to dinner asking for towels. When we came back we mentioned it AGAIN! We had no choice to re-use our old towels that were on the floor Sun morning. When we checked out we explained the situation and the hotel staff member said we have towels back here not sure why they didn't give you any when you were at the lobby. I asked to speak to a manager, which took about 5-10 minutes. All the manager, Isabella Herold, said was I am sorry. She was not sympathetic and did nothing when we explained the situation. She acted like she could care less. I paid a lot of money for this hotel, which doesn't treat their guests with respect. I still can't believe we were ignored 5 times and blown off by the manager. Don't stay here you can get better quality service elsewhere and this place was far from the boardwalk!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LibLib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Its pretty bad when a travelor gets excited about a hotel because there are no bed bugs! He's right there were no bed bugs but this hotel falls well below Mariott brand expectation.

The location was blocks from the main strip and blocks from the beach. I am not lazy and enjoy walking but all around this hotel were vacant/parking lots, run down buildings, fast cash stores and homeless people. Even though the hotel manager tried to tell us it was safe, there was a warning in the key envelope about breakins in the cars.

The hotel did not have a pool only a jacuzzi with jets that were spraying at full force all over the place. The room did not have a bathtub or proper closet (the cabinet provided instead was not big enough). They provided foam cups - not glass - very bad for the environment and not what you expect for a Mariott.

The porter staff were excellent and very helpful but apart from that, The hotel amenities location and room failed to meet the expectation of the Mariott brand.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
9  Thank igottasay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I recently had the pleasure to stay at this gem of a hotel near the boardwalk, casinos, excellent restaurants and shopping. Recently renovated, the hotel had all the markings of a great Marriott, including the comfy bedding. The staff were personable and always helpful. The breakfast buffet was superior with warm and congenial waitstaff. The rooms offer great city and waterviews. If you plan on going to Atlantic City - this is your place!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank malonjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Hey, just wanted to say thank you to Courtyard Marriott for a wonderful stay in Atlantic City last Saturday night. I was deathly afraid of the bedbug issue but, I'm glad to say that at least my room, room 508, had none. Room was of good size with two queen beds, bathroom nice and clean, wireless internet was not available on my floor necessarily but, was available and free in the lobby. Location is very good, only about a block off the boardwalk. Couldn't sleep so I went downstairs in the middle of the night to grab some nuts and a soda from their lobby minimart or whatever they call it. Do not hesitate to book, rates for Saturday nights may be inflated ahead of time though, got it for $275 from hotels.com when I checked the day of my arrival.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank boulouki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We could see the ocean from our room. Was a nice view.
The room itself is a bit small for what I am used to with a Courtyard. The furniture (desk) and tv furniture is not what I am used to. Was a bit small and old. It needs to get renewed or painted. The bathroom on the other hand was spacious.

Room was clean and I think much cleaner the boardwalk hotels. But don't know that for sure. Just my guess.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterWNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
1.7 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
19,584 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
11,478 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
0.5 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
9,654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#3 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Atlantic City

Address: 1212 Pacific Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range: $73 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Atlantic City 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic City's exclusive Marriott experience, The Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City is conveniently located just one block from Resorts Casino, the beach and Boardwalk. The hotel's location is ideal for easy access to casinos, local conventions, restaurants, shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Atlantic City Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Marriott
Atlantic City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing