We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A "just okay restaurant"”
Review of Rainforest Cafe

Rainforest Cafe
Ranked #34 of 396 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A "just okay restaurant"”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were down the shore this past July 4th weekend and the weather was not cooperating so we all decided to take a ride into Atlantic City to pass the day. Since we had my two young nieces with us, we decided to take them to the Rainforest. We had made reservations so there was no problem in getting seated. The appetizers were pretty good. However, I thought the "specialty" drinks were just okay. They weren't exactly cheap either, and they definitely had that taste that you find in pre-mixed package drink mixes. But the worst part for me about this restaurant was the dinner. I didn't realize how much of a Mexican theme menu it was. I ended up ordering chicken fajitas which were again, just okay. The side dish which had the trimmings for the fajitas had mostly sour cream and some chopped tomatoes on it. The onions and peppers were only half cooked and had absolutely no flavor to them. All in all, I find it very hard to recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Atlantic City. Also, I usually know when going to a themed restaurant to expect a ton of kids and not to worry or complain about the noise, but since the tables are so very close to one another, unless you have ear plugs you can stick in your ears, you are in for a VERY NOISY MEAL!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    246
    148
    48
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hull, ma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gimmicky”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

The food was so-so, my drink very expensive and poorly made, and the service was ok. I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank riski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“oasis from heat at lunch time”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

nice bar area, decent salads, and willing to customize salad for someone on a diet...loved the bar chairs with tails.. Service was good, and great locale for families with kids...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pard76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ariel PA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great time at the Rainforest”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Visited the Rainforest Cafe for my birthday. Was on the fence about it due to mixed reviews but we thought it was fantastic. The food was great, you got a lot of food for your money. The staff was excellent and the restaurant itself is just really cool. We went around 11:30 on a Saturday afternoon and there was no wait for a table at all. Everything about this place is awesome.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kidsensation23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Thorpe, Pa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and be entertained”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Decided to eat here even though it looked like kid city. Was totally surprised. They greet you at the door and give you a passport and escort you to your seat though a beautiful jungle like setting. Every 15 minutes all the animals on the walls come to life and the kids are amazed. Then every half hour a lightning storm goes though and it is fantastic. Keeps the place quiet with this may kids because they are so entertained, Now to the food. It was great. The portions where very large and very good. The service staff is very friendly and helpful and it was a joy to visit this place to have a meal. If you are in AC and have kids with you or if you just want a good meal do not miss going to this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bump1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Cafe also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Rainforest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing